We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Elysian Fields Inn is a jewel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elysian Fields Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elysian Fields Inn
Ranked #7 of 139 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Williamsburg, VA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Elysian Fields Inn is a jewel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2007

After years of staying with the crowds in large chain hotels on and near Canal Street during Jazz Fest, getting increasingly unpredictable service for increasingly high room rates, I decided to look for an alternative.
I began a search for a bed and breakfast, in spite of my husband's unfounded B&B phobia. Fortunately we discovered the Elysian Fields Inn! The hosts, Jim and Leigh, have everything arranged to help you enjoy a terrific New Orleans vacation, whether you are new to the city or old-timers like us. They are very knowledgeable about the music, food and arts culture of New Orleans, and love to share stories and recommendations for great places to eat and listen to music. The house is set up like a small private hotel, with comfortable, beautiful and simply decorated rooms. Much to my skeptical husband's relief, all rooms have private baths and there is not a hint the lacy, ruffly Victorian decor he imagined. Jim and Leigh greet you at the door, get you settled in your room, and then you are free to make yourself at home in the Inn and in New Orleans. In the mornings, coffee and pastries are set out for the early morning people. Hot breakfast is served for several hours (until about 10 a.m.) so you can choose to sleep in a bit and still enjoy a delicious meal and the morning paper at one of the small dining tables in the common area. There are front and back porches available for relaxing too. And you don't have to venture far from the Inn for a great day or evening out. The Inn is in the Faubourg Marigny, only four blocks from the French Quarter and two blocks from Frenchman Street. Frenchman Street is a very popular area for local music, especially jazz, and has numerous small, lively clubs as well as plenty of restaurants. We have already booked our room at Elysian Fields Inn for Jazz Fest 2008 and can't wait!

  • Liked — Location (near the action but on a quiet block), and terrific hosts.
  • Disliked — Elysian Fields Avenue can be a bit noisy with traffic.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Back Home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    43
    3
    7
    1
See reviews for
33
215
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2007

I stayed at the Elysian Fields Inn during the French Quarter Festivals of 2006 and 2007 (Mid-April). I highly recommend both the Elysian Fields Inn and the French Quarter Festival. In 2006, I was in a room on the main level at the front of the inn, facing Elysian Fields Avenue. The room was clean and charming and reasonably quiet, considering that it fronted a major (but not terribly busy) thoroughfare. The building is a lovely old Creole Bungalow that was lifted a story at some point in it's history. It doesn't have double -glazed windows like a Marriott, so it's unreasonable to expect perfect soundproofing. In any case, I slept very well. The queen bed was very comfortable, and the air-conditioning, towels, Aveda toiletries, cable TV, and other amenities were all super, and a great value for $99 a night (in 2006) during a festival. The breakfasts were good. The eggs, fruit, breakfast meats, and pastries were fresh and the coffee (Mello Joy) is outstanding. Expecting gourmet like one would get someplace costing 3 to 10 times as much in, say, Provence, France; or Monterey, California, is foolish and unreasonable. Simple, good, and fresh (like the Ponchitoulas strawberries which they served in abundance) is what you get at the Elysian Fields Inn. The owners Jim and Leigh Crawford, are delightful people, and, although not native to New Orleans. might as well be with their love of the culture and their immediate participation in community life. They took over the Inn two weeks before Katrina hit and have been running the 10-room Inn by themselves ever since.
In 2007, my wife and I stayed in Room 106, a larger room with a king bed, adjacent to the common room/breakfast area. Again, it was clean, comfortable, charming, and reasonably quiet. As an additional, and quite thoughtful amenity, we were provided with foam earplugs in case the breakfast conversation of early rising guests disturbed our sleep. Again, It's an old house, not a concrete and steel skyscraper with soundproofed steel doors, double-glazed aluminum windows, electronic key cards, and all the charm of a casino. If you want to stay someplace where the living (and parking) is easy, your hosts are friendly and entirely hip to the city (the music, the restaurants, the parades, the Mardi Gras Indians, the crawfish boils...), and clean, quiet, comfortable, and charming are your criteria, than this is the place for you.
P.S. A word on the location. The Elysian Fields Inn is in the Faubourg Marigny, a historic district adjacent to the French Quarter. It is also adjacent to the Bywater, St. Roch, St. Claude, Seventh Ward, and Treme neighborhoods. The Marigny has always been a mixed bag of dockworkers, shopkeepers, young families, and some old Creole money. Lately it's become more gentrified, with retirees, second-homers, artists, and gay couples making it somewhat trendier, but it's still funkier and less affluent than the French Quarter or Garden District. It is NOT a "bad neighborhood", nor is it so close to bad neighborhoods that the dangerous areas cannot be easily avoided. Don't go driving or walking around in unfamiliar areas "Bonfire off the Vanities" style and you'll be fine. All of the adjacent neighborhoods mentioned above are a mixed bag block-by-block, from entirely gentrified to downright poor, and the farther east and north you go, the harder they were hit by the storm. If you're expecting Laguna Beach or Santa Fe, you're sure to be disappointed (and maybe suffering from xenophobia-induced anxiety). If you're expecting the northernmost Caribbean city, or the funkiness of Williamsburg, Brooklyn with Louisiana charm and magic, well, yeah, you right!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — I liked everything about it.
  • Stayed April 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank munchello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, TN
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2007

If you're someone that likes everything pristine and glossy like a hotel, this is NOT the place for you. If you want a true taste of what New Orleans is really like, the Elysian Fields Inn is a wonderful place to stay and relax.

Jim & Leigh made us feel welcome, like good friends you've come to visit. The location may seem a little strange, especially if you're accustomed to staying in the Quarter, but it's most definitely a neighborhood with real people. Frenchman's St. is only a couple of blocks away with great music and food. From there, you can cross Esplanade to Decautur and be in the Quarter in 5-10 minutes. We walked pretty much everywhere we went when we didn't take the River Front Street Car at the end of Esplanade, and never felt nervous about the area. We were there over a weekend when it was not busy, so it was a good time to judge what the area is really like.

Although breakfast wasn't gourmet, it was always tasty and filling. Personally, I prefer uncomplicated breakfasts in NO so I can enjoy the wonderful food elsewhere, of which there is plenty.

Our room was neat, clean and comfortable even though it was one of the smaller ones. My favorite parts of the Inn were the front and back porches where you can come back after walking all day and relax for a bit with a good book or conversation before getting ready to go out for the evening. And of course Zeke, the live-in loveable pooch.

People need to remember that NO is still rebuilding, including the Faubourg Marigny where the Inn is located. New Orleans wouldn't be right if everything were bright, shiny and new. It's a city with atmosphere, that almost has a heartbeat of its own. If you like clean and sterile, stay at a chain hotel. If you want to feel like you belong, this is a great place to visit.

  • Liked — Quite area of town, welcoming owners, great evening activities close by.
  • Disliked — Nothing. Everything was nice.
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank candiintenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2007

We have stayed at Elysian Fields several times since Katrina. Each time it just gets better. The inn is nicely furnished, the atmosphere inviting, and the inn keepers, Leigh and Jim, extermely nice.

The location, while next to a neighborhood that was devestated by Katrina is excellent (that neighborhood is being rebuilt but facelifts take time). It is is quiet and a short walk to Frenchman's St where you can listen to all sorts of great music and find wonderful resturants. And a we would walk all over the French Quarter and too the aquarium from there too.

Each morning we were greeted by the innkeepers and treated to a home cooked meal. This isn't something like a hotel but more like home. My husband especially liked the pastries and I'll admit the cinnamon buns were great.

Staying at Elysian Fields Inn wasn't like staying at hotel but more like visiting friends. We always feel welcome and know that any question we have will be answered. There may be a few rough spots but it takes time to clean up and recover from something like Katrina. No matter what, this is the only place we want to stay when we go to New Orleans.

  • Liked — The inn keepers
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Diat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2007

I had read such wonderful reviews I expected to find 4 Diamond quality. It really wasn't there. When planning another trip to New Orleans I'd book elsewhere.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank elsiemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2007

We were impressed by the reviews of other travelers and the fact that Elysian Fields was a AAA four diamond B&B. We travel quite a bit and we've never gone wrong with a AAA rating. Except this time! Apparently the Inn received this designation before being sold to the current owners. They were pleasant enough and informative regarding the local sights, however they missed the mark in several areas. First was the location...the website shows a beautifully lit and cozy looking inn. What it does not show is the very close proximity to a very bad area. Also, the inn could use some upkeep. The front porch was very dirty and the welcome mat old and filthy. Ash trays full of cigarette butts on the porch...hanging flower baskets that needed attention. The place would benefit from a coat of paint and a front door refinishing. Not big things, but not what we would expect from a four diamond inn. We were also unhappy with the breakfasts that we were served. Day one we were given two waffles with two pieces of bacon...day two consisted of a choice of eggs and a sausage or yogurt with grapefruit mixed in. We have stayed in a lot of B&B's and this was probably the worst breakfast that we've experienced so far. All in all, Elysian Fields Inn may be OK for some, but the next time we're in New Orleans it'll be the Marriott for us!

  • Liked — Inexpensive
  • Disliked — Location and Breakfast
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank freddycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport News, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2007

I stayed at the Elysian Fields Inn in Dec '04/Jan '05 (before Katrina). All I can say is that the place is excellent. Expertly remodeled with a knowledgeable and friendly staff. They're right along the Airport shuttle routes, and the property is just outside of the French Quarter. May date and I stayed in their apartment suite and it was fabulous. It had dvd/vcr players, a very nice clean and newly remodeled bathroom, hardwood floors, a huge bed, and a door that could be used to separate the bedroom area from the living room area (which contained its own couch and coffee table).

Breakfast in the common area was superb, the hosts were friendly and they even supply you maps to the different attractions. I cannot say enough about how welcoming they were. This is the review I should have written long ago, but I can safely say that I don't think I'd even consider staying anywhere else in New Orleans.

The building is older, but expertly remodeled. The operators are friendly, knowledgeable, and very accomodating. Of all my b&b experiences, I would rate this one the highest. After a late night spent at the famous Cafe Du Monde, the Elysian Fields Inn is a GREAT place to retire to. I highly recommend it.

  • Liked — Beautiful Room, very secure, great welcoming hosts
  • Disliked — There wasn't anything that I didn't like about this accomodation
  • Stayed December 2004, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vision67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,657 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,062 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,605 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysian Fields Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysian Fields Inn

Property: Elysian Fields Inn
Address: 930 Elysian Fields Ave, Between North Rampart and Burgundy, New Orleans, LA 70117-8536
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elysian Fields Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eight newly renovated rooms & one suite. Each has private bath and most have Jacuzzi tubs. All rooms feature fine linens, digital cable flat screen TV, dataports, hairdryer and more. Located in the Historic Faubourg Marigny section of New Orleans and only 5 short blocks to the French Quarter and 2 blocks from the Frenchmen music district. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Elysian Fields Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysian Fields Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing