We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renaissance Arts is a Great Choice in New Orleans”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Ranked #53 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley, CA
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Renaissance Arts is a Great Choice in New Orleans”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

OK, I've been meaning to write a review about our stay at the Renaissance Arts Hotel in New Orleans for some time now and even now I can still relish our stay at this splendid Warehouse District hotel which is a part of the Marriot family.

I had planned to go to New Orleans to take my 13 year old grandson who is fascinated with old school jazz and wanted to visit the real "birthplace of jazz" along with finding out how the people of New Orleans are faring after the horrors of Hurricane Katrina. I searched high and low to choose a place that would be best for traveling with a youngster and was thrilled to find that my research (along with reviews from the Trip Advisor members) landed us in just the right place.

Renaissance Arts Hotel is beautiful, and I'm not exaggerating. On arrival, you are greeted by the most friendly valet staff who open your car door and do a great job of really giving you that warm southern greeting without all the pretense. I love these guys! Now, getting real, the valet situation is very pricey ($30 day) and a little weird, the hotel does not have onsite parking, so they take you car down the street to a parking lot so when you need your car, best to call first as you can be waiting for 15 minutes or more to get it back. If your creative like me, you can find street parking all around the hotel, just need to either watch the meter or find non-metered spots and no worries, this is a very safe and nice area to walk around and park as it is in the restored warehouse arts district near many art galleries, restaurants, cafes and clubs so you could literally hang out in this neighborhood all day and night and have a great time away from The French Quarter and there is plenty of public transportation if you're not driving like we choose to do.
Now, back to the Renaissance Arts Hotel -- this restored warehouse space on Tchoupitoulas Street is big, spacious, modern and totally artsy. We loved the Chihuly glass pieces displayed in the lobby, quite unique and lends well to high ceilings and open space of the lobby area. Nice touch! They have a fabulous atrium, plenty of lounge spaces to sit and admire the lower level along with the seafood restaurant LaCôte Brasserie which features a transparent kitchen area where you can watch the chefs at work. Normally, I dislike hanging about the hotel but the Renaissance Arts is a definite exception to this rule.
The double room we booked was ready at our early arrival and was emasculate, spacious and nicely appointed with comfortable beds and a big bathroom too! Every amenity is offered at this 4 star property that nicely mimics a 5-star hotel. The front desk staff were a bit stuffy in comparison to the valets but overall, they do their jobs and are available when needed. For both my grandson and me, we loved the rooftop pool and whirlpool tub that overlooks the city and spent a lot of time basking in the sun on comfy lounge chairs and swimming before hitting the French Quarter for a day of fun.

Don't think twice if you're looking for a nice place to be during your trip to New Orleans and opt to stay at the Renaissance Arts Hotel in the warehouse arts district, especially if you don't relish staying in the noisy Quarter and prefer to find a respite from the havoc. This place is brilliant! We can't wait to plan another trip to stay here again, -- à bientôt!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Livonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    453
    112
    31
    13
See reviews for
208
314
46
322
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cut Off, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

This hotel is gorgeous! I would definately recommend to anyone traveling to the city. My husband and I spent a night here for his birthday and it was very romantic. It is in walking distance to many nice restaurants, the riverwalk, and harrah's.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ahickman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland USA
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel due to a conference at the Convention Center. It is just a short walk and found this rate to be notably better than the Conference Hotel (Hilton). This modern hotel is quite well decorated, open air lobby and the rooms are particularly large.
Very clean and well maintained (it looks to be only a few years old). The fitness center is fine and there is a pool and hot tub on the roof.
Overall a surprisingly nice experience at a good price.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdieringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We saw such a good rate online ($89), so we decided to make our way to New Orleans during our road trip. We did not look closely at all the details and were a little shocked with all the additional fees when we got there. I can't lower the rating for that because it was our own fault, but I would like to point it out so that others can be prepared.

You are not allowed to park your own car. They will take your vehicle when you arrive, for a $28 charge, and park it in a place that you are not allowed to access. We had been to a few other downtown Marriott hotels previous to New Orleans and never encountered not being able to have access to our car. They stated that they would drive the car around if we needed it for anything, but that didn't really pan out the way they said.

Another charge that we were not prepared for was the fee for having the Internet in your room. ($12.95 per night using the cable or more $$ using wireless) We opted not to pay for it.

Most of the staff was very friendly, the art was interesting to look at around the hotel, and the place was very quiet. I don't think there were very many people staying there when we were there, which may explain the emptiness and quietness.

The elevator had some kind of sticky goo on the rails and spilled liquid on the floor for hours which kinda grossed me out every time I used it.

Overall, I was not as impressed with this Marriott as I've been with all the others I've stayed at, but it wasn't terrible.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justrenren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Stayed for a business-related trip in July - just four blocks away from the New Orleans Convention Center, about a half-mile from Canal Street, and (most important!!!!) about a mile from Cafe DuMonde.

Strikingly decorated with two atria (either side of the elevators), clean and relaxing. Great free breakfast, included with a room rate of $135. Public areas are all amazingly clean and well-kept; beautiful music piped in.

My room on the 3rd floor overlooked Tchoupitoulas Street. Even with all the late-night activity on the street, my room was quiet. The bed and linens were top-shelf and I slept like a rock! The room itself was good-sized and well appointed. The bathroom was a bit on the small side, but still adequate.

A couple of minor things to point out: the water in the shower fluctuated from tepid to scalding; the shower curtain was almost too short to direct the water into the tub, and the carpet was fairly worn in the traffic areas. The closet door is on an auto-close hinge, making it difficult to choose an outfit! :)

However, the room was very clean and the furnishings were great.

Still - back to that old Marriott policy of charging for in-room Internet... Makes me crazy to have to pay for it! Free Wi-Fi in the comfortable lobby, where there is fresh citrus water for the taking.

Concierge & front desk staff were courteous and helpful. Bellhops remembered us from check-in, saying "welcome back" after we'd wandered down to the French Quarter.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stefmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

My husband and I thought it would be nice to go on a weekend vacation. Our world was turned upside down because of it. Due to the limited characters allowed on this review, I am unable to give all details however, I was drugged, raped and went missing for 4 hours. I was found in the fitness center restroom and received no assistance from security. Come to find out - it was an employee that performed the crime! That employee was friends with the NO Police Department and had the police department help cover up the crime. We are taking the necessary actions to ensure this doesnt happen again to anyone that makes the mistake of staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank RaiseAwareness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2011

The hotel is great and the people working there are very kind too. It is very clean and it looks quite new also. We stayed for four nights. I gave the hotel four stars as the location (although it is good) is not excellent as the walk to the french quarter is a bit long and at night its not so convenient to be so far away from the restaurants and bars.

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Traveler46756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#55 of 163 in New Orleans
2,260 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#39 of 163 in New Orleans
880 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 163 in New Orleans
2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#17 of 163 in New Orleans
1,389 reviews
Central Business District
Le Meridien New Orleans
Le Meridien New Orleans
#70 of 163 in New Orleans
773 reviews
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel

Property: Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Address: 700 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-3612
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#28 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#35 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic setting, contemporary style, and a unbeatable location near New Orleans' French Quarter and in the heart of the trendy food mecca of the Warehouse District: all of this and more elevates the Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel to an unforgettable New Orleans experience. Our building is a former warehouse, dating from the early 20th century; we've preserved a sense of old-world elegance in our surroundings, while simultaneously infusing a thoroughly contemporary sense of convenience and art. Please note that our restaurant is currently undergoing renovations and we look forward to unveiling a stunning new restaurant to our guests in early 2015. For now, we recommend that our guests enjoy the many amazing New Orleans dining experiences within a short walking distance of our front doors, such as Cochon, Emeril's, Root, Tommy's Bistro, and many more. Our Navigators will be delighted to help you discover the best possible cuisine during your stay in New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New Orleans
New Orleans Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing