We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel, unfortunately, our experience was not perfect.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Ranked #46 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, unfortunately, our experience was not perfect.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2009

We got a great deal from Marriott.com for Memorial weekend. Price was great, including breakfasts for 2 adults and kids, plus a 50-dollar amazon gift card.
The hotel is located in the warehouse district which we never stayed before. I found myself liked this area because it is quieter and clean. It is always a 5-15 minute walk to everywhere but I enjoy walking. The hotel is about 15 minute away from the intersection of Canal and Burbon Street (including waiting for the traffic lights.) by walk. If you walk straight down from the hotel on Tchoupitoulas St toward French Quarter, Harrah’s casino is 3 blocks down on the right. The insect museum, which young kids love, is 4 blocks down. Emeril’s restaurant is a block away. Across the street, is a favorite local hang out place, called Lucy’s Retired Surfers restaurant. In my opinion, the hotel is conveniently located.
Parking at the hotel is not cheap. It is 28 dollars per night, plus tax (which is more than 10%). Valet and self-parking are the same price. I looked around. There wasn’t other close by cheaper and safer solution.
The hotel is tastefully and pleasantly decorated. Staffs are friendly. Rooms are small but very comfortable and clean. There is a very small swimming pool on the roof. It is not very practical to think about actually swimming there, but a nice place to hang out. Cool lounge chairs and sofas, too.
Our not –so-perfect experience was caused by the location of our room. We were put at the 2nd floor, facing the interior court yard, overlooking the hotels conference room/party room. The first night was fine since there was no party. The 2nd night, there was a graduation party. The party went on till 2am. I finished watching Saturday Night Life, the kids was still partying very hard. I can feel the quake of music. Eventually, I fall sleep under “Bohimian Rhapsody.” I love the song, but wished there could be a better lullaby. At 5am, I jumped out my bed, waken by the loud hysterical fire alarm. 15 minutes later, when we finally got ready to evacuate, the alarm stopped.
Personally, I felt the staff could have avoided our sleepless in New Orleans by putting us away from the party room when we checked in. Shouldn’t those who were having a party have our room instead? I feel a 4 star hotel should have this plan-ahead type of ability.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CLHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    436
    106
    27
    11
See reviews for
197
305
42
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2009

Our 6th time in New Orleans - never stayed in the Wharehouse District. This was a pleasant surprise. Our room was Huge! Very clean. The lobby and common areas have beautiful art especially the hand blown glass hanging lamps. It's about a 15 minute walk to the street car which takes you right into the French Quarter. The only complaint we had was slowness and inattentiveness of the help at the beautiful bar and restaurant. Great rooftop pool.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank curlygirlNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2009

My husband and I just returned from 3 days at this hotel and it was fabulous! Lots of unexpected extras. We stayed on the Club Level, and the room had a refrigerator, a beautiful view of the city from the room as well as from the rooftop, and hot breakfast in the Club Lounge as well as delicious appetizers at night. The staff was very accomodating when we asked for a late checkout. The pool and hot tub are on the roof - lots of fun. The location is about a 10 min. walk to the French Quarter straight up Tchoupitoulas Street. We enjoyed the location very much. It's quite near Harrah's casino and the convention center, and is surrounded by good restaurants. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2009

Only stayed one night but we enjoyed it very much. Was not sure what to expect, but was pleasantly surprised with everything. Lobby was beautiful and filled with interesting artwork. Stayed in a room with an exterior view on the 4th floor. It was large, clean, nicely updated and quiet. Lots of windows letting in plenty of light. Liked the electronic do not disturb /make up room sign. Very comfortable bed. Only negative would be the bathroom seemed a little small and the toilet was rather sluggish.
Hotel is located in a quiet area, but still close to everything. Walking distance to the FQ, riverfront, casino and convention center. Plenty of restaurants within a block or two.
Best thing... only paid $52 on PriceLine .

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FirstClassOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2009

We were there for three nights and it was a good choice in the Warehouse/Arts District, just west of the French Quarter. The staff was very helpful. Quiet, very comfortable bed, large closet, soft tissues & toilet paper and fluffy soft towels. Large bathroom with expansive granite counter top for your personal toiletries. First rate hotel at budget prices. We walked everywhere. There is a Club Room on the 4th Floor which is a nice lounge with a TV, library, computer, complimentary beverages (coffee, tea, juice, bottled water, etc.), fresh fruit, pastries, etc. in the early morning and then other stuff in the early evening. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2009

Stayed in this lovely hotel for Jazz Fest. We were with family (2 rooms). Really nice. Loved every minute of it. Our room checked out earlier than our relatives did. Still nice. A few hours after we left town, our family texted to say that their car had been STOLEN from the valet lot (at $28/day... they should be able to hire a guard). The police found the car but it was trashed and everything in it was stolen. Our family had to drive 3.5 hours in a trashed car (eg, no side mirrors, no AC). REAL downer to an otherwise great trip. The hotel did return the "points" (the room was booked using reward points) but still... I would recommend this hotel but only if you don't have to park overnight.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dixie_in_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
172 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2009

Beautiful hotel, attentive staff, comfy bed with down pillows and comforter, close to
French Quarter, rooftop pool, and great top of the line toiletries. Everything was perfect. Bellhops were wonderful. I felt like a queen being waited on all week, doors opened for me, packages being carried in, etc. So nice. I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#33 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,248 reviews
Central Business District
Le Pavillon Hotel
Le Pavillon Hotel
#80 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#47 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel

Property: Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Address: 700 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-3612
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#28 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#35 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic setting, contemporary style, and a unbeatable location near New Orleans' French Quarter and in the heart of the trendy food mecca of the Warehouse District: all of this and more elevates the Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel to an unforgettable New Orleans experience. Our building is a former warehouse, dating from the early 20th century; we've preserved a sense of old-world elegance in our surroundings, while simultaneously infusing a thoroughly contemporary sense of convenience and art. Please note that our restaurant is currently undergoing renovations and we look forward to unveiling a stunning new restaurant to our guests in early 2015. For now, we recommend that our guests enjoy the many amazing New Orleans dining experiences within a short walking distance of our front doors, such as Cochon, Emeril's, Root, Tommy's Bistro, and many more. Our Navigators will be delighted to help you discover the best possible cuisine during your stay in New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New Orleans
New Orleans Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing