We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1896 O'Malley House is the Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“1896 O'Malley House is the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

It is no wonder that the1896 O'Malley House is rated as the #1 B and B in US. The beautiful historic home has been furnished with artistically chosen antique furniture and unique furnishings to fit this outstanding home. The owner and manager were very accommodating and helpful with many good tips. The gourmet breakfast, comfortable bed and the warm homey atmosphere of sharing breakfast with other travellers was a wonderful way to start the day. The wine, beer and snacks were definitely appreciated at the conclusion of a day. The living room and court yard were awesome places to relax, visit or read. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crockett2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
What a nice review, thank you very much. Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    868
    43
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
106
376
33
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mattituck, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

This B&B is quite elite, beautiful furniture, chandeliers, artwork, gourmet breakfasts and yet it is so inviting and comfortable. The hosts are really nice and strive to make your stay enjoyable & fun! We got some awesome recommendations for restaurants and local things to do and see. The trolley is close by and goes to most of the happening places. If you just want to relax they have a court yard in the back that has a bar with beer on tap! We found it most enjoyable and we would definitely recommend it. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for talking about our courtyard and outdoor bar. It was such a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at this wonderful B & B for five nights in February. It is a lovely home, with delicious breakfasts, comfortable rooms, and a manager and owner that are very helpful in answering questions and making recommendations. We would definitely encourage others to enjoy a stay at the 1896 O'Malley House!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Debra, thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are so happy you guys enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Enjoyed our trip and look forward to coming back in October. The rooms are all very well decorated, the beds are comfortable and the beer and wine is a nice touch! Courtyard is nice and I'm sure we will use in October.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMaureen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for your review and we look forward to your visit in Oct.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverhead, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

What a great time we had at the O'Malley House! Larry is a very involved owner. He is very in tune to his guests needs. Brett was a wealth of information and breakfast was great! The B&B is in beautiful condition and the original architecture is impressive and cared for with pride. The location is convenient to the streetcar. It is $3 for an all day pass, and easy to navigate. I came with a group and we had a great time. The private Cajun tour van with Jackson was great. He showed us around and shared the history of the city. The recommended restaurants like Mendinas and K Pauls were delicious!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank gleslie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
You have to come back for another visit, there are still a lot of things to do in NOLA.Thank you for the great review. I will miss hanging out with you all in the courtyard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I stayed 3 nights at the end of March, Larry the owner and Brent the manager/cook couldn't have been more hospitable. They were attentive to all our needs. The B and B was beautiful and the rooms were very comfortable. The breakfasts were amazing as well. Our hosts spoiled us from the minute we checked. The B and B is central to transportation and attractions. Highly recommend this B and B. Thanks Larry and Brent. You both were amazing!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you so much, You guys are such a fun group of people to hang out with, this is why I love owning a B&B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

The home is perfectly restored down to every detail. The service was perfect in every respect. Larry was a perfect host. Brett, another perfect host who prepared a perfect breakfast each morning. Thank you both for a perfect visit to New Orleans !!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Vino2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
You guys were just the perfect guests. I hope we can visit your B&B sometime soon. Please come back anytime. Thank you for the perfect view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,865 reviews
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,802 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#2 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast

Property: 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 120 S Pierce St, New Orleans, LA 70119-6033
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1896 O’Malley House Bed & Breakfast is located in historic Mid-City New Orleans. We are just a 10 to 15 minute STREETCAR RIDE DOWN CANAL ST. to the French Quarter and Convention Center. The Colonial Revival residence is nestled in a neighborhood that boasts great food, music and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1896 o`Malley House Hotel New Orleans
1896 o`Malley House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing