We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location for music lovers!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elysian Fields Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Elysian Fields Inn
Ranked #6 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location for music lovers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We selected this place based on great reviews and proximity to music clubs on Frenchman Street and it was a great choice! Elysian Fields is about 4 blocks away from the clubs and about a 15 minute walk to the heart of the French Quarter. Leigh and Jim are friendly, warm hosts and gave us great tips for enjoying the city, starting with an informative email prior to our arrival. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    43
    3
    7
    1
See reviews for
33
219
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

The Inn located just beyond the French Quarter is a great place to stay -close enough to the city's attractions to walk everywhere- yet it is away from the crowds and noise so one is able to get a good night's sleep. The innkeepers are available yet unobtrusive. Breakfast on the weekend is a treat, weekdays not so much. The suite is gwell appointed and spacious. We will definitely return on our next trip to NOLA

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ggtrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shreveport, LA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

We loved our stay. The location was perfect to explore Frenchman Street (which we also loved). Our room was in the front and you could hear street noise, but not so much that it kept us awake. Book a room in the back if road noise would bother you. Breakfast was delicious both mornings. We got great advice on places to eat and visit. We spend two or three weekends a year in New Orleans. We have never stayed in this area. I believe it is the only place we will stay in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baepres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Elysian Fields Inn. This was the 1st time we had ever stayed at a bed and breakfast. It was very good in all respects. The Inn is historic, built in 1863, and immaculate. The owners, Jim and Leigh, are friendly and cook a wonderful hot breakfast. And the location is very convenient. It located 5 blocks from the French Quarter and Frenchman Street. We will definitely stay at the Elysian Fields Inn on our next trip to New Orleans.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room next to the street, so there was some street noise, but not excessive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

We stayed here last Easter for 1 week. They were fully booked during the French Quarter Music Festival, so we had to move elsewhere, There was large group of friends staying there at this time. We meet them our first night & they included us in their group. We really liked that we were close to the music scene on Frenchman st, it was only a 5 minute walk back to the B & B. it was a 5- 10 walk to the French Quarter. Our room was on the second floor, it was quiet, The house has 2 nice decks, one out front & one in the rear. The owners were good with allowing guests to keep wine. beer etc in the kitchen frig, we also kept cheese etc there, The breakfast/relaxation room was a good size with one computer for guests to use. We really like being close to Frenchman St and visited there most nights to take in the music. We stayed there one week, they didn't change the sheets after 3-4 nights, like we have seem at other hotels. Breakfast was a little disappointing, I am not a big eater but I found their breakfast on the smaller side. They provided danish on the counter to help fill you, I would rather see a more healthy option. At the end of the day I would stay there again if I was going to New Orleans.

Room Tip: the second room worked for us/
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

We spent 3 good nights in Jim and Leigh's Elysian Fields Inn, enjoying our comfortable room and the nice breakfast they cooked just for us (the breakfast was preceded, if we wanted, with fresh coffee and yummy treats from the next-door bakery). We simply left our car in the Inn's garage and walked all over the French Quarter, finding Jim and Leigh's advice on restaurants and current things to see in New Orleans was very helpful, and their maps too. Back at the Inn, it was great to be able to make myself a cup of tea and use the guests' computer for e-mail and even computer games!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claireliserosenfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

Great old house in a hip and up-and-coming district of NOLA (the Marigny). The room was nice and breakfast was tasty. The proprietors (Jim and Leigh) were awesome and super helpful! Also, Zeke, their giant dog is freakin' awesome!

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,208 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,892 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,071 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysian Fields Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysian Fields Inn

Property: Elysian Fields Inn
Address: 930 Elysian Fields Ave, Between North Rampart and Burgundy, New Orleans, LA 70117-8536
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elysian Fields Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eight newly renovated rooms & one suite. Each has private bath and most have Jacuzzi tubs. All rooms feature fine linens, digital cable flat screen TV, dataports, hairdryer and more. Located in the Historic Faubourg Marigny section of New Orleans and only 5 short blocks to the French Quarter and 2 blocks from the Frenchmen music district. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Elysian Fields Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysian Fields Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing