We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect every way!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elysian Fields Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elysian Fields Inn
Ranked #6 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect every way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2005

This inn is quite a rare find....so close to the Quarter yet in a quiet location, close to everything. Sal and Gregg were great. Like a previous reviewer said, they were friendly (particularly Sal) and helpful without being suffocating. Perfect hosts! The inn itself was beautiful....large rooms with high ceilings, big bathroom...free internet (nice touch). The best part was breakfast - absolutely delectable, and something different every day. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in New Orleans.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tommyd1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    43
    3
    7
    1
See reviews for
33
219
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2005

We did quite a bit of research on tripadviosr before booking our stay here. We couldn't have made a better choice! Eveything was wonderful!

Sal and Greg were great hosts. They were immediatley available when we needed them, but wern't in the way. Sal had great suggestions for replanning our activities (my boyfriend broke his toe the 2nd day of our trip so it limited the amount of walking he could do). He went out of his way to make us comfortable and we really appreciated it. Greg prepared the greatest breakfasts (I think Greg did the cooking?). We miss the breakfast! It was a great way to start a looong day/night in New Orleans.

The rooms and entire Inn were exactly as described. It was vintage, but without all the Victorian fru-fru a lot of B&B's have. A very clean design we both loved. The updated ammenities were a great plus that most B&B's don't have. The whirlpool tub was a nice place to relax after a long day and the Aveda products just added to that! Ear plugs and masks were provided, but not needed. We slept like a baby in our comfy bed! Sal and Greg provided lots of extras like DVD's, books, internet...but we were too busy to use them. It would have been a great benefit if we planned more time to relax.

The garage was a great option to store our car. All we had to do was let Sal or Greg know we were ready to take it and they pulled it up to the front door for us within 5 minutes. A great service! When we didn't drive it was only about a 10 to 15 minute walk to the edge of the French Quarter. The clubs/restaurants on Frenchmen street were only a 5 min. walk away. The busses and shuttles are only a block away and streetcar access from Elysian Fields Ave. was close as well. Sal said a Taxi to the French Quarter was only $4-5 also. There were many transportation options available!

Overall we were very happy with our entire stay. There were some nights though that we would have liked to transplant the Inn to Bourbon St.! After drinking until late at night it seemed like a long walk back to the Inn from Bourbon! We could have called a Taxi, but we were triying to save the money for other things. We also thought there would be a lot of people on the streets at all hours. There were a couple of night were we headed back about midnight and there were very few people between the edge of Bourbon and Frenchmen & then Frenchmen and the Inn. It was a little creepy, but we just walked as fast as we could and kept our eyes open. We never had any problems though.

We would both recommend Elysian Fields Inn to anybody staying in New Orleans. We would absolutely stay here again (unless we get a patio room off Bourbon so we can throw beads and people watch!). We had a blast and this Inn was the perfect compliment to our stay!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jen_rose23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2005

I had pretty much sworn off BnBs after too many bad experiences, but the reviews and recommendations for Elysian Fields convinced me to give it a try. Boy, was it worth it!

My typical BnB complaints are: too noisy, lack of privacy, and an overly fussy atmosphere of Laura Ashley Victoriana gone amok. Elysian Fields deftly sidesteps all of these pitfalls. It's close to the Quarter but removed enough to be very peaceful and quiet. I slept like a charm without using the ear plugs and eyemask thoughtfully provided at bedside. You schedule your own breakfast instead of eating en masse, so I was able to leisurely have coffee, newspaper, and breakfast on the back porch in peace and quiet. The house is lovely and tasteful without being excessive.

Details made the stay perfect: free wireless internet, jacuzzi tub in-room, Aveda toiletries, beer in the fridge, grocery store and a fun bar right across the street.

Sal and Greg are wonderful: attentive without breathing down your neck, friendly without suffocating you. I was in town for a writers conference and they took the time to tell me who else from the conference was staying there, and where the conference events were located.

I can't recommend this place enough! I have no question where I'll stay on future trips to New Orleans.

  • Stayed May 2005, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank dtraversscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, HI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2005

My new hubbie and I stayed here in early Feb 2005 (the weekend before Mardi Gras) and had the most FABULOUS time. Seriously, I almost hate to let this place get out for fear that I’ll never be able to book a room again!

For both of us it was our first time staying at a B&B and we weren’t sure what to expect. I think our standards will be set very high for any we might visit in the future!

The hosts, Gregg & Sal, were absolutely wonderful. They were as nice and helpful and they could possibly be. Breakfast was waaay beyond our expectations (as was everything). Our room was small (we had #102) but extremely clean, comfortable, and nicely furnished. The common area was very large and, although we didn’t have a chance to take advantage of everything, I loved that they had a computer with internet, books, dvds, and a full kitchen available for guests use. I was also happy that they had a secured parking garage for our rental car (the only downside was that we had to ask them to get it out for us, so we didn’t bother to use the car).

The atmosphere of the whole inn was, well, it’s hard to describe. Inviting. Cozy. “Pleasant” isn’t a strong enough word. It’s almost like staying with your sweet grandparents in the country, only there’s no smell of old people - Greg & Sal are pretty young and hip, and the French Quarter is hardly the country. But hopefully you get my gist!

The ONLY thing I might have changed was the location. Since we were there during the time of all the Mardi Gras parades, it was a little inconvenient to walk the mile or so one-way to get to Canal Street (where the parades routes were). Plus it was a little creepy walking back from the French Quarter at night. We heard there were always lots of people around, even late into the night so you didn’t have to worry – not true for us. We didn’t stay out very late (maybe midnight at the latest) and some nights there was no one around when we were walking home. It was a little spooky, but nobody ever bothered us. Also, once we made a wrong turn walking back to the inn and ended up slightly lost in a bad part of town. Luckily it wasn’t dark yet and we found our way back shortly.

That being said, there are advantages to staying a little outside of the French Quarter. It’s probably quieter, easier to access by car, and the price was such a terrific value (most hotels in the quarter cost more and aren’t nearly as nice).

If you’re reading this, thank you Sal & Gregg for such a wonderful first trip to New Orleans! We’ll definitely be back to see you someday. =)

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzanne55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
la garde
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2005

Everything was perfect!!!!!!!!

Sal and Geg were wonderful hosts and the rooms are marvelous.
Thank you

OLIVER ROGER Family FRANCE

Stayed April 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank laurence83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagrange ga
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2005

The innkeepers ar wonderful and very helpful. The best kept inn i have ever visted

  • Stayed January 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2005

Four of us stayed at the Elysian Fields Inn from 3/16-3/22/05. I can't say enough about how great it was staying at this inn! Here's the run down:

Location: While the Inn is not in the heart of the French Quarter – Elysian Fields Ave is about 10-15 minutes walk from the edge of the Quarter in the Faubourg Marigny neighborhood – the surrounding blocks offer excellent restaurants and many outstanding jazz clubs. The Inn is right on the bus line and within a quick cab ride from the heart of the Quarter and the major Canal and St. Charles streetcar lines.

Facilities: The Inn's website does a great job of outlining the accommodations – what you see on the site is what you get (which is obviously good). The Inn was essentially gutted and rebuilt, with most of the niceties of a new hotel built right in. Beds were comfortable, rooms were amply sized, and the whirlpool bathtub in our bathroom was nice to have after a long day of walking the city. Even with all rooms filled, the Inn was very quiet at all times with minimal street noise. The Inn features a comfortable combination great room/breakfast room off the main entry – a great spot to enjoy a cup of fresh coffee and the day’s newspaper. There is a well-furnished kitchen for use by guests – handy if you want to cook a few of your own meals during your stay.

Staff: The owners – Sal and Gregg – are extremely attentive and are a pleasure to work with. For a small operation, the Inn runs very smoothly. Both were great at providing suggestions for good restaurants, tours, and city info, and were very responsive to requests during our stay.

Breakfast: This was a big value add for us – New Orleans is not a breakfast-friendly city for early risers. Each day offered a slightly different menu (2 out of 3 items changed daily) that we selected from each morning by phoning down the order to Sal/Gregg. This might sound odd, but it worked well – we ordered breakfast with a 20 minute lead time which was perfect for getting our freshly-prepared breakfast while still hot/cold, served to us in the breakfast room. The food was excellent every morning – no lame “continental” breakfast here!

Overall: I’ve stayed in New Orleans on four previous occasions – half in small B&Bs, half in major hotels. The Elysian Fields Inn is by far the best establishment I’ve stayed in to date and I will be back on my next visit. I recommend the Elysian Fields Inn without reservation.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,203 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,877 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,065 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysian Fields Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysian Fields Inn

Property: Elysian Fields Inn
Address: 930 Elysian Fields Ave, Between North Rampart and Burgundy, New Orleans, LA 70117-8536
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elysian Fields Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eight newly renovated rooms & one suite. Each has private bath and most have Jacuzzi tubs. All rooms feature fine linens, digital cable flat screen TV, dataports, hairdryer and more. Located in the Historic Faubourg Marigny section of New Orleans and only 5 short blocks to the French Quarter and 2 blocks from the Frenchmen music district. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Elysian Fields Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysian Fields Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing