We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget staying in the French Quarter ... Stay here! It's the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Ranked #54 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I couldn't pronounce the street this hotel sits on, but I could tell you it's the best place to stay when in New Orleans. It's close to the action (just a few blocks away; maybe 5 - 10 minute walk to French Quarter, Riverwalk, etc.) but far enough away from all the chaos to enjoy some necessary quiet. Truly great location. Perfect for families and couples, alike. This was my first time in New Orleans and I loved it here. There is likely no other hotel I would stay on my next trip out here.

The impressive sliding glass doors at the entrance to the hotel open to reveal a beautiful (albeit, freezing -- AC was super pumped) sleek, lobby. The rooms are spacious and clean. Aveda products. Nice towels. There is art EVERYWHERE: in the lobby, rooms, by the elevator! -- which, for an artsy girl like me, was just everything. The rooftop pool was clean and just perfect for this long weekend in New Orleans. Also on the top floor: gym, sauna.

The beds are super comfortable and at night, all was quiet (which was THE perfect combo for those hungover, "I need to sleep it off" mornings) The view from my room was nice enough.

Staff: front desk very friendly. They gave comp water and AMP brand drinks. Lawrence (bellhop) was so friendly and gave us some initial tips on where to go.

If you want to stay close to the hotel, you can find the well-known Mother restaurant about a block up, Lucy restaurant on the corner and a restaurant in the lobby of the hotel. Really, you could trip and fall right into a great restaurant, bar, or art gallery from this hotel. =)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelJunkie6420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Hi TravelJunkie6420,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel. We love your pictures of the property and hearing about your experience with our wonderful staff. It's great you adored the Arts & Warehouse District neighborhood, as well as the property amenities such as fabulous art, Aveda amenities, fitness center and rooftop pool. We're also glad you had a chance to sleep in and really enjoy the Renaissance beds. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you on your next trip to New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

541 - 547 of 1,140 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

We are frequent travelers to New Orleans and prefer to be out of the French Quarter but close enough to walk to it. This lovely hotel is a five minute walk away in the newly-fashionable warehouse/art gallery district - just a block from Emeril's and close to the other attractions. This former 5 story warehouse is completely renovated with nice size rooms, very clean, comfortable beds, rooftop pool, nearby fitness room, ground level lounge and restaurant. The public areas are bright, colorful with very cool art throughout. You can walk to Emeril's, John Besh's August restaurant (high-end), Harrah's, the new WWII Museum (worth a visit), Easy walk to the St. Charles streetcar line too. May be a bit more costly than average but worth the cost. Enjoy one of the best cities in the US.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear mcex,

It's wonderful to hear that you discovered the best of the Warehouse District. We completely agree about the advantages of our hotel's location: steps away from the French Quarter, immersed in the lively, fashionable Arts & Warehouse District right by many of New Orleans' best restaurants and art galleries. We're glad that you enjoyed our professionally curated art throughout the hotel, as well as the other hotel amenities like our rooftop pool. We hope to see you again soon in the Big Easy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The hotel is very clean and well kept. We had three rooms mine was close to the elevator which I do not recommend - I needed to move due to the amount of noise in the middle of the night and the panel of the air conditioner fell off. Housekeeping not the best; towels/ soap removed not replaced but they responded when I called down. The bar was nice; food okay. Location superb. We were at a Convention so we were very close. Restaurants close proximity. Lucy's across the street great; Mother's; Ruby's all great eating places. Couchon amazing food.
I would recommend free wifi in the rooms even though we were not around much during the day and evening. Coffee in the lobby would be nice as well since there was no option to make it in your room or even you had pay for it. Wifi in lobby worked well. Overall hotel was great small and quaint. Quiet away from the chaos which believe me there was alot.

Room Tip: Away from elevators; King beds face into the lobby other rooms facing out. Over all rooms were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notaholidayToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear notaholidayToronto,

Thank you for your thoughtful feedback. We're thrilled that you discovered several famous restaurants nearby our hotel, such as Donald Link's Cochon. It's also great that you found the hotel's location superb and the hotel clean and well kept. Please accept our apologies about the elevator, air conditioner and soap- we will most certainly share these notes with our ambassadors to see where we can improve. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

I read and rely on Tripadvisor for so many trips, hotels, activities, restaurants, but have been too lazy to get online and leave a review. Now I must depart from that practice because this hotel demands mention. I am in New Orleans for my daughter's graduation from Tulane University, and this is my second stay at the renaissance arts hotel in the arts/market district. Fantastic. Lobby and common areas are indeed very arty, bright fun carpeting, interesting art on walls, nice sitting areas. Rooms are large with huge windows, 3 side by side in our room, looking out on interesting looking old converted warehouses across the street. Bathrooms are nice, furnishings are contempo and sleek. And the location is so much better than the French Quarter because you are not crammed in, one can easily park car nearby for $15 per 24 hours which allows you to easily come and go, and French Quarter is nearby. Fantastic cool hangout with great food and drinks, Lucys, is right across the street. And yes, king bed is really nice, great place to kick back and lounge while late afternoon sun wafts in through those awesome windows. Look no further I tell you!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Edwin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Edwin,

Congratulations on your daughter's graduation! We really appreciate your feedback about our "fantastic" property. We're glad our contemporary, artistic design, spacious rooms, and other unique features inspired you to write this review. It's also great to hear that you adore our convenient location in the vibrant Arts & Warehouse District, which is right by the French Quarter but offers plenty of its own major destinations. We hope to have the chance to host you for a third time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Loved this hotel and it's amazing staff. Front desk and bell staff was very attentive and friendly. They gave us great recommendations on places to see. Room was big, clean, and spacious. Very close to everything including French quarter.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Barza11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Atarilover,

We couldn't be more pleased to hear what a wonderful stay you had at the Renaissance New Orleans Arts. As a Renaissance hotel, our navigators pride themselves on being experts about the local area, and it sounds like they certainly offered some amazing recommendations in your case. Our rooms are indeed very spacious, especially for a downtown hotel, and we're happy that you really liked your room. While our location is in the trendy and historic Arts & Warehouse District, it is very close to all the French Quarter action as well. Thank you for your feedback and we would be delighted to host you on your future New Orleans trips.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

If you don't want to be in the French Quarter, this is a great hotel. Locarted in the "Warehouse District" away from the hustle and bustle of Canal Strret and the Quarter. In this area of town you will find many art galleries (on Julia Street), the World War II Museum (well worth a visit) and many great resturaunts (Cochon, Annunciation, Peche, to name a few within walking distance).
The hotel is very quiet, modern and filled with art (Dale Chihuly glass fixtures in the lobby). The room was spacious and comfortable with a nice bathroom. The staff was very helpful with directions and transportation. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: As in most big cities I would ask for a room off the street--there is no view here, so off the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear TexTraveling,

We're glad to hear you enjoyed the serene, artistic atmosphere at the Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel. Guests love our glass-blown Chihuly chandeliers as well as our private art gallery that is perfect for events. Additionally, it's wonderful that you discovered our vibrant, exciting neighborhood of the Arts & Warehouse District, especially its many amazing and celebrated New Orleans restaurants like Cochon, Peche, and Annunciation. If you enjoy Cochon and Peche, we also recommend Herbsaint, Donald Link's other restaurant nearby. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Pro: Beautifully designed hotel. If you are into that, its a neat place to stay. The arts district is more low-key than the Quarter which was nice. Room was very clean and the service was very professional and friendly. We booked it through priceline and got an amazing deal. There's restaurants and bars near by in walking distance and its not far from the french quarter.
Con: Parking is wretched! They have a valet but parking is still expensive and took us a while to find and when we found it, it was pricey and in a tight space. Internet is not free.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Halley,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel. We're glad to hear you liked the hotel's funky neighborhood of the Arts & Warehouse District, with its many award-winning restaurants, diverse nightlife and cool things to do like the Julia Street art galleries and the WWII Museum. It's also great that you enjoyed the sleek, modern design of our recently renovated hotel. We're so sorry to hear that you had trouble with parking and we deeply apologize that you were not given better directions to the self-park lot. We do offer free WIFI in the first floor for our guests who find the guest room Internet fee cost-prohibitive. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#68 of 166 in New Orleans
2,406 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#17 of 166 in New Orleans
2,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Arts District / Warehouse District
New Orleans Downtown Marriott at the Convention Center
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel

Address: 700 Tchoupitoulas St, New Orleans, LA 70130-3612
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#28 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#35 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £103 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic setting, contemporary style, and a unbeatable location near New Orleans' French Quarter and in the heart of the trendy food mecca of the Warehouse District: all of this and more elevates Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel to an unforgettable New Orleans, Louisiana hotel experience. Our building is a former warehouse, dating from the early 20th century; we've preserved a sense of old-world elegance in our surroundings, while simultaneously infusing a thoroughly contemporary sense of convenience and art. Our Navigators are delighted to help you discover the best possible cuisine during your stay in New Orleans, Louisiana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New Orleans
New Orleans Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing