We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We recently stayed at the O'Malley House B&B. We liked our stay. Here is a listing of Pros and Cons.

Pros:
Beer-One of the perks for O'Malley's is the Keg in the courtyard of Abita beer and bottles of Abita amber beer in the fridge for guest. There was also white and red wine available too.
Larry- Larry was a great guy and seemed genuinely interested and engaged each morning he came out for breakfast coffee to chat with his guest. 3 very big cups and you see him slowly change in front of your eyes...He was very informing and knowledgeable. We were going out for supper and he was headed to grocery store and offered to drive us to our supper destination! Great guy and easy to talk to.
Location-close to the restaurants the locals go to. some really good ones. Mandinas, Katies (loud but great food), Ralph's. Close to a street car access.
Derek: We thinks this is his name. The manager of the B&B was a nice guys from Illinois. He was a bit entertaining to talk to.
Cons:
Dogs-we love dogs, but our first introduction to the crazy beasts was a crotch shot... fun and entertaining dogs though. Some people may not like this type of thing.
all rooms are upstairs-the room we had was ok and clean, shower was a bit dated and a little clogged. For some this could not be very convenient. there is a bathroom available on the main floor.
Breakfast- There is not much room for anything other then was is being served. if you have dietary restrictions there most likely won't be an opportunity to eat anything else then what is being served that day.

All in all this B&B was ok and Larry is a great host.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shawn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for your review, one correction, we do offer options for those with dietary restrictions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (951)
There are newer reviews for 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 952 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

It is no wonder that the1896 O'Malley House is rated as the #1 B and B in US. The beautiful historic home has been furnished with artistically chosen antique furniture and unique furnishings to fit this outstanding home. The owner and manager were very accommodating and helpful with many good tips. The gourmet breakfast, comfortable bed and the warm homey atmosphere of sharing breakfast with other travellers was a wonderful way to start the day. The wine, beer and snacks were definitely appreciated at the conclusion of a day. The living room and court yard were awesome places to relax, visit or read. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crockett2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

What a nice review, thank you very much. Please come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This B&B is quite elite, beautiful furniture, chandeliers, artwork, gourmet breakfasts and yet it is so inviting and comfortable. The hosts are really nice and strive to make your stay enjoyable & fun! We got some awesome recommendations for restaurants and local things to do and see. The trolley is close by and goes to most of the happening places. If you just want to relax they have a court yard in the back that has a bar with beer on tap! We found it most enjoyable and we would definitely recommend it. Thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for talking about our courtyard and outdoor bar. It was such a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at this wonderful B & B for five nights in February. It is a lovely home, with delicious breakfasts, comfortable rooms, and a manager and owner that are very helpful in answering questions and making recommendations. We would definitely encourage others to enjoy a stay at the 1896 O'Malley House!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Debra, thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are so happy you guys enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Enjoyed our trip and look forward to coming back in October. The rooms are all very well decorated, the beds are comfortable and the beer and wine is a nice touch! Courtyard is nice and I'm sure we will use in October.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMaureen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for your review and we look forward to your visit in Oct.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

What a great time we had at the O'Malley House! Larry is a very involved owner. He is very in tune to his guests needs. Brett was a wealth of information and breakfast was great! The B&B is in beautiful condition and the original architecture is impressive and cared for with pride. The location is convenient to the streetcar. It is $3 for an all day pass, and easy to navigate. I came with a group and we had a great time. The private Cajun tour van with Jackson was great. He showed us around and shared the history of the city. The recommended restaurants like Mendinas and K Pauls were delicious!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank gleslie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

You have to come back for another visit, there are still a lot of things to do in NOLA.Thank you for the great review. I will miss hanging out with you all in the courtyard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I stayed 3 nights at the end of March, Larry the owner and Brent the manager/cook couldn't have been more hospitable. They were attentive to all our needs. The B and B was beautiful and the rooms were very comfortable. The breakfasts were amazing as well. Our hosts spoiled us from the minute we checked. The B and B is central to transportation and attractions. Highly recommend this B and B. Thanks Larry and Brent. You both were amazing!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you so much, You guys are such a fun group of people to hang out with, this is why I love owning a B&B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 166 in New Orleans
4,427 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
5,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 141 in New Orleans
760 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 141 in New Orleans
486 reviews
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 141 in New Orleans
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 120 S Pierce St, New Orleans, LA 70119-6033
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £86 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1896 O’Malley House Bed & Breakfast is located in historic Mid-City New Orleans. We are just a 10 to 15 minute STREETCAR RIDE DOWN CANAL ST. to the French Quarter and Convention Center. The Colonial Revival residence is nestled in a neighborhood that boasts great food, music and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1896 o`Malley House Hotel New Orleans
1896 o`Malley House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing