We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Ranked #16 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 May 2011

My tween daughter, dog and I recently stayed at Lowes in New Orleans. It is located a short walk from Canal St. We walked all but the last day we were there The Insectarium is a 10 minute walk The Aquarium, Riverwalk and Steamboat Natchez are all about two blocks away. The customer service at this hotel is tops. The doormen and bell hops alway friendly. Neil, the concierge very helpful and professional.

We requested a room with a view and our request was filled. For the most part our room was very clean. My only complaint was there was a small stain on the rug off to the side that looked like it could have been spot cleaned before we checked in. Being a room for families traveling with pets...I wondered what it could have been. Other than that, the room and bathroom was spotless. The beds were comfortable and they have a Krups coffee maker in the room so AM coffee is plentiful. If your dog is like mine and needs grass...a park is just three short blocks away.
.
We ate breakfast once at the resturant in the hotel. Cafe Adelaide. Breakfast was good. We also dined there our first night in town. Food good, staff attentitive. I debated about the soup choice and the waiter gave me a taste of the soup I did not order for future referance.

Hotel has Indoor lap pool, sauna, hot tub and fitness center. Also, sadly I did not get time to visit the spa. Parking was comparable to any other big city.

All and all a very good hotel and would definatly stay there again.

PS. If you want to gamble, a casino is a block away.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caszsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,356 - 2,362 of 2,596 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2011

Without a doubt The Loews is the nicest hotel in New Orleans.We are locals and stayed at just about every hotel in and around the French Quarter and Loews is our number 1 choice..The workers always have a smile and aim to please you.The rooms are very modern and very clean.There are only 2 or 3 hotels that have a spa.My wife likes the Loews Spa.They have an indoor pool and hot tub.There is no way this hotel should not be in the top five hotels in New orleans......

Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank harleybonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Good hotel in Busines/warehouse area. breakfast were Ok at reasonable prices. Parking costs are a bit high at $32 per day

Room Tip: dont bring a car
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

I recently stayed at the Loews April 13-16th with my family. Now this hotel is located in the Warehouse District which is on the edge of the French Quarter...a good 15 minute walk from the heart of the action. But this place is awesome! The service from the door man to the valet to the concierge. There's no where else I would stay. The room are large and the view from the 21st floor is amazing. It was a great place to accomodate our children, 3 and 6 years old. Even though its a walk to the French Quarter it is worth it. The river walk is a block away and the Harrah's casino is right across the street.

Bottom line...this is where we will stay when we are in New Orleans!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjzubok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Stayed at the hotel for one night with family. It was the only hotel available in actual new orleans (that week all hotels were booked because of major conferences) and I refused to stay in the NO 'burbs. Hotel ranks high for customer service in my book--I called about 30 minutes before making it to the hotel to see if they had a room for me even though it was well before check in time--they did and promised to hold the room for my arrival. Upon arriving to the hotel we were greeted by the nicest bellman--Julio. He gave us tips on events happening in the city (we were there during the French Quarter Festival). We had a room with two double beds on the 15th floor--amazing view of the bridge and city! The room was a little stuff when we got in (perhaps because it was 80 degrees out) but we were able to crank up the air to a comfortable temperature. The location of the hotel wasn't too far from central business district of New Orleans or other areas like the French Quarter--about a 15-20 min minute walk. The location is best for folks who want to be close to the riverwalk or Harrah's casino, which is just across the street. My only gripes about the hotel were the charges for internet ($12 in room or free wifi in lobby area only) and the valet-only parking at $35. I tried finding cheaper parking near by, but there really wasn't cheap parking within walking distance I felt comfortable with getting to at all hours. Brightside--the parking is right in the hotel, so you don't wait long for your car to return. While the Loews wasn't my first choice, I did have a good stay thanks the staff.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadtravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

No frills, just nice and convenient for the convention center as well as the French Quarter.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salandtal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Stayed in Mid-march while in twon for a conference at teh Sheraton.

Room: had a "grand luxury" room - very large, with king bed, couch, sitting chair, two flat screen TVs, a great CD player, work desk and good lighting options. The room had individual climate control. The bath was large, with a separate tub and shower. Good water pressure and temp. Tub was slightly larger than average but not a real soaking tub. Room also came with bathrobes. There was a safe that fit my 14" laptop, but a 15.6” widescreen may not fit. The room also had a mini-bar and snacks. Spendy as usual but nice to have and much more convenient than room service. Overall decor was nothing special - functional, not opulent. Room seemed clean. This is not a historic hotel by any means. It is a good solid functional hotel.

Gym/pool: Pool is long enough for decent, albeit short, lap workouts. It is a saltwater pool, which is more environmentally sound, but some people don’t like that sort of thing. The whirlpool is a good size and was hot. There is a sauna as well, but you will need to fire it up well before you want to use it. I didn’t use the gym, but it looked nice. There is also a spa on that floor. Didn’t use that either.

View: The view is important to me as I like to kick back at the end of the day and watch the world go by out my window. I was on the 11th floor, which I think is the first floor of rooms, and I had an interesting view of the Spanish Plaza, Poydras St, the CBD, and of the line of people waiting to eat at Mothers. The opposite side of the building faces a high rise hotel, so views on that side are limited in some rooms. Windows are large.

Service: I though service was excellent all around. The concierge provided good tips on jazz clubs. The front desk was efficient. The bellhops were always ready to help out, and the doormen on task, fun and full of good suggestions. My room was cleaned before lunch each day. Staff was all very friendly. I’ve found that tipping well early on in the stay pays off in spades when traveling. I encourage others who seem to have consistent bad service experiences to try it sometime.

Location: Great for the convention center as it is close to the CC (5 minute walk) but not buried in the warehouse district, which seems a bit dodgy (or at least empty) at night. The area around the hotel is always busy due to the line of hotels across from Harrah’s, and from Harrah’s itself. It takes about 5 minutes to get into the FQ, and I walked from Bourbon, down Canal, to Peters and to the Hotel on two different nights by myself and felt completely safe. One block towards the river is Fremont Street – which is an odd attempt to bring the FQ into the warehouse district. It doesn’t seem to have been successful, though there is a Gordon Biersch brewpub and restaurant there which has good beer and decent food. They also make really good pizzas. I got one to go for watching a movie in my room one night. One block towards the warehouse district are two small local restaurants with good food at good prices. There is also a great local bar there with good brass bands.

This is my third trip to NO, and I have stayed at the Hilton, the Royal Sonesta and Loews. If you are going for pleasure, I’d suggest the Royal Sonesta – its in the heart of the FQ and has a great interior huge courtyard/pool/outdoor bar. If you are going for business, I recommend Lowes over the Hilton. Loews is much smaller, has easier access to Canal and to the FQ, and the rooms are nicer.

Hope this helps. Have a good trip!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank auroraclubjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 167 in New Orleans
7,537 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#18 of 167 in New Orleans
4,795 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 167 in New Orleans
4,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#21 of 167 in New Orleans
1,498 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Central Business District
Le Pavillon Hotel
Le Pavillon Hotel
#83 of 167 in New Orleans
2,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews New Orleans Hotel

Address: 300 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130-3216
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £136 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Big Easy spirit at Loews New Orleans Hotel, where the plush accommodations of a fine luxury hotel are complemented by warm Loews hospitality, fabulous food and jazzy cocktails. Laissez Les Bon Temps Rouler (Let the Good Times Roll) at our New Orleans luxury hotel. Among Travel + Leisure's "World's Best Hotels, guests enjoy impeccable service and a vibrant environment. With 285 rooms including 12 suites, each of our guestrooms boasts views of the mighty Mississippi River, French Quarter or New Orleans skyline. Indulge in playful modern Creole cuisine at Cafe Adelaide or enjoy classic cocktails at The Swizzle Stick Bar, home to the country's first Bar Chef Table - both operated by the legendary Commander's Palace Family of Restaurants. Be pampered at Balance Spa and also enjoy complimentary access to the state-of-the-art fitness center and lap pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews New Orleans
New Orleans Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing