We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of New Orleans' many treasures”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 3 March 2009

With all the grandeur of the Old South, the 1896 O’Malley house was very charming and the service exceptional. With 3 floors of accommodations, each room is decorated style and finesse. Each room has its own private bath. The food was delightful, as were the various snacks and beverages, which were available for the guests. The sitting room and front porch area provided excellent opportunities to enjoy the atmosphere and ambiance of New Orleans.
The house was decorated with various antiques from the Victorian Era. The player piano was an excellent touch with afternoon cocktails. The B&B is located one block from Canal Street. Local eateries and fine dining establishments were within walking distant. I loved the idea that the street cars are close by and can take you to the famous “Vieux Carre’.” What a plus! The owners’ hospitality and attention to detail was superb. I can’t wait until I can return to New Orleans and the O’Malley house.

C. DeWayne LaCaze
Natchitoches, LA 71457

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank At_Tech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (952)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

635 - 641 of 952 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2009

My hub and I stayed at the O'Malley House March, 2008 (sorry that it has taken so long to write this review). We decided to visit New Orleans for our 9th anniversary. We didn't care for New Orleans that much, but this bed and breakfast was fantastic!! The rooms were absolutely beautiful. The owners were wonderful (1 of them was out of town this week, and they had a helper; he was fantastic). The dog is so sweet!!. The breakfast was fabulous....and they had snacks, coffee, and wine/beer stocked at all times!!

Couldn't have asked for better accommodations!! Also, definitely don't forget to go to Juan's Flying Burrito!! Nachos were the best I have ever had....

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank alley24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2009

We had an Excellent experience at this B & B. It was very modern and real nice. The staff was great and very nice and made you feel welcome. Great place to vist in New Orleans.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank traceydp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2009

First off, let me start by saying that this place is absolutely magnificent. I had never stayed in a bed and breakfast before and after my recent venture to the 1896 O'Malley House I don't know if I will ever go to another chain Hotel/Motel again.

Located a block off of both Canal and Carrolton St, it is right in the quiet heart of mid-town, which may be a good break if you're in town for Mardi Gras. A half mile or less from City park, it is perfect for those traveling to Voodoo or any other festival. It is a short cable-car ride from both Downtown/French Quarter (east on Canal, plenty to see I recommend everything, catch a street performer during the day, get sloshed at night) and the young college (Tulane) neighborhood south on Carrolton (Oak st - Jacque Imo's [legendary restaurant - get the grit cake appetizer and stuffed Catfish entree], The Maple Leaf [superb local music venue, check out Groovesect] and Rue de la Course [excellent coffee house, get the Chai Latte and Almond Crescant] for those that don't know or keep going south to the river - a little sports pub called Cooter Brown's, hundreds of beer varieties and excellent food - massive raw oysters).

Only modestly more expensive than a typical hotel, it is well worth the cost. The rooms are large and clean, the beds are amazingly comfortable (**and squeek free**), each room has its own private and luxurious bathroom, cable, wifi internet and the decor is second to none (decorated by Larry himself - kudos). This is only what you will get privately, there are more public goods available.

Guests at the 1896 O'Malley House have complementary wine, soft drinks, snacks and delicious locally brewed beer readily available in copious quantities at all times of day. There are several common areas with great reading material, comfortable and aesthetically appealling seating and a granduous dining room. High ceilings house the first floor and a public computer as well as a full refridgerator is made readily available to all guests. The house's Liason couldn't have been cooler, Larry regularly haunts the common areas with interesting conversation and the house Golden Retriever truly rounds out the hospitality with an endlessly-wagging tail and ear-to-ear grin.

Breakfast in the morning was superb, with an eggs Benedict souffle, cinnamon rolls, muffins, fresh fruit, coffee, cereal, etc.

After all is said and done, this was by far the best lodging experience that I may have ever experienced. Unfortunately there is no pool, but who really cares about swimming in January? There is so much to do in New Orleans and the 1896 O'Malley House will give you plenty of reasons to return again and again. Take a gander at the guest book and you will see that people from all over the United States, Canada and Europe alike frequent this establishment, so even sitting at breakfast you will meet interesting people from all over the world.

Personally I felt unequivocally welcomed and will return on my next trip to New Orleans. My only advice is to make your reservations well in advance, I made mine last minute in the off-season and got lucky. I wouldn't count on rooms being available unless you book early, so heed my advice: visit the 1896 O'Malley House! You won't be disappointed.

Cheers,
Charles C Ellis

Stayed: January 2009
3  Thank cce9085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2009

PERFECT is the only word to describe our experience at the O'Malley House. It is in a perfect location - far enough from downtown to be in a nice quiet neighborhood, but close enough to be a 10-15 minute streetcar ride away from whatever you want to see (stop for the trolley is only a block from the front door). The house itself is perfect - BEAUTIFUL building and decorations and extremely comfortable rooms. We stayed in room 1, which had a queen sized bed and oversized jacuzzi - Awesome!! Though neither one of us made it out for breakfast in the morning, we heard wonderful things about the food. Bec, our hostess while Larry was out of town, was amazing. There were complimentary soda, beer and wine in the kitchen for the guests, as well as other items to snack on. We never came through the front door without being greeted by Bec with a smile and an offer to help us with anything we needed. There were tons of brochures for local attractions, and Bec was happy to help you find the best way to get to them. There was a computer in the foyer for guest use with high-speed internet, as well as FREE Wi-Fi throughout the house. This place was absolutely AMAZING, and I would recommend it to anyone wanting to get away and have some peace. All of this was at an unbelievably affordable rate, especially when you compare the rooms and services offered to those of the other B&B's and hotels in the area. THANK YOU so much Larry for the wonderful weekend!! ~Ryan & Danielle Wolfe

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank wolfe70726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2008

We loved everything about this wonderful B&B. The house is gorgeous, Larry is a great host and tells wonderful funny stories. It is walking distance to the best ice cream in the US (Angelo Brocato's). The streetcar to downtown is a block away. It is a short distance to the park and a running path. The rooms are comfy and beautiful. There is a swing on the porch.And last but not least Cody is a truly great dog.

Stayed: November 2008
3  Thank jgnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2008

We decided to book a stay due to the great reviews on TripAdvisor. I was skeptical that any place could be tas good as the perfect reviews, but it definitely is! As soon as we walked inside the home, I was stunned at the beautiful details and it was fun to see it decorated in Christmas holiday splendor (we arrived just after Thanksgiving). We immediately bonded with their sweet golden, Cody, who definitely is a fine ambassador! We even took him for a walk around the neighborhood one beautiful morning. Every detail was attended to at 1896 O'Malley House, from a terrific breakfast, to an open fridge with wine, beer, soft drinks, and coffee, hot chocolate and muffins always available. Larry, the owner, provided all kinds of information for us for dining and important insider advice. Beck, the manager was also very friendly and helpful. We spent more time than we expected in the house as it was so cozy and comfortable. None of that stiff feeling you get at some B&B's. It was evident that Larry truly enjoys being an innkeeper.

This B&B is the perfect respite from crazy N.O. It was good, too, that several nearby restaurants were excellent, so we didn't have to go to the French Quarter if we wanted a more relaxing evening. The B&B is near City Park, which is really nice, and it was interesting to tour the nearby Lakeview area, which is rebuilding it's charming neighborhood post Katrina.

Thanks Larry, Beck and Cody! We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Wagsdvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
7,535 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#18 of 167 in New Orleans
4,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 142 in New Orleans
761 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#1 of 142 in New Orleans
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 120 S Pierce St, New Orleans, LA 70119-6033
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £122 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1896 O’Malley House Bed & Breakfast is located in historic Mid-City New Orleans. We are just a 10 to 15 minute STREETCAR RIDE DOWN CANAL ST. to the French Quarter and Convention Center. The Colonial Revival residence is nestled in a neighborhood that boasts great food, music and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1896 o`Malley House Hotel New Orleans
1896 o`Malley House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing