We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel - Sub-par Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Ranked #52 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel - Sub-par Restaurant”
Reviewed 19 June 2008

Very nice, modern hotel. Beautiful public areas and rooms. Comfortable bed. Roof-top Pool. Great Value (we paid ~$100 per night). Pleasant, helpful staff (they provided many maps, cabs, and directions for us).

We stayed at the Rennaissance Arts for 2 nights in June 2008. It was out first visit to New Orleans and the hotel was much better than we expected, bright, modern, clean, and a fairly good location.

You are about 3 blocks south of St. Charles Street (and the St. Charles Street trolley car which winds through the Garden District).

You are a 15 minute walk or $7 cab ride from the French Quarter, close enough to be totally convenient, yet far enough to offer a nice respite each evening.

One block west of the hotel (literally 1 block, less 3 min walk) is Emeril's restaurant.

Two blocks east (5 min walk) is a really cute wine bar "W.I.N.O" (Wine Institue of New Orleans).

Two blocks south (5 min walk) is the Riverfront Dining and Shopping mall.

The only sub-par feature of the hotel is that the hotel restaurant simply can't compete with NOLA cuisine. We had drinks and dessert there one evening and I think it was probably the worst bread pudding in all of New Orleans. But there are so many other places to eat in NOLA, why would you want to eat in your restaurant anyway?

  • Liked — Upscale Feel for Value Price
  • Disliked — Restaurant Food
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Corner1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    449
    111
    28
    13
See reviews for
203
313
44
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
247 reviews
244 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2008

I stayed here recently on a work trip. The hotel was pretty cool as it had a variety of art pieces throughout the location and in each of the rooms. This hotel is in the warehouse district and within walking distance to some great restaurants a coffee shop and galleries galore. Also, not too far off from the Quarter.

The workout room on the top floor was nice and well apportioned and the pool (also on the top floor) had nice views of the city/river.

Comfortable - but a little pricey compared to what you can get in other parts of the CBD/downtown.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank DAL504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham, MA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2008

Just returned from our second trip to New Orleans and the Renaissance Arts. Since our last trip was 9 months after Katrina, we could not wait to return to enjoy the area even more.

Let me begin on a positive note and say the rooms are beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable and lobby area very attractive. Staff also is very nice and accommodating. No issues with valet parking. We also choose this hotel because of it’s roof top pool which is a nice way to relax during the day and soak up the sun. The hotel is also not so close to the “action” and in a more quiet area but within walking distance of everything. We did order from room service which was just o.k. Did order drinks from the bar to take up to the pool which were great. No complaints there.

Now the negative… We began the first 2 nights of our 10 day trip at the Renaissance. Immediately we noticed issues with our air conditioning and reported the problem. Were told it was fixed but when we returned later that evening it was not. The following day the same thing but were told it had been fixed. Sleeping in 70 degree weather, when you have set you’re a/c for 60 is not our idea of comfort. During the two days, all we heard was, I’m so sorry, I’m so sorry and the problem was fixed. We returned the following weekend for the last night of our trip, were upgraded to an inside suite which was nice, but truthfully how much time do you spend in your room? Unfortunately, same issue all over again, a 70 degree room with humidity. Once again, continued, I’m sorry. Doesn’t cut it when you are on vacation.

Aside from that constant annoyance if you are one who prefers to sleep in cool comfort, we do love the hotel and location and would more than likely stay there again in the future if traveling back to New Orleans as all the other positives about the property outweigh our a/c issues.

  • Liked — Roof top pool
  • Disliked — Lack of working air conditioning
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FiveStarTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hills
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2008

We loved New Orleans especially with our two children (ages 14 & 12). If you avoided Bourbon Street at night there are lots of fun family things to do. My son (14) thought the Tabasco Factory was great and the country store the best for tasting. The adults enjoyed the Jungle Gardens next to the factory. My daughter loved the Mari Gras museum, zoo and the shopping. We all loved the great food, music and gardens. The Renaissance Arts Hotel is in a safe, quiet area of New Orleans. About a 10-15 minute walk to the French Quarter made it a great location. Take the trolley and get there faster and in style but buy a pass do not do it the expensive way that we did by paying as we went. The hotel was pretty and unique with the art displayed around the lobby. As with other experiences with Marriott our reservations were not correct. I had called three times (I will spare you the details on why I did not trust the reservation system) for adjoining rooms’ confirmation. Of course when we checked in the first set of rooms were on different floors, second set across the hall, third set had two king beds (would not work with a boy and girl), we were offered a cot but not after all the Marriott points we spent to get two rooms. Finally after waiting ten minutes outside the room (the bell hop was so kind) we were placed on the concierge floor with rooms side by side. I was told on check-in that Silver Elite Member did not qualify for any services on the concierge floor but we took the rooms willing. I was uncomfortable with not having a door to check on the kids but it worked out. It was really nice to have the drinks and breakfast in the lounge with the children. Beside the confusion and aggravation on check-in the staff was very helpful and attentive. The hotel was very clean and we never had a housekeeping problem. The business center was bothersome as you could not download (even to your own jump drive) or print. The front desk staff was great and let me print from their computer. We all loved New Orleans and hope to return very soon.

  • Liked — location, decor, staff
  • Disliked — reservation problems
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GingerWestHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomson, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2008

My wife and I, along with two other couples go on an annual gambling trip. This year we went to NOLA and stayed at the Rennaissance Arts! We were not dissapointed. The staff was very helpful, and the hotel was perfect. We were within walking distance to everything! The casino was about 5 minutes away, and I "think" we broke even! I would highly recommend the Renaissance Arts to anyone! Keep up the good work!! Stan

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2008

Excellent hotel! Wonderful for those who like the energy of New Orleans, but not the chaos of the French Quarter. Close enough for a long stroll to get there, but far enough away that you don't have to experience it if you don't want to. Excellent restaurants within walking distance and many art galleries. Will be staying at this one again!

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lasocialworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagram, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2008

This hotel lives up to its name. It is like staying in an art gallery. Art in the rooms, lobby, restaurant and a sculpture garden inside. We stayed for 5 nights in an interior view room which was very quiet. I booked through the Marriott site and received breakfast with the stay. Quite a deal! The hotel staff was all very helpful and we enjoyed the spectacular rooftop pool/spa. I was attending a conference at the convention center and this hotel was a short 5 block walk -very accessible. The only downside would be the price for parking, but this was similar at other area hotels.

  • Liked — Art everywhere and a great breakfast daily
  • Disliked — Charge for internet and fee for parking
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lismatisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#36 of 162 in New Orleans
846 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
2,429 reviews
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#53 of 162 in New Orleans
2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
1,347 reviews
Central Business District
Le Meridien New Orleans
Le Meridien New Orleans
#75 of 162 in New Orleans
753 reviews
Central Business District
Le Pavillon Hotel
Le Pavillon Hotel
#87 of 162 in New Orleans
2,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel

Property: Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Address: 700 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-3612
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#28 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#35 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic setting, contemporary style, and a unbeatable location near New Orleans' French Quarter and in the heart of the trendy food mecca of the Warehouse District: all of this and more elevates the Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel to an unforgettable New Orleans experience. Our building is a former warehouse, dating from the early 20th century; we've preserved a sense of old-world elegance in our surroundings, while simultaneously infusing a thoroughly contemporary sense of convenience and art. Please note that our restaurant is currently undergoing renovations and we look forward to unveiling a stunning new restaurant to our guests in early 2015. For now, we recommend that our guests enjoy the many amazing New Orleans dining experiences within a short walking distance of our front doors, such as Cochon, Emeril's, Root, Tommy's Bistro, and many more. Our Navigators will be delighted to help you discover the best possible cuisine during your stay in New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New Orleans
New Orleans Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing