We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Wonderful”
Review of Elysian Fields Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elysian Fields Inn
Ranked #5 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
“Just Wonderful”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed in New Orleans for 4 days, wished it were for 4 weeks. The inn makes you feel like you are in the 1860's but modernized. Jim and Leigh are just wonderful. Their hospitality and friendliness make you feel like you are at home. They are located just minutes from the French Quarter, a perfect location. We will definitely be coming back to the Elysian Fields Inn on our next trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    44
    3
    7
    1
See reviews for
37
233
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We booked at Elysian Fields because we wanted to be a bit out of the fray of central N.O., and wanted somewhere homey and reasonably-priced, and we were very pleased. Driving down Elysian Fields Avenue, we were a little worried, the street is 4 lanes and a lot of the houses were dilapidated or closed and boarded up; the area looked pretty seedy and I thought "Oh no, what have I gotten us into?" But the Inn is just on the edge of (1-2 short blocks from) the tourist area proper and was really beautiful -- not fancified, just a great old house. We were met outside and our host took our car into the garage, our hostess is a music buff and used to run an art gallery, so she knew all about where to go to hear music and has hung the house with interesting pieces of art. She gave us good tips on where to eat and what would be possible to get into at that time on a Friday -- the house is just two blocks away from Frenchmen street, which is a little more sane and music-oriented than the main part of the French Quarter. You can catch the streetcar into the main part of N.O. at the end of Frenchmen street, it was an easy walk to the stop. Breakfast was great and it was indeed wonderful to come back in the afternoon to have a nap knowing you were in a neighborhood rather than in the zoo! Drawbacks were that we had a front room and the traffic did at times drive fast down the street, especially motorcycles; our friends had a room upstairs that did not have traffic noise but they said they were right next to the air conditioner, which went on and off all night. I think our hostess was a little frazzled on our second morning, which I can understand as everyone seemed to be down to breakfast at the same time (and I can't imagine giving the same information out about your town to new people every morning!) but unfortunately it made us a bit uncomfortable. All in all, however, it was a gem and we were very happy with our stay, and would definitely stay here the next time we visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittyCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Elysian Fields Inn for just two nights in mid-September - would have loved to stay longer! The location was great, just a few short blocks to be in the French Quarter. The room and public areas of the house are beautiful and the little "extras" like Aveda bath products and eye masks for daytime naps are awesome. And Leigh and Jim were wonderful hosts. I would highly recommend this B & B to anyone!

Room Tip: The upper story rooms were very quiet - no street, kitchen, or dining room noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We spent five nights at the perfectly-located Elysian Fields Inn in New Orleans. Located in a beautifully renovated home, the inn was a short walk to all the music venues of Frenchmen Street and the restaurants and shops of the French Quarter. Innkeepers Jim and Leigh Crawford were always available for recommendations on restaurants, sights and music venues. They also shared great stories about colorful New Orleans characters and musicians they counted as friends. Jim and Leigh clearly love this city. Our room was beautiful and we woke to a delicious breakfast every morning. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We had a large room on the lower level. Perfectly quiet and didn't require going up the long st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seattletripper12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goteed1
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Loved my stay here. As mentioned in previous reviews, hosts are friendly and extremely knowledgeable about the city, about music and history of New orleans.

I had a standard queen room and it more than did the trick. Both the room and bathroom were more "Hotel" quality than the usual guesthouse room. The property has some amazing history and has been kept very well.

Location is surprising very close to Frenchman street, a 5-10 minute walk and boom you're there. It's on a busy street which doesn't make the place very picturesque, but the neighborhood is a treasure of architecture, food and drink.

Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justneedreservations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Elysian Fields Inn is the place to stay if you want to experience New Orleans like an almost-local. Hosts Leigh and Jim are a treasure trove of knowledge about the music, art, food, and culture of New Orleans and they love to share it. The Inn is located in the charming Marigny neighborhood, a very short walk to the jazz clubs on Frenchman Street and about a 10 minute walk to the neighboring French Quarter. We have stayed in other parts of NOLA and chose this inn based on its location near Frenchman Street, but feel like we hit the jackpot with such delightful hosts.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaDAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Leigh ang Jim who own/run the hotel are just the sweetest people. The hotel is pet friendly, however the location is what sold it too us. So close to Frenchman Street, if you roll out of bed, you'll fall into a great jazz bar. Easy to get around the east of NOLA and the interstate, we're sure to return to Elysian Fields

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ImprovementNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 164 in New Orleans
7,299 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 164 in New Orleans
4,626 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 164 in New Orleans
5,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#3 of 164 in New Orleans
524 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#10 of 140 in New Orleans
174 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 140 in New Orleans
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysian Fields Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysian Fields Inn

Property: Elysian Fields Inn
Address: 930 Elysian Fields Ave, Between North Rampart and Burgundy, New Orleans, LA 70117-8536
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elysian Fields Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eight newly renovated rooms & one suite. Each has private bath and most have Jacuzzi tubs. All rooms feature fine linens, digital cable flat screen TV, dataports, hairdryer and more. Located in the Historic Faubourg Marigny section of New Orleans and only 5 short blocks to the French Quarter and 2 blocks from the Frenchmen music district. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Elysian Fields Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysian Fields Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing