We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible Service and in need of upgrades”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Ranked #50 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, Sc
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Horrible Service and in need of upgrades”
Reviewed 30 May 2010

As a Platinum marriott rewards member I have found the Renaissance brand to be head and shoulders above the competition in almost every instance. The Renaissance Arts Hotel on the other hand is far below the competition in almost every category. Upon checking in I asked for an upgrade due to my Platinum status and was told flatly that none were available. I inquired as to whether there was an upgrade available for purchase and was again told no very rudely. As a frequent traveler you get a sense for how full a hotel is and whether or not there should be an available upgrades. In my gut I felt there probably was and my feeling were confirmed by the assistant general manager the next day.

The Bad:

Badly stained carpet in the guest room.
Old 27" tube TV's with a very limited channel selection. (Honestly who thinks it's a bad idea to upgrade your tv and channel selection these days?)
Horrible evening and morning food presentation in Concierge lounge.
Gnats all over dessert tray in Concierge lounge.
Pool area littered with half eaten food and beer bottles form earlier in the day.
Concierge lounge attendant on Facebook instead of attending to guests.

The Good:

Beautiful common areas.
Easily accesible location.
Assistant GM recognized problems and tried to rectify situation.

We were scheduled to stay two nights and were so dissapointed that we left after the first night and went to Wind Creek resort in Atwood AL instead.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phi506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    448
    110
    27
    12
See reviews for
202
313
43
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2010

the hotel was nice and i was ejoying my stay that is until i got into bed and found blood on my sheets.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mytym32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
183 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2010

This new hotel looks great, is in a great location and the rooms are excellent. Ideally located between french quarter and conference centre and not noisy or at all tacky like much of city.
Rooms are clean, very comfortable and the matresses guarantee a good nights sleep. Rooftop pool is a blast and the view is fabulous.
Hotel let down by a very poor breakfast and poor breakfast service, I actually gave up while waiting for plates/bowls/juice or coffee.
Paying for internet should be banned!
Overall great but eat out!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
232 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2010

This was our second stay. Location is great. Beds are very comfortable and rooms are clean.

Don't expect lots of service, but what service you do receive is friendly and competent.

Best of all, you get great value for your dollar in a well maintained and comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2010

The location was perfect. Just a 5 or 10 minute walk to the Quarter, and just one block from Emeril's, and a couple of other hot restaurants (August and Cochon) were about 5 minutes away. Very comfortable bed in a lovely room. I'm guessing maybe this hotel is the best for the price. All the other great reviews were right, and I'll stay here again the next time in New Orleans. An added plus, they make an authentic New Orleans Brandy Milk Punch at the bar. You can really taste the difference and appreciate that they don't skip some steps and ingredients like (I'm sorry to say) EVERY other bar that I ordered one at did. As a former resident of New Orleans that's a big plus, because I know how that drink is supposed to be made, and they do it right at this hotel. Food here, not so fabulous, but why eat here when there are so many truly great restaurants within a few minutes walk or drive? Thanks Trip Advisor for the service and it's reviews. If not for you I'd probably never have found this hotel. Friendly staff with no 'tude. Lovely location. It's a winner!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheckInPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2010

Modern, but inviting, decor and art filled lobbies, lounges and patios make for a terrifically relaxing stay. The rooms are gorgeous and many turn inward to the art filled inner patios. The restaurant and lounge are top notch and the extrememly helpful staff are world class. The location several blocks from the convention center makes it a perfect place for those visiting New Orleans on business. It is quieter than the French Quarter but the Quarter and Canal Street are just blocks away. The St. Charles streetcar line and the World War II Museum are also nearby. A sophisticated oasis for those seeking something a bit different for their trip to New Orleans.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blissfield1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2010

My sister and I stayed at the Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel in the Warehouse District. We really liked the area because it was within walking distance to many of the places we wanted to visit. Every hotel staff person we came in contact with was very pleasant and helpful, especially the bell men and valets. Service was quick and friendly. Our room had double beds and was quite comfortable. It appeared clean, but we have a habit of spraying our hotel room surfaces with disinfectant. No offense to the housekeeping staff. Still, you just never know and it's best to err on the side of caution. It was great coming back to a clean room after a long day sticking out like sore thumbs like the green tourists we were. My only complaint is that the hotel did not offer free wi-fi, and we had to pay $13 per day for wired Internet access. Them's the breaks, though. All in all, this is a great hotel and we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TischandGina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Omni Riverfront Hotel
Omni Riverfront Hotel
#38 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,383 reviews
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#53 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Le Pavillon Hotel
Le Pavillon Hotel
#86 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,774 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Central Business District
Le Meridien New Orleans
Le Meridien New Orleans
#77 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel

Property: Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel
Address: 700 Tchoupitoulas Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-3612
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#28 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#35 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#51 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A historic setting, contemporary style, and a unbeatable location near New Orleans' French Quarter and in the heart of the trendy food mecca of the Warehouse District: all of this and more elevates the Renaissance New Orleans Arts Hotel to an unforgettable New Orleans experience. Our building is a former warehouse, dating from the early 20th century; we've preserved a sense of old-world elegance in our surroundings, while simultaneously infusing a thoroughly contemporary sense of convenience and art. Please note that our restaurant is currently undergoing renovations and we look forward to unveiling a stunning new restaurant to our guests in early 2015. For now, we recommend that our guests enjoy the many amazing New Orleans dining experiences within a short walking distance of our front doors, such as Cochon, Emeril's, Root, Tommy's Bistro, and many more. Our Navigators will be delighted to help you discover the best possible cuisine during your stay in New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Renaissance New Orleans Arts Warehouse District Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance New Orleans
New Orleans Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing