We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location/price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Elysian Fields Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elysian Fields Inn
Ranked #5 of 137 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good location/price”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Elysian Fields met my expectations and is good location near French Quarter. You are only a few blocks walk to Frenchman St and Royal St where the main attractions are. Its a good deal to stay just a few blocks away from the quarter. Its worth saving a few dollars if you don't mind walking. My girlfriend and I felt comfortable walking from the French Quarter to the inn at night however be careful just a few blocks the other way it gets a little sketchy. The one night we decide to walk the way google maps wanted us to take to get to the super dome and it took us away from most of the crowds. Stick to Decatur/Frenchman when walking back and you'll be fine.

The room was good size, new and clean. However, the only exception was the doors. Our bathroom door had trouble closing because the door had become warped from the humidity.

Breakfast is served from 8am-10am and the meals where good. Met expectations. We had pancakes the first day and a casserole the second.

Parking is on street and can be tricky however there is a furniture store around the corner you can park in their lot when they are close. Which we did the first night and the second day there was plenty of street parking.

Hope this helps. Enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: Second floor is more private than first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    43
    3
    7
    1
See reviews for
35
224
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

My 2 daughters and I stayed in the suite (rm 101). The room was great, good breakfast, great location. Leigh was very helpful with info about NOLA & getting around. Would highly recommend and would stay here again. Was nice sitting on the porch chatting with other people staying here.

Helpful?
Thank Iris R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Elysian Fields Inn. We stayed for some time, and noticed that some of their guests come back year after year. Leigh and Jim, the owners and operators, take care of their visitors with delicious home-cooked breakfasts and good advice on where to go and what to do. They have lived on the premises for many years and their local knowledge is priceless. The Inn is spotlessly clean and charmingly decorated. The location is excellent, too, very close to Frenchman Street and easy safe walking throughout the French Quarter and Marigny. There is a nice front porch where you can sit outside and watch the world go by on Elysian Fields.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frozentoes2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fly Creek, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This Inn (B & B) is the best bargain in New Orleans. The Inn is immaculately clean. The innkeepers, Leigh & Jim, are the friendliest folks we've met at a B & B. They truly know all about 'southern hospitality'. The breakfasts were excellent. The room was comfortable and the bathroom clean and perfect. The charm of this inn is just what we wanted for a New Orleans experience. It is located just two or three blocks from Frenchman Street where all the jazz music and fun places to eat and enjoy an evening out can be had. Great place! We will return on our next trip to New Orleans. (This was our first trip. It is a vibrant and fun city!)

Room Tip: We had a room on the first level. It saved us from walking up the stairs. It was quiet and comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

WOW! Leigh and Jim are really passionate about their B&B, and it clearly shows.

They don't have a front desk where they extract credit cards for incidentals along with photo ID. Instead, you are invited to the rear of the building, warmly greeted, given the room key and receipt and then given a map of N.O. along with loads of hints and tips of where to go, eat, drink, etc. Leigh even kindly offered to book us up for some tours, etc. as well.

After our welcome and introduction, Jim escorted us up to the room. It (like the rest of the B&B for that matter) was spotlessly clean. And the size! Honestly, the pictures on the website don't do it any justice! It was really spacious and nicely laid out. The furniture had real character and matched the room perfectly. The bed was extremely comfortable. Complimentary ear plugs and eye masks were provided, but we didn't really have any problems with noise or light. There was a TV, DVD and radio available within the room. Several bottles of complimentary water along with drinking glasses were also provided. There was no coffee machine or fridge/micro in the room, but all was available downstairs in the kitchen, including an ice machine. Wifi worked perfectly and was quite fast.

The bathroom was good too. The shower was spacious, and had good pressure and excellent temperature stability. There was a nice selection of high quality soaps and shampoos available too.

The whole property is fully air conditioned.

Breakfast was to die for! There is the option of hot & cold. We opted for the hot both times, which was always cooked fresh. The first day was a delicious vegetable frittata, with toast on the side. The second day was bacon & eggs with toast. Jam was available on both days too. For drinks, there was fruit juice, coffee and a rather impressive selection of approximately 12 teas. Fresh local pastries are also on offer.

There are 2 dogs living in the property, although they are only out in the morning - and the kitchen is strictly out of bounds to them. There is Louie the playful puppy, and Zeke the largest but softest dog you could ever wish to see.

The location is perfect with Bourbon St & the rest of NOLA within approximately 15 mins walk. Parking wasn't an issue, we left the car in the street directly outside the B&B and had no problems.


In summary, this is a lovely, well kept B&B owned and operated by a very sociable and easy going couple. It's a shame we only had 2 days in NOLA this trip, but when we return, we'll be heading straight here. Highly recommended.

Two happy Limeys on an epic roadtrip. :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This was my 3rd B&B. It definitely has a homey feeling. Nice place to relax from the hubbub of NO.
Our host was accommodating - check out time was 10am or 11am and our flight was not till 6pm that evening; they were gracious enough to let us leave our luggage in a spare room until we were ready to leave for the airport.
P.S. Their coffee was worthy of a 2nd cup.
The only reason why I rate it average was because it was not 'grand' which then i would rate as excellent, I rated it average b/c it was average, and by NO MEANS is that a bad thing. Yes, I would stay here again. Yes, I recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
innkeeperNewOrleans, Owner at Elysian Fields Inn, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
I thank this guest for saying she would stay with us again and would recommend the Inn to others especially since her visit with us was for less than 24 hours. I do however have to take issue with the word "Average" as used to describe the Inn. No the Inn is not a Grand Victorian Mansion with velvet draperies, elaborately carved furniture and brocade settees...It is however a 150 year old Center Hall Creole Cottage with soaring 14 to 17 feet high ceilings, crown moldings a foot deep, large comfortable porches, light filled public spaces that are hung with a diverse collection of New Orleans centric art and memorabilia, clean comfortable and tastefully decorated guest rooms all with ensuite baths and two hosts that are honored to share their love of New Orleans’ history, culture, food and music with their guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We enjoy the live music venues and overall experience in the Frenchmen St. area much more than touristy Bourbon St. (too much karaoke and cover bands). This B&B is perfect for us as it is only a short walk to Frenchmen St. It is located just east of the French Quarter, though, if that's what you like. It is certainly walkable but a cab ride all of the way across the Quarter to Canal St. on the western side is only about $8. or so + tip.

The inn is very clean and decorated with a truely wonderful collection of artwork, books, and movies. Innkeepers Leigh & Jim were extremely friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. The room we had, 103, was very nice, quiet, and comfortable. It had two twin beds that were pushed together to make a king, though we could not tell while in it.

The breakfasts were delicious and perfect for us as we are late risers, whenever we visit New Orleans, and just need something to get us started and through to lunch. Don't miss the fresh pastries from the neighborhood bakery!

We showed the Elysian Fields Inn to some friends who were in town and they were equally impressed. We will definitely try to stay there the next time we visit New Orleans! A++++

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fginter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4,301 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
6,903 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 161 in New Orleans
5,226 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 161 in New Orleans
489 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 137 in New Orleans
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysian Fields Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysian Fields Inn

Property: Elysian Fields Inn
Address: 930 Elysian Fields Ave, Between North Rampart and Burgundy, New Orleans, LA 70117-8536
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elysian Fields Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eight newly renovated rooms & one suite. Each has private bath and most have Jacuzzi tubs. All rooms feature fine linens, digital cable flat screen TV, dataports, hairdryer and more. Located in the Historic Faubourg Marigny section of New Orleans and only 5 short blocks to the French Quarter and 2 blocks from the Frenchmen music district. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elysian Fields Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysian Fields Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing