We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Larry and Brent were fantastic hosts last weekend. The hospitality and cleanliness were very welcome after our flight in from Philly. The bed in the large suite was very comfortable. Very accessible to the trolley. Great restaurants in the neighborhood. WE felt very safe and warm during that cold spell last weekend. I also loves the courtyard out back-great for a cigar and a beer. Brent made outstanding meals every morning. Prices reasonable. Will return here on my next visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in the large suite
See more room tips
Green Features: reuse towels, recycled beer cans, all good. The proximity of the street trolley was great
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bill o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Bill,
Thank you for the very nice review. We really enjoyed having you guys stay with us. Sorry the weather was so cold.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    895
    45
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
112
395
33
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This was my first time staying at a B&B and I could not have been happier. The house was beautiful and the guest room was even better. Larry and Brent were great hosts. The breakfasts were delicious and the conversation was informative. Larry can talk (in a good way).
The streetcar was right outside the door and couldn't have been more convenient. Larry set up a tour of the city for us and it was informative and entertaining. I will definitely be back to New Orleans (hopefully in warmer weather) and will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mumsie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
I did enjoy chatting with you guys. We really enjoyed having you guys stay with us. Thank you for the review and please come stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greeley, CO
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

My husband I stayed here on Anniversary trip before going on a 7 day cruise. Our stay was perfect from start to finish. Brent was an amazing host . After meeting him, we felt like we had known him for years. He recommended a place to eat for us after we arrived starving, and we liked it a lot.
Our room, the Colonel Parker, was lovely and clean. It was very quiet and cozy. The coffee and breakfasts were delicious. It is a short walk to streetcar, and there are also some places to eat within walking distance if you don't want to go downtown . It was the perfect place to start our long getaway. We hope to return one day. Word of advice, if you take a cab from the airport, make sure they understand "Pierce St" so they don't take you to Peters St.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank broexa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for the reminder to our guests about how important it is to print the directions. We hope you enjoyed your stay and your cruise on your visit. We would love to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Ridge, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This was our first stay at a B & B and it pretty much was all we had hoped for. A two minute walk to the streetcar made it an ideal location. Our room was the O'Malley Suite and it lwas even better than what the website photos could portray. The bed was very luxurious and comfortable. Larry, you have a beautiful house and the décor is superb. Brent, we loved the breakfasts and all the guidance you gave us for our first trip to New Orleans. Your family stories were hilarious - we still say you should write a book! Larry you should continue the gag about the missing item Porter (the dog) found, lol. Also thanks for returning our lost car keys. If and when we return to NOLA we will be knocking on your front door. This is a trip we will be talking about for a long time. Harry & Jeannine T. --- British Columbia

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
I so glad you guys enjoyed your visit with us. I was so concerned when we found your keys still in the room knowing you would not be able to drive your car home or even get into your home when you arrived. Happy things worked out. Thank you very much for your stay and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

I highly recommend staying at the O'Malley House when you visit NOLA. I have been a repeat guest for several years and each time I visit, Larry and his manager Brent exceed my every expectations.

The reasons we come back year after year is the excellent customer service, the exquisitely decorated and maintained accommodations, and the delicious breakfasts.

The location is perfect. They are centrally located, so you can explore all of New Orleans. You can be in the heart of the quarter in minutes, but also a short taxi ride to the great shops and restaurants of Uptown. We have been visiting New Orleans for many years and after we discovered how wonderful a stay at the O'Malley is, we haven't stayed anywhere else. It is the best boutique hotel/ bed and breakfast in the area.

The accommodations are 5 star! The rooms are updated and charming. They are spacious and extremely well maintained. Each day the housekeepers refreshed the room and it was sparkling after they left. The mattresses were so comfortable. If it wasn't for the delicious morning breakfast Brent prepares, it would be hard to want to leave the room in the morning. He serves the the best biscuits and muffins!

Larry has decorated the house beautifully. It is comfortable and the antiques he has through out the house are amazing. It has a boutique hotel feel with the charm of an Inn.

The other reason for coming back is the folks that manage and own the Inn. They are attentive, knowledgable, and I look forward to chatting with them each day. They helped us choose great restaurants. Each one was excellent. They are extremely knowledgable about the local cuisine and they personally helped us select the best places to dine for lunch and dinner. They even helped us find a great coffee shop off the beaten path. We felt like we uncovered hidden gems that the you might not discover if you didn't have their help.

They take the time to understand what you are interested in doing and make suggestions based on your needs. They made our trip to NOLA amazing. If you have opportunity to stay at the O'Malley House, I would highly recommend you do!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jalex75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
We can't tell you how much we have enjoyed your stays with us over the years. Thank you for your wonderful review and we look forward to many more visits in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Larry and Brent were fabulous hosts with a wealth of knowledge of the city, restaurants, activities, and history. The breakfasts were relaxing and extremely delicious with great conversation with our hosts. I loved the high bed and our room was beautiful. It was so convenient to the streetcar line which was the best way to travel. It was our first trip to New Orleans and the suggestions by Larry were greatly appreciated. The house itself is stunning and so very clean. We will definitely be back to this fascinating city and look forward to staying at the O'Malley house again. I highly recommend this B&B.
Nancy

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyR222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Nancy,
Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I can't wait to go back, the 1896 0'Malley is a sophisticated B & B. The rooms decor and service stands alone. Larry and Brent were a pleasure. We had a warm welcome and amazing stay , I really will never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dianne,
It was great hosting you guys on your visit to New Orleans. I hope you guys have a great time in Mississippi and a safe trip back to New York. We can't wait to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 164 in New Orleans
4,368 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 164 in New Orleans
5,843 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 140 in New Orleans
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 140 in New Orleans
480 reviews
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 140 in New Orleans
934 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast

Property: 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 120 S Pierce St, New Orleans, LA 70119-6033
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1896 O’Malley House Bed & Breakfast is located in historic Mid-City New Orleans. We are just a 10 to 15 minute STREETCAR RIDE DOWN CANAL ST. to the French Quarter and Convention Center. The Colonial Revival residence is nestled in a neighborhood that boasts great food, music and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1896 o`Malley House Hotel New Orleans
1896 o`Malley House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing