We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not in the French Quarter but close enough for us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Ranked #48 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

For some reason I thought this hotel was closer to the French Quarter when I originally booked it. It isn't - more like a good 20 minute walk. In the end we are glad it wasn't as it was rather nice to get away from the craziness of Bourbon Street and to arrive at a quieter (and somewhat nicer) area. The hotel has a nice blend of old and new design throughout and the rooms are tastefully furnished. Dan at reception was kind enough to find us interconnecting rooms at a time when there weren't many to be had. Much appreciated. Reception is vast with a number of sitting areas as well as a restaurant/bar.

The only negatives were the following: Charging $13.00 a day for wifi in the room in this day and age is just ugly. You want to make a small extra profit off of business travelers sure go ahead but to hit families on summer vacation makes no sense. Really guys charge $13.00 more per room per night if it is that important. The end result is numerous quests sitting around the lobby crouched over their laptops and tablets. Nice.

Second miss is the restaurant bar in the lobby. We went in shortly after our arrival and after practically going into the kitchen to get the waitress to come and serve us a drink we asked for a domestic beer (Happy Hours special $2.50). She handed us an Abita, said it was local. We drank three and were presented with a bill for $15.00. When we asked about Happy Hour prices we were told that that beer was not part of the special. When I asked for the manager to come over he barely glanced at us and said he was not interested in discussing it and that he had had this problem countless times. So my only question/comment is why don't they just tell people what is on special to avoid problems? Maybe because they don't care! We never went back for an evening drink again and we stayed the whole week....This really doesn't reflect on the hotel itself (I mentioned this practice to the front desk and they apologized but it was not their fault). I merely wanted to warn anyone staying here to ASK what is on special to avoid paying full price.

Many nice restaurants in the immediate area to choose from. No need to go back to the French Quarter at night - unless you want more of that tourist stuff (which gets a bit tiresome after a while). The warehouse area around the hotel has a most definite local feel to it. Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRNJ1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear DRNJ1960,

Thank you for all of your feedback as it helps us continuously perfect our service. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our location in New Orleans vibrant Warehouse District,
which does include some of the best dining in New Orleans. It's also great to know that you experienced excellent service from our front desk. Please accept our apologies for any
confusion regarding the bar specials and the in-room WIFI charge. Renaissance Hotels does currently carry an in-room WIFI charge, although Renaissances offer complimentary WIFI in public areas such as the first floor public areas of our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and it would be our pleasure to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

521 - 527 of 1,162 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

The Renaissance New Orleans Hotel has earned a lifetime customer. My husband and I stayed one night at this property for a quick anniversary trip. The hotel's location in the Warehouse District is quiet and much more peaceful than we usually experience. There are plenty of restaurants around as well as little shops. If you take Girod Street to the right for less than a mile, you end up at the riverfront/convention center area. If you turn left on Girod Street for about a mile, you hit the Superdome. St. Charles and Bourbon Street aren't too far, either.

When we arrived by car at the hotel, the car valet service was prompt and professional. This was the just the beginning of our wonderful experience with the staff.

We stayed in a king room on the 4th floor and it was very clean and modern, and the bed was very comfortable. The Aveda toiletries were a nice touch. We were in room 433 with a view to a quiet street. Because it was our anniversary, the hotel sent up complimentary champagne and chocolate covered strawberries. We were very pleasantly surprised. We slept really well in our quiet room, and ate breakfast the next morning in the hotel restaurant.

After we arrived home, I realized I left my necklace (an anniversary gift) in the room and immediately called the hotel. Leon from loss prevention/lost and found personally went up to our room to gather the necklace within five minutes of my call. He arranged to have it shipped to me via Fed Ex, and it just arrived. The customer service at this hotel is amazing from top to bottom, and I will be staying here from now on whenever I travel to New Orleans. Next time, I hope to check out the hotel's rooftop pool and the bar area.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor in room 433. It faced out to the street, so we had nice light. There wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank BatonRougeFemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear BatonRougeFemme,

We were so happy to ensure that your necklace was safely returned to you! It was also our pleasure to surprise you with the extra amenities and be a part of this memorable occasion for you two. We eagerly await your return and thank you so much for your kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This beautiful hotel is located just outside the busy districts of New Orleans. No crazy crowds, no loud bars, unless you count Lucy's across the street. It's a busy locals kind of place, busy, but not loud. Great roof top pool. It's a great place to see New Orleans at night. The staff are top notch. Nice, kind and helpful. There are two drawbacks with this hotel, none of which is really their fault. Because you are away from the main areas, be prepared to walk, a lot and far. The cost of parking is crazy (by my standards) 40.00 per day (overnight stay) to park. That adds up.
But if these two things are not your issue. This place is great!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ddashby16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear ddashby16,

Thanks for your feedback! We're glad to hear you loved our serene, beautiful hotel, which is located in New Orleans' trendy and intriguing Arts & Warehouse District. We couldn't agree more about the rooftop pool- it's a great place to hang out on a summer night and watch the Warehouse District below. It's also wonderful to know that you experienced the friendly, professional service typical of our hotel. We hope to see you again on your next visit to New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed one night in a king room with breakfast for two included. We arrived around 6pm and since it was after 6, street parking was a great $ saver compared to valet. Quiet room with nice firm bed and linens. Pillow choices were abundant. Breakfast was ok but not at the NOLA standard. Would recommend for conventioneers give that it is blocks away.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SummerFlowers425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Tania,

We're happy that you found us a perfect location for the experienced traveler, with comfortable, well-appointed rooms and our wonderful location in the heart of New Orleans' Arts & Warehouse District. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again on your next visit to New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My daughter and i were in NO for a four day stay. My husband had previously stayed here and thought we would like it and we did. The hotel is both hipper and more boutique-y than anything else in the Marriott chain. Its location though, is what really sets it apart. It is ground zero for some of the best restaurants like Root, Cochon, Peche, Herbsaint, Emeril's and others. It is also a short walk to the FrenchQuarter, Central Business District and waterfront. The hotel staff was great, especially the breakfast ladies, and Nico and Peter at the bar (best deal in the city is $9/dozen oysters during happy hour!). The rooms are quite large and i agree with a previous reviewer that I would NOT want a courtyard room.
The restaurant seems to be in a bit of a transition (I think there has been a chef and concept change)but it is an attractive space. Overall a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Mary Ellen,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel. It's wonderful that you loved our location, so accurately described as ground zero for delicious dining options such as Peche and Cochon. We're also happy that you enjoyed the oysters at Palette, our new restaurant led by Chef Ben Sarrat. We hope to see you again on your next trip to New Orleans!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The Renaissance Arts New Orleans Hotel was such a wonderful stay for our bachelorette weekend. The hotel knew that we were staying there for a bachelorette weekend, so they treated us with a welcome package which included wine, chocolate covered strawberries and fruit. Before and upon arrival the staff was super friendly and helpful. Cory (concierge) had some great recommendations as to where to eat or grab a quick snack. There were twelve of us and we had three rooms. There were four girls to a room and we slept comfortably. We had two doubles (make sure they give you queen beds) and one suite. The only complaint about the suite was the sofa bed. It was so uncomfortable that the girls had to request a rolla-way bed. The common room area of the suite was pretty big, we were able to seat twelve girls comfortably. I chose this hotel, because of the suite and the rooms are bigger than many of the older boutique hotels. The hotel is actually in a great location. The Warehouse district is really where you want to stay if you want to avoid the commotion of Bourbon street and get a good deal. We were within walking distance to the new Riverwalk Outlet Mall on the water, only three blocks away. Mother's restaurant was right around the corner along with Peche, Cochon and Emeril's. There were also lounges and night clubs (Republic) in the area within walking distance. Bourbon street and the French Quarters are in walking distance as well about 10-15 minute walk. If you want to take a cab back from the Bourbon street area it's only about $10-$12, which is great! Next time I'm in New Orleans, I'm definitely going to stay at the Renaissance Arts New Orleans Hotel again. There were no complaints and everyone was happy including the bride-to-be!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rispectd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear rispectd,

First, we have to say we loved your photos! It's such a pleasure to see that you discovered the delectable delights at Sucre, live music in the French Quarter, and of course the irresistible views and comfort of our own rooftop pool. We're also glad that Cory gave you some great recommendations and helped your bachelorette party navigate New Orleans' vibrant Arts & Warehouse District. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again on your next New Orleans adventure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

great stay and value in warehouse district - close to many good restaurants in area - safe 10-15 minute walk to french quarter - very close to national wwii museum and riverfront - hotel staff very friendly

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank virginiahome64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear VirginiaHome64,

We are so happy to hear that you had a great time discovering the Warehouse District during your stay with us! The WWII Museum, Children's Museum, and other close by destinations are perfect for a family looking to explore the best of New Orleans' summer destinations. It would be our pleasure to host you again on your next journey to the Big Easy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
JW Marriott New Orleans
JW Marriott New Orleans
#72 of 166 in New Orleans
2,449 reviews
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 166 in New Orleans
2,688 reviews
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#73 of 166 in New Orleans
3,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel

Address: 700 Tchoupitoulas St, New Orleans, LA 70130-3612
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#28 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £120 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic setting, contemporary style, and a unbeatable location near New Orleans' French Quarter and in the heart of the trendy food mecca of the Warehouse District: all of this and more elevates Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel to an unforgettable New Orleans, Louisiana hotel experience. Our building is a former warehouse, dating from the early 20th century; we've preserved a sense of old-world elegance in our surroundings, while simultaneously infusing a thoroughly contemporary sense of convenience and art. Our Navigators are delighted to help you discover the best possible cuisine during your stay in New Orleans, Louisiana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New Orleans
New Orleans Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing