We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely surprise hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Ranked #44 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Great Plains
Level Contributor
296 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We bid on priceline for a hotel in the warehouse district so had no input into which hotel other than price. We got the Renaissance and it was a wonderful surprise! Beautiful in a fresh, brightly colored decor - the artwork around the hotel is very interesting and atypcial for hotels. The lobby is scented with something that smelled fresh and inviting! The rooms were appointed nicely, and the bed was divine! We'd consider buying one of their beds for our home!! Location was good for us - near WW II Museum, and close enough to walk to restaurants in the French Quarter. And it was very, very quiet! We'd definitely recommend this hotel for the quality it has, the friendly service, and it's location.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dreamtraveler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    442
    106
    27
    12
See reviews for
199
306
43
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

This property is a 10 minute walk to the middle of the convention center & 15 min walk to bourbon street also the casino is about 6 mins by foot.

The rooms are nice and beds are comfy as well.

So here is my problem. I had an early morning flight and had to be at airport for 515am.

I went to the valet and asked how I can arrange for a cab that early. He took my name and room info and told mere would have a car waiting for me. Woke up in the morning,got dressed and walked to the entrance and could see it was pouring rain out. So walked out and waited for a good 15 mins and no car. The lobby was all dark so I called a cab on my own and made it to airport with no problem. So your asking yourself what's the problem?

Well I contacted hotel and spoke to manager and all he had to say it sounded like a scam! You should have come inside to the front desk and we would have made arrangements for you and that valet are outsourced.

My response to that is when you have someone out front with a name tag greeting guests then he is a extension of you and represents the property. You should of just said I'm sorry and I will take a look into it. Instead you didn't really care. Show some leadership because I will tell you now that it just shows how much Marriott cares about its clients .

If you want to be treated well take my word this place is comfy but your just a number like most otherMarriott properties where status is nothing.

If you can I recommend the W on Poydras much nicer stay and the staff cares!

And one last thing to the manager your in New Orleans give people a reason to comeback besides for mardi gras and jazz fest. Because your treatment sure won't .

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peteb201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Several years ago, I stayed at the Renaissance Arts and found it to be one of the best hotels in New Orleans. So I was anxious to stay there again when I went to New Orleans a couple weeks ago. Unfortunately it was not at all what I remembered.

I requested a platinum upgrade on check-in but was told no suites were available, only an executive king. I was told the executive king rooms had their own individual internet connections. When I got to my room, the internet service was not working. I contacted the number provided for support, and after sitting on hold for 20 minutes or so, was told they could not help me and to call the front desk. The front desk knew nothing and did not offer any real solution. I asked, then, to change rooms. It was funny to me that the agent didn't offer to send the bellman up with the keys - instead she told me to come downstairs.

In my new room, the toilet immediately stopped up and ran all night. This room also lacked an in-room safe, something I always utilize and something I never find absent from a hotel room. The room had so much empty space as well - it was as if it needed additional furniture or something.

I ordered dinner with room service - the NY Strip Steak. I ordered it rare; the steak arrived Medium to Medium-Well, and the potatoes were cold. Not good for a $50 meal.

Overall, this hotel was quite disappointing. At best, its a three-star.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexjrosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Great value at $97. Well appointed, spacious, and in a great location. Walking distance to the French Quarter but away from the noise and traffic. Expect to pay at least $28 to park overnight.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Great location! As soon as you walk in its just beautiful. We had access to the VIP room which served great food. There is a pool, hot tub, and gym. Next time I will pack my bathing suit. It was December and a bit too cold to swim. The room was a nice size, very clean, and nicely decorated. Walking distance to great restaurants including Emeril's. We will be staying here again when visiting New Orleans.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momocakes83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
164 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

This hotel proved a bit less expensive than comparable 4 stars. It is a nice size, in the warehouse district, but only 4 blocks from canal street. (On the same street as restaurant August!). I would stay here again. The rooms have refrigerators--some face out, some face the courtyard.

Room Tip: rooms vary in size--fourth floor rooms are on the club level
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abcpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Renaissance Arts Hotel. The room was modern, clean, and spacious. The hotel was within walking distance to the French Quater but far enough away to not be in all the craziness. I only had one issue with the toilet not working in my room when I first arrived at my room but the front desk quickly sent up a maintenance man to repair it within 20 mins of me calling. Overall a great stay and I will be back again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CocoJ28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#34 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#13 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,326 reviews
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#50 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Le Pavillon Hotel
Le Pavillon Hotel
#86 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,745 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#15 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Central Business District
Le Meridien New Orleans
Le Meridien New Orleans
#78 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel

Property: Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Address: 700 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-3612
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#28 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#35 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic setting, contemporary style, and a unbeatable location near New Orleans' French Quarter and in the heart of the trendy food mecca of the Warehouse District: all of this and more elevates the Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel to an unforgettable New Orleans experience. Our building is a former warehouse, dating from the early 20th century; we've preserved a sense of old-world elegance in our surroundings, while simultaneously infusing a thoroughly contemporary sense of convenience and art. Please note that our restaurant is currently undergoing renovations and we look forward to unveiling a stunning new restaurant to our guests in early 2015. For now, we recommend that our guests enjoy the many amazing New Orleans dining experiences within a short walking distance of our front doors, such as Cochon, Emeril's, Root, Tommy's Bistro, and many more. Our Navigators will be delighted to help you discover the best possible cuisine during your stay in New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New Orleans
New Orleans Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing