We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dijon - CLOSED

Dijon
Price range: US$30 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Garden District
Cross street: Terpsichore
Transit: Yes, RTA at the corner of Annunciation and Terpsichore. St. Charles Avenue streetcar is within a short walking distance.
Description: Housed in a historic former firehouse, Dijon is the first restaurant concept from New Orleans native Kurt Brodtmann. He is working with Executive Chef Daniel Causgrove to deliver a truly unique dining experience! We offer a Louisiana Contemporary cuisine with French and Creole influences. Our menu will rotate seasonally according to availability and by Chef's choice and will always feature rotating daily dinner specials, featured wines and cocktails. We take a French provincial approach to fine dining by inviting you to our humble space and serving you nothing but the freshest local ingredients possible. A few special features of Dijon are a Chef’s Table in the main dining room complete with its own small kitchen (coming soon!!!), a beautiful private courtyard area, and a premium bar and lounge area that features the City's best cocktails and great wines!
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Loved this restaurant which was the opposite of the over priced, loud, bad serviced NO restaurants. Food was fabulous, service was good (and one waiter was dealing with several tables) and being in the Garden District
was a welcome relief from the French Quarter craziness. Check it out. You will love it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank barbley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coconut Creek, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

A converted firehouse, this restaurant has high vaulted ceilings and a courtyard in which musicians were playing. An interesting menu with nice cocktails made for an interesting dinner. A little pricey, but the friendly staff and wonderful ambience made for a pleasant evening.

Helpful?
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Ho hum”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Chose this place as it was fairly close to our hotel and it had gotten decent reviews but all in all it was a less than stellar experience. We arrived for our 630pm reservation and chose to sit on the patio as it was a lovely evening. A duo was playing there (bass and guitar) and were the highlight of our dinner. We were the only patrons for quite a while which was a bit disconcerting and our waiter was blasé but was friendly enough.
After a very nice sparkling brut rose, bread and butter was brought to the table: butter was great but the bread!! NOT good. When it is so easy to provide good, crusty, fresh baked bread, why they would serve such tasteless fluff I have no idea.
It set a tone of mediocrity and the meal didn't really recover, sadly.
We ordered several starters: my sweet potato soup was pretty tasty but they served it in such a huge bowl it was a bit overwhelming. My husband's fried oysters on kale was good, he said, altho the slaw they served with it was overly acidic. Next up was a salad for me which purportedly had "almonds,arugula and Parmesan". If there were any of those in there they were microscopic. And,again, dressing thin and too acidic. It was a $3 salad at best and not worth my time. My husband had a shrimp and grits appetizer then and the presentation was horrible. It looked to be a generic deep fried hockey puck of a "grits cake" smothered in some unappealing, un identifiable dark green sauce. He ate it but was not impressed.
Still hungry we were lured in by the "cheese plate" that was ridiculous. $14 for two tiny pieces each of St.Agur and some "Bulgarian sheeps cheese" that tasted basically like a generic Swiss. The "accompaniments" were tasteless and disappointing also: pickled mushrooms and onions,jam, all very weak.
OY. The best part if this restaurant is the ambiance and their musical duo. Otherwise, very overpriced and not worth the visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank FoodiesAnonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvey, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful meal on Saturday the 15th. Over the past 3 months I've been to Dijon 3-4 times and consider this restaurant a hidden gem.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Restaurant is easy to find we stayed in the Garden District of NOLA, we drove it was 1.8 miles from the hotel, wouldn't recommend using the streetcar. All the surrounding hotels offer cab service. The restaurant is a very classic remodel of an old fire house. I loved the setting. The music level was very nice, 5 of us dinning. Easily booked on Open Table. White linen table cloths add to the ambiance -that's a bugaboo for me, I think all upscale restaurants must use linen table cloths and napkins, they did. One would think that goes without saying, but not always the case. Our waiter seemed well informed of the wine list. The steaks were perfectly prepared and the pate' enjoyable. With all the choices in and around the Garden District this is a top choice. Business attire is appropriate.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CherylCrownRoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dijon also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing