We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“An oasis of calm in New Orleans” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 139 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
A TripAdvisor Member
“An oasis of calm in New Orleans”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2004

We just finished our whirlwind tour of the southern states in New Orleans at The O'Malley House , it was superb. Brad and Larry were brilliant hosts ,the breakfasts were excellent and the rooms are wonderful. It really is an oasis of calm from the crowds and noise of the French Quarter , yet it is so easy to ride the streetcar and be in the action in a very short time. We intend to recommend this brilliant place to anyone who plans to travel to New Orleans .

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    859
    43
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
105
371
33
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wash/dc metro area
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2004

Just got back from our trip on Tues. We stayed at the 1896 O'Malley House. It was so nice. Just far enough from the Quarter. It was only a short drive down Canal Street. We parked right in front of the house. We rented a car cuz of our 10 month old. We needed to go back to take naps during the day. The rooms are so lovely and the breakfast was great. Larry cooked a really nice breakfast each morning. The inn keepers were so nice. Brad lent us his port a crib from when he was a child for our daughter to stay in. My daughter just loved Brad to death. They also have this turn down service w/ chocolate dipped strawberries. Most of the rooms have jacuzzis also...they always had snacks readily avail all day. if you wanted to take the street car it's just across the street...I can't tell you how much we enjoyed our trip. This is the place to stay... Compared to all the extras this place has to offer it is a steal for the rate... I can't wait to go back for another visit. I'm going to tell all my friends to stay here next time they visit NOLA. They usually stay at the "W."
the Basto's

Helpful?
Thank gnavar10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meridian MS
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2004

Most of my travels are for business, which usually dictates staying at a hotel near the convention, although I sometimes stay at a Bed & Breakfast. Recently, however, my husband and I and our son's family took a family week-end and stayed at the 1896 O'Malley House in New Orleans. A beautifully restored home, it is the most charming B&B I have EVER stayed in. Everything exudes elegance and attention to detail. The breakfast was sumptious, the hosts friendly and accommodating, the rooms comfortable and clean, the location handy to nearby landmarks and shopping, and the atmosphere relaxing. Amenities far exceeded our expectations. I would highly recommend this experience for anyone needing accommodations while in New Orleans.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2004

This is a great B & B! Brad and Larry were perfect hosts. If there is such a thing as elegantly cozy then this is it! I only wish they had a branch B & B in every city I visit. I would give five stars for the breakfast, the decor, the location, the cost, the friendliness, etc. It has my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2004

If you are looking for incredible southern cooking, with exquisite attention to detail, you must stop by the O'Malley House. The owners made our stay relaxing and enjoyable. About a mile outside of the French Quarter, the O'Malley House B&B is right across from the Trolley, which runs 24 hours a day into the heart of New Orleans. You are greeted with a beverage of your choice, shown where you can help yourself to homemade goodies in the butler's pantry, while your luggage is taken to your room. Your bed is turned down every evening, and you are left with a few hand dipped chocolate covered strawberries. The owners are courteous, full of stories, and have an excellent listing of all of the local and not so local attractions and restaurants. Highly recommend staying multiple nights, as two are not enough!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2004

We spent several days at 1896 O'Malley House and what started out perfect just kept getting better. Brad, Larry and Cody are the consumate hosts. Superb food, lovely decor and clean comfortable rooms. Bathrooms are up-to-date and spacious. Breakfast is served at a most gracious table and the food was delicious. Though I would like to balance this with a suggestion or complaint, I have none. It is a wonderful facility with wonderful hosts.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2004

This is a great B&B - lots of good taste in the rooms' interior design, the hosts go out of their way to help with anything, good breakfast, everything is clean and cosy. I guess it can't get any better. I loved the chocolate covered strawberries every evening :-)

Helpful?
Thank Stingworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,657 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#2 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#8 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,605 reviews
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 139 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast

Property: 1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 120 S Pierce St, New Orleans, LA 70119-6033
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Mid-City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1896 O’Malley House Bed & Breakfast is located in historic Mid-City New Orleans. We are just a 10 to 15 minute STREETCAR RIDE DOWN CANAL ST. to the French Quarter and Convention Center. The Colonial Revival residence is nestled in a neighborhood that boasts great food, music and culture. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1896 o`Malley House Hotel New Orleans
1896 o`Malley House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing