We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oysters Galore! Three Nights in a Row!”

Samuel's Blind Pelican
Ranked #208 of 1,964 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Neighbourhood: Garden District
Galena, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Oysters Galore! Three Nights in a Row!”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

How may different ways can you serve an oyster? Who cares when the raw oysters are humungous and they only cost $3 a dozen during Happy Hour! (And Happy Hour runs from 4 to 8 PM every day!) We've been in New Orleans just three days, but after discovering the Blind Pelican the first night, we didn't even bother trying any of the other oyster joints (especially after we saw the $14+ per dozen prices!). The first night we enjoyed both the raw and the grilled, both outstanding. The next night, we had only the raw, but we added the grilled Gator Sausage to our menu. Lip-smackin' good! Tonight, we'll have the oysters again, but this time add the Fish Tacos. If you like oysters, this is the place, and the other menu items aren't bad either.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Milan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    205
    53
    37
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to hang Out”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

When we first arrived in New Orleans on a vacation to go to Jazz Fest, we discovered a restaurant a short walk from the Inn we were staying at. The Blind Pelican on a corner on St. Charles became are go to place to eat, have a drink and have fun. Everyone we met there, the owner Steve, the fun bartender, our favorite waiter Jimmy and all the other waitstaff were so nice to us. The food was great, and over the weekend they were making mounds of Crawfish. My husband ate 2 1/2 pounds of Crawfish with a piece of corn, hot sausage and potato. He also had charbroiled Oysters with garlic, Parmesan cheese and breading, that he said were so good. The Blind Pelican has great outside tables or inside eating, a great bar, it is a fun place to just hang out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nsbailey66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munroe Falls, Ohio, USA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Took 1-1/2 hours to get our meal”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We really enjoyed dining outside at the front of the building so we could watch everything going on at night. However, the service was so slow we were almost asleep by the time the food arrived an hour and a half after we sat down! Our server told us he and the other servers had been at work for over 12 hours. From where we sat, we could watch the servers smoking at the side of the building. So I'm not sure if the delay was in the kitchen, but the food certainly wasn't worth the wait.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a joke”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We tried lunch there on a Monday and was told that the kitchen was to disorganized to prepare food but we do have some chips and salsa. So we went with a drink and the chips only to find them 3x the normal price...what a rip-off.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dsmmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
“ADA not!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Surprised that a restaurant like this one does not have a ramp to get in. It really shows the owner arrogance. A good architect can design a ramp for the at a limited cost. Ashamed on you!!!!

Helpful?
Thank VincenzoPis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Samuel's Blind Pelican also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Samuel's Blind Pelican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing