We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B in New Orleans”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 140 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best B&B in New Orleans”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the O'Malley House the weekend of July 4th 2014 for the Essence Festival. The resident manager, Larry, was very nice and personable. Larry gave us a tour of the house and also helped us with our heavy luggage to the 2nd floor. Larry's also a chef. Therefore, we were surprised each morning with an amazing breakfast. The other guests at the b&b were very nice and conversational during breakfast. Our room was really nice and inviting as well. The mattress provided a very comfortable night's sleep! Location is key..and the street cars and buses are right on Canal Street. Very easy access. Larry also gave us good tips on what tours to check out and sites to see..nice restaurants to try. We will definitely be back to stay at the O'Malley House on our next trip to NOLA.

We chose the O'Malley House because were new there would be lots of people in town, but we wanted to be able to get away to our own private space..outside of the hustle and bustle of the main strip (Canal, Bourbon St.), away from the noise! The house is very peaceful and quiet. 8-)

Thanks Larry for making sure that we had everything that we needed. You are a great host! The house is simply amazing!! We hope to see you soon!

The Colvins.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
It was such a pleasure having you guys stay with us and we look forward to your next stay. Thank you for the very kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    895
    45
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
112
395
33
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at 1896 O'Malley for three nights on the 13/14/15 June this year as part of our South East States road trip. We took a chance to be honest, as we have always stayed in hotels, and have always felt that it is too restrictive to stay in a strangers home. From the moment we drove up to the property I knew everything was going to be fine. Set just of a main road (Canal Street) it is well situated in what is known as mid-city. We were greeted by Brent (and the dogs) who gave us a quick tour of the place and put us at ease immediately. The house was fantastic and had tons of charm. The breakfast area is truly opulent with silverware in abundance. The bedroom too was luxurious. The location was fantastic. It was about 2 miles into the city centre, but was only a block from the main trolley bus line that takes you straight there. It is also a couple of blocks from a busy intersection where there is lots going on, with enough restaurants and eating places to keep you happy. A very nice touch at the house is the plentiful supply of the chilled local Abita beer (for the fellas, of course) and red and white wine. You can help yourself at any time at no extra cost. We met the owner Larry at breakfast - his blueberry waffles with fruit and cream were delicious. He is very likeable and made us feel "at home". We had a great time in NOLO and were sad to leave. I doubt we will come back to Louisiana - so many other places to see and things to do. But if we ever do, 1896 O'Malley House will be the very first place we would think of to stay at. A truly marvellous place.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank neilc277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
We love our Brits and you guys were a blast to hang out with. I know there are so many places to see in this big world but if you are ever back in NOLA we would love you to stay with us. Thank you so much and tell the queen hello!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My family and I stayed at the 1896 O'Malley House and our only regret is that we had not booked a longer stay. Larry was a great host, who was very helpful with recommendations for places to eat or for local attractions. It is close to a trolley line, making it easy to get to the French Quarter when we wanted, but far enough when the family wanted a quieter area.

We enjoyed our stay. The home was beautifully furnished and the breakfasts were really well made, not only tasty, but nicely presented as well. We also liked chatting with Larry during our breakfasts. We would heartily recommend staying at the 1896 O'Malley House.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABD860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
I really enjoyed chatting with you guys each morning and I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The 1896 O'Malley House exceeded my expectations on every level. It is both an elegant and comfortable environment. The bed and pillows were amazing, best night sleep on the road. The room and bathroom were immaculate. The breakfasts were amazing and the hosts we helpful. The location gave me easy access to the French Quarter with the peace and quiet you can't get in the Quarter. I wouldn't change a thing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you Katie for the super review. We can't wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Castle, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed at the 1896 O'Malley House last week and we could not recommend a better B & B. We have stayed in many B &B's in the US and Europe over the years and this B & B is the absolute best that we have found in the entire United States. The owners have put a great deal of thought into the needs of all traveler's - too many to list. Located in the Mid-City area and along the trolley line so access to New Orleans is very easy. Larry, we can not thank you enough for spending time with us each morning before we ventured out into New Orleans. We were made to feel very comfortable even our teenager really enjoyed our short two day stay. Speaking of our son, Brody, he said the 1896 O'Malley House is one of his favorite places he has ever stayed - so this B & B even passes the "teenager test". The price was very reasonable especially for the services provided and location. As others have mentioned I felt safe parking my car in the neighborhood near the inn. Again, we HIGHLY recommend staying at the 1896 O' Malley House. Almost forgot to mention - the breakfasts were excellent!

Room Tip: A room type available for all types of travelers. Room we stayed in was spotless.
See more room tips
Green Features: The Inn owners were environmentally sound and we appreciated that.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brody123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for the great review. I feel very honored that Brody enjoyed his stay. As you know it is hard to even get them to talk much less stay in a B&B. He is really a great guy and we enjoyed him and you guys staying with us. Please come visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Marys, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is the gem of New orleans for sure. Larry is a wonderful host,helpful with directions and where,how to get where you want to go and makes a very tasteful spanish omelet served with fresh fruit! The room we stayed in was perfect and we felt very welcomed.The conveinence to the trolley was perfect. Felt very safe parking and leaving our vehicle for you don't want to drive Bourbon St. We sat outside on the front porch with Brent and another guest that evening and he told us the history of the house and the magnificent and all original 10 ft doors and the awesome staircase,I was in awe. It was so peaceful you could actually hear the breeze blowing gently thru the tree tops. You must stay here for it gives you the greatest New Orleans experience ever! Thank you Larry for inviting us into your wonderful home..The people we met at breakfast was one very pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you Janet for the wonderful review. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed at this B&B a couple of weeks ago for 2 nights. It's very pretty and our room was clean and comfortable. Staying in mid-city was my favorite part of the trip; I loved walking to great restaurants for dinner, and Brent gives reliable recommendations, for example an Italian ice cream place for dessert. The trolley is practically outside of the door, which takes you wherever you want to get to, like the touristy stuff in the French Quarter and Frenchman Street. My husband went for a run in the city park, just a mile away. There is a whole rack of fliers for tourist activities in the B&B, and Brent is a wealth of information. We stayed in the Broyard Suite (sp?) with a huge, tall kingsize bed that I had to use steps to climb into, haha, that was kinda fun. There was a tub with jets which felt good after hours of driving, and there are complementary beverages. Nice place, laid back, friendly atmosphere. Free parking was a plus!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBoyer57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#6 of 164 in New Orleans
4,365 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 164 in New Orleans
5,834 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 140 in New Orleans
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 140 in New Orleans
480 reviews
Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 140 in New Orleans
934 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast

Property: 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 120 S Pierce St, New Orleans, LA 70119-6033
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1896 O’Malley House Bed & Breakfast is located in historic Mid-City New Orleans. We are just a 10 to 15 minute STREETCAR RIDE DOWN CANAL ST. to the French Quarter and Convention Center. The Colonial Revival residence is nestled in a neighborhood that boasts great food, music and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1896 o`Malley House Hotel New Orleans
1896 o`Malley House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing