We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and Attractive Hotel, but..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Ranked #53 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed at the Renaissance Arts Hotel during Spring Break this year. The hotel is very attractive and interesting with all the artwork. It is in a great location in the Warehouse district and within easy walking distance to many attractions. We did not realize that the room would be an interior room and consequently it was somewhat dark. Our window looked out on an art display. I didn't realize before this how much I rely on looking out the window to check on the weather and what to wear! Our biggest concern was with the housekeeping staff. First, the day we got there, there was a broken glass by the wall in the hallway near our room. It was still there 2 days later so we told the front desk and it was cleaned up right away. Our room seemed clean enough, but it was a constant battle to get what we needed! There were 3 of us registered in the room but sometimes we'd get just 2 towels, or one washcloth, or no hand towels. They brought the linens up when we called, but not always what we'd asked for. One time they brought us a big pile of towels when we needed one. Another time when we asked for some hand towels they brought us 5 washcloths. We also didn't get shampoo or conditioner about half the time. The night before we left I called again. They brought a bag with 9 little bottles in it, not one of them shampoo!! The other concern for us was that their website said they had an on property laundry. When we asked where it was they looked at us as though we were crazy. There was no laundry. The only thing was the service you pay for. Since we'd packed thinking we'd do a few loads of wash, we ended up washing clothes in the bathtub! It would have cost about $100 to have the service do the laundry we had! Another point to pay attention to is that if you want internet it's about $12 a day. Hard to believe in this day and age when you can get internet in fast food restaurants and much less expensive hotels. The staff was very friendly and helpful with advice and how to find local attractions. However, with all the choices in New Orleans, I don't think I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colohightravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

717 - 723 of 1,150 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2013

My husband and I were in Nola for a conference which was held in this hotel. This was our second experience here and was very ambivalent about our stay. Upon check in, the front desk was friendly enough and we upgraded to a suite. It was lovely, however, our bed backed up to the elevator which was loud. The tub stopper didn't work as well as the tv. Valet parking was expensive and took a while to retrieve our car. I guess it was the little thing that made it not rate a four star and definitely not a five. We will stay there again, but only if conference is there!

Room Tip: Don't stay in hospitality suite on 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank comill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

Tha Arts District is a great location, not far from busy French Quarter but quiet and elegant, with loads OF beautifully renovated warehouses around and a choice of prime restaurants. The hotel itself is a 4-storey brick building, quite good-looking from the outside. We were there at the Jazz Fest period, so did not get the largest choice in rooms. Being noise-sensitive we did not choose a room on street because of the music bars opposite. We preferred an exec double queen over a patio, the counterpart being a gloomy atmosphere with little light and a poor view. The room deco is somewhat depressing and tired with terrible humidity smell and noisy air con. Update needed. We liked the small gym (though no view...) and the top-floor pool. There is an exec lounge for breakfast, though the breakfast at downstairs René Bistrot is far more pleasant and tasty (and charged extra). The lobby offers an interesting effort in artsy style, unfortunately balanced by approximative maintenance (not so clean windows and floor), poor flowers at entrance and terrible door service (unattentive, indifferent). Very good reception, with special mention for Nico Lambert, who delivered an outstanding service with great competence and kindness. Quite clearly a good hotel that has to go the extra mile (and it can) to become great.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martialbenard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Hotel is well located. Safe haven from the craziness of the French Quarter but great location to walk everywhere. Clean well appointed rooms. Great staff! If you are a Marriott Gold nice amenities in lounge. Workout area and roof top pool very relaxing. Can't imagine a reason to stay anywhere else!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Leslie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed at hotel for about 1 week. Positives, quiet area of N.O. Clean rooms, business center downstairs. There is an art museum atta hed to the hotel and an upcale restuarant ( though didnt eat there). Negatives, charge to use internet in rooms, expensive valet parking and hit or miss valet service, although there was a fridge, no microwave, no indoor pool, just outdoor. I would maybe consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDuvalPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This is a solid quality hotel - within walking distance to all the NO attractions, yet away from the rowdiness! We travelled with our two sons, so that was important. Hotel was unique with the decor. Bellmen & front desk employees were very helpful & courteous. Room was spacious & clean. No bells or whistles, but overall a good hotel. A few negatives: Had to wait a very long time for our car to get out of valet with only two people ahead of us. Most strange was an older woman who was strutting around the rooftop pool topless. This really bothered me with my 10 & 12 yr old sons present! Regardless, I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Thank li_walk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

The hotel was located convenient for short walks to the Convention Center, French Quarter, and Bourbon Street but on a comparatively quiet road. It was clean and the housekeeping staff was top notch. Unfortunately, the front-of-house was hugely disappointing. Though equipped with a concierge stand, the position was not staffed for the three days we were there. We learned to fend for ourselves after the front desk sent us to the worst meal of our stay (and beyond). But the worst was requesting a 4:00 AM wake-up call and 5:00 AM taxi...we got neither...and on the first day of air traffic controller furloughs.

Room Tip: Better to be in a perimeter room looking out, as opposed to windows overlooking the inside of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#68 of 166 in New Orleans
2,424 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#16 of 166 in New Orleans
2,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#74 of 166 in New Orleans
3,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel

Address: 700 Tchoupitoulas St, New Orleans, LA 70130-3612
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#28 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £105 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic setting, contemporary style, and a unbeatable location near New Orleans' French Quarter and in the heart of the trendy food mecca of the Warehouse District: all of this and more elevates Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel to an unforgettable New Orleans, Louisiana hotel experience. Our building is a former warehouse, dating from the early 20th century; we've preserved a sense of old-world elegance in our surroundings, while simultaneously infusing a thoroughly contemporary sense of convenience and art. Our Navigators are delighted to help you discover the best possible cuisine during your stay in New Orleans, Louisiana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New Orleans
New Orleans Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing