We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Vacay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The owner and manager were very helpful and accommodating. The house was immaculate and extremely clean. Breakfast was different each morning and had an artistic touch to each plate. The hosts were always available for advise on what to do and where to eat in NOLA. The courtyard is a great place to relax after a busy day of sightseeing. Free beer and wine was a nice touch for a quiet, relaxing night. My partner and I will absolutely be returning here later this year!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank decljust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for the very nice review. It was great chatting with you in the courtyard and I am happy you made good use of it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (955)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 955 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

We just enjoyed a wonderful stay at the 1896 O'Malley House, truly a 5-star establishment. We would recommend it to everyone. --We are a family of four, our children are both young adults who loved O'Malley House as much as we did.

Getting to stay overnight in one of New Orleans' architectural gems was a real treat -- made all the better by the attention to detail the proprietor Larry has given to the restoration, decoration, and upkeep of this magnificent home. The beds were firm, linens clean and plentiful, the decor so tasteful, and beverages available 24/7! Breakfast was always on time, fresh, beautifully presented and served on china in the formal dining room. Each morning we enjoyed the company of the guests while eating breakfast, and spent most of that time laughing. A great start to the day.

The location of the O'Malley House was perfect for us. It was centrally located to everywhere we explored and was only one block to the charming (and very reasonable) street car, which we used to go to the French Quarter a number of times. Though I could continue longer, I want to acknowledge the house manager, Brent, who makes you feel so welcomed, upon your arrival gives you a good introduction/tour of the house, and is very helpful in making sightseeing and meal arrangements. Kudos and thanks Larry and Brent for your Southern Hospitality.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were spacious and elegantly appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HPExplorers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

You guys were a blast to have as guest and we would love to host you on your next trip. Thank you so much for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Thank you Larry and Brent - We had such a great time during Mardi Gras! ! Your house is beautiful and your breakfasts were the best~We met such nice people there and made some new friends also. Hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Mardi Gras is a great time to visit the city but you should come back and see the real New Orleans sometime. Thank you so much for your very nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

My friend and I stayed at O'Malley house for five nights and thoroughly enjoyed not only the accommodations, but the breakfast and helpful insights provided by Larry and Brent. It was a totally enjoyable experience. Quiet neighborhood, yet a block from the Canal Street trolley line and close a block for a Walgreens and close to groceries, good restaurants, etc. Perfect choice for those who choose not to stay in the hubbub of the French Quarter or Warehouse district. Highly, highly recommend!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kohlofsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you for your review. Stay warn up there, Spring is coming soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at O'Malley House for 5 days over Mardi Gras. It was a wonderful experience! The house is gorgeous, clean, spacious, and surprisingly quite considering the B&B was full :). The breakfast's were all delicious, free wine and beer were provided. We meet great people, and Brent (the manager) & Larry (the owner) were more than gracious hosts! Brent went above and beyond to help us when needed, and also helped us arrange our tours. Everything and more that you could want in the City of New Orleans is close by - including easy access to the trolley which is just across the street on Canal. There is something so special about this bed and breakfast that you need to experience for yourself! I encourage and recommend this B&B to anyone who looking for an authentic experience in NOLA. We will definitely go back again!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you so much for you visit and the great review. Please come back soon for another visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Lovely B&B. Beautiful house, beautiful rooms; quiet; updated modern bathroom and shower! Larry is a terrific host - joined us for breakfast both mornings - loved the story about his Golden Retriever at the coffee shop in Texas! Brent is a terrific cook and host as well - great omelets and eggs Benedict. Look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you so much for you visit and the great review. Please come back soon for another visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My husband and I visit New Orleans often, as we live nearby and he is Tulane alumni. Of all our years vacationing The Big Easy this was our most enjoyable stay! Being frequent travelers we often utilize hotel rewards and never considered a B&B. This stay, however, we went with a friend's recommendation and booked the O'Malley House. The owner and staff were very hospitable, the house was gorgeous and tastefully adorned with beautiful Victorian style decor, the rooms were clean, (each having a private bath), breakfast was delicious, complimentary wine, beer and snacks are offered 24/7, the list goes on. The home is located in a great part of town with a low crime rate. Free wi-fi and parking is included (average parking at most New Orleans' hotels is $40). No need to drive or rent a car as the street car line runs right in front of the house as well! We have no complaints and will most definitely return!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are spacious with a private bath. The "Cooney", room 5, located on the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandy3lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

It was really great meeting you guys and we are looking forward to knowing you much better. We will come over and meet for lunch in Ocean Springs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 142 in New Orleans
769 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 142 in New Orleans
502 reviews
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 142 in New Orleans
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Garden District
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Sully Mansion Bed and Breakfast
#17 of 142 in New Orleans
685 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 120 S Pierce St, New Orleans, LA 70119-6033
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £105 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1896 O’Malley House Bed & Breakfast is located in historic Mid-City New Orleans. We are just a 10 to 15 minute STREETCAR RIDE DOWN CANAL ST. to the French Quarter and Convention Center. The Colonial Revival residence is nestled in a neighborhood that boasts great food, music and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1896 o`Malley House Hotel New Orleans
1896 o`Malley House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing