We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Place of Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Little Place of Paradise”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I'm not sure what I was expecting, when I chose to stay at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, but I got so much more! The place was absolutely beautiful. The owner spared no expense and it shows, except in rooms 4&5 and I suggest you stay away from them until he does something more to bring them up to the same standards as his other beautiful rooms. You also get a full breakfast with your stay as well as complimentary wine, tea, coffee, and muffins while you are there, which is available on the main floor. This is one Bed and Breakfast that you want to experience more than once!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roslynann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    882
    45
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
111
385
33
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Charming, comfortable, elegant, awesome - just a few descriptors we've been using since we stayed at O'Malley's. My husband and I are SO glad we found this extraordinary B&B just off Canal St. for our first visit to New Orleans. We were greeted by the manager, Brent - who made us feel right at home; he is also the chef - and made excellent, delicious breakfasts every day. He gave us great advice for navigating the city. Our room (Colonel Parker #7) was spacious, tastefully decorated and had one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. This place was a great find in Midcity - it was uber convenient to use the streetcar to get around. We loved not being in the touristy part of downtown; O'Malley's is in a residential area - very sweet, very safe.

It was so fun to chat with the other guests at breakfast, as well as getting to know the owner, Larry. He is a world traveler, an amiable charming man who readily shared his love of New Orleans with his guests. We loved swapping stories. I will definitely stay here again. Thank you for an extraordinary experience!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KathyBmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to write such a nice review for us. We are very please you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Ridge, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My wife and I always take a trip around our anniversary every year. I'd always wanted to go to New Orleans to hear some good dixieland jazz music. I decided that we might be able to get some good advice on things to see/do if we stayed at a B&B. After reading some review for the 1896 O'Malley House I decided to book it.

Little did we know what a great choice we had made! Brent was great and very helpful. Breakfast each day was awesome and personalized (my wife is allergic to pineapple). The house is very conveniently located near a trolley station and some really good restaurants.

I promise you won't be disappointed if you stay at the O'Malley house.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for the very nice review. we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We were there for a three day Girls Weekend. The staff were exceptionally warm and friendly. The house is lovely and the service was good. The breakfast was wonderful. Table set was beautiful and we felt spoiled. It's really easy to access the City's trolley system from one block away. We enjoyed it very much and would go back again. It's VERY clean and up to my standards. Thanks very much to Brent and Larry!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
You three ladies were wonderful to host and we hope to see you back soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We chose this B&B for a 3-day girl’s weekend getaway. We could not have made a better choice! From the moment we arrived and were greeted by Brent, we knew our stay was going to be awesome. We stayed in the Cooney room (3rd floor) which was delightful and spacious for 3 adults. Each morning we enjoyed fresh brewed coffee and a substantial delicious breakfast. During our stay we choose to attend a NOLA cuisine cooking class, cemetery tour, attend a concert, visit the French Quarter, shop and eat lots of local NOLA cuisine (yum). The house was conveniently located just a few minutes’ walk from the trolley. We took advantage of the complimentary beer, wine, snacks and Wi-Fi. Awesome first B&B stay…definitely would recommend this B& B!!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor, which was quite, good AC and roomy for three adults.
See more room tips
Green Features: New towels daily and beds were made each day. Hotel located near trolley, red or green line stop. Walking distant to Walgreens and a great restaurant, Mandina's.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabitha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you so much for the very nice review. I hope we have converted you into B&B people!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I took my mom for her 67th B-day to New Orleans and stayed at the O'Malley BB, this was an amazing experience, Brent was very helpful/funny and the dogs were a bonus :) It was home away from home even better I got to relax and Brent did the breakfast and clean up! :) Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FatimaM68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
We loved being part of your mom's special day. Thank you very much for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

This wonderful stay was a "Girls Weekend" in NOLA. Brent welcomed us and gave us the grande tour. We were appreciative of him giving us the History of the B&B and where to help ourselves to complimentary beer, wine and snacks. He gave us helpful recommendations of tours, restaurants, nightlife and the best way to get there. Larry was a colorful host with great stories to share. Our room was on the 3rd floor so after eating the fabulous "Brent" breakfast we could just walk the stairs up to help keep off the vacation lbs we would have gained. I can't imagine staying anywhere else on our next visits. Thank you for making our first B&B experience so perfect. If you are looking for a safe, friendly relaxing, B&B experience this is the place for you.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lisamspivey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1896omalleyhouse, Owner at 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for choosing us for your reunion. We really our chats with you ladies and would love for you to come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
7,113 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4,214 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
5,546 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 138 in New Orleans
749 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 138 in New Orleans
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast

Property: 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 120 S Pierce St, New Orleans, LA 70119-6033
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1896 O’Malley House Bed & Breakfast is located in historic Mid-City New Orleans. We are just a 10 to 15 minute STREETCAR RIDE DOWN CANAL ST. to the French Quarter and Convention Center. The Colonial Revival residence is nestled in a neighborhood that boasts great food, music and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1896 o`Malley House Hotel New Orleans
1896 o`Malley House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing