We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Ranked #12 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great customer service”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

My husband and I just returned from a vacation in New Orleans and we stayed four nights at the Loews Hotel. When we first checked in we were placed in a king size room on the 19th floor. The room was quite chilly even after we cranked the thermostat up to 80 degrees, the carpet was quite worn and the room had a less than clean smell. We called the front desk with our concerns and they sent an engineer up to our room immediately to fix the heater, problem solved. Since it was late in the day they indicated that they would have the carpet shampooed the next day while we were out, this was acceptable to us. However when we returned to our room the following evening at around 5:30 pm the carpet had not been addressed. We again called the front desk and they offered to move us to another other (an upgrade)...offer accepted. We were moved to a King sized suite on the 15th floor. The room was twice the size of our previous room and was in excellent condition. We enjoyed the remainder of our 3 nights in this room. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was very large with a seperate shower and tub. Although we were initally disappointed when we arrived, our opinion changed because of the great customer service they provided when we expressed our concerns.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank capmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,503
    569
    182
    77
    52
See reviews for
472
570
90
884
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buford, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

This hotel was outstanding. Best vibe, and bar and lounge seemed to always be open! The sales team paid great attention to detial and our group's reservations were in perfect order. I was impressed by the porters, who were always available to call a cab or assist with luggage. When I checked in, I was in such a hurry to get to the room that I didn't get the mini bar key...so I went back down at a later date. Great view and location. Rooms were large (even the ROH room I was in). Housekeeping however was not the best, we went 2 days without being attended, and even when we called it was still 6 hours before we were serviced. Overall though, I really enjoyed this property and will use it again!

Room Tip: Choose a high up floor facing the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach,VA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We arrived on New Years Day, the staff was friendly and helpful. They upgraded us to a King Suite which was perfect for a traveling family. We originally selected the Loews because so many of the rooms in NOLA only have king sized or double beds, the Loews offers queen sized beds. At checkin we were able to move to a King suite w/ a queen sofabed which also allowed for a roll away bed-perfect for a family traveling with 2 teenagers. The room was spacious, clean, comfortable and afforded us a beautiful view of the Mississippi River. The shower was amazing!
All of the staff was helpful and efficient. We will return!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RunnerMom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisiana
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Hotel is easily accessible on Poydras. Easy check-in, very clean. Rooms have a somewhat bare, modern feel. Not worth the price I paid. It is across the street from Mother's restaurant which is a great New Orleans "hole in the wall" especially for breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank familytripper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry R, Director of Rooms at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

We are delighted that you were pleased with the cleanliness our rooms at the Loews New Orleans Hotel. I am sorry to hear that you were not pleased with the value of the accommodations. Our goal is to provide a quality product and service to each of our guests. We hope to have another opportunity to have you with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed there for one night only, as we wanted to get a feel for different parts of the city, and we loved this hotel. We got a magnificent deal through the Papa Noel Christmas rates. We managed to stay in a King Deluxe, on a budget vacation! The view from our room was great, and the bed was glorious, but my favorite part was the bathroom! Separate shower and tub, and felt very luxurious. If you want to stay at an upscale place without paying the high price tag, this is the place!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VaKhalil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry R, Director of Rooms at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you very much for the feedback.

We are delighted that you were pleased with your experience at the Loews New Orleans. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spotsylvania County, Virgina, USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We are a fairly diverse family of four – I am in my sixties, my wife is half of my age, and we have two wonderful little men, ages 5 and 2. This review includes the city as a vacation stop and several restaurants. Our five-year old took a week off from Kindergarten to make this trip with us. New Orleans is a favorite city for all of us and we visit once or more each year. Whenever feasible, we try to fly from Richmond International, instead of Reagan, Dulles, or BWI. The drive distance is about the same to Regan, Dulles, or Richmond for us but the pace of the air travel is a little easier on us considering our two boys. Because we were starting our vacation in the city and then continuing on a cruise, we had plenty of luggage. I’ll write about our experience on Voyager of the Seas in a subsequent article.
US Airways offered us the best value on this trip and we flew a one-stop itinerary each way. We arranged for a limo service to pick us up at the Airport and transport us to the Hyatt Regency New Orleans (601Loyola Ave), recently reopened after a complete remodeling following the hurricane. Our normal hotel in the French Quarter was booked so we couldn’t stay there. We were excited about the Hyatt as Tinovia has Platinum Status there, and we expected an upgrade from the suite we had booked. Basically, they didn’t give us an upgrade, explaining that since we had booked the largest suite in our category and they couldn’t bump us up into a higher category by policy. Our suite was too small to give the boys enough space, and although Tinovia tried hard to get us into a larger room, Hyatt Management stated that they could not accommodate, regardless of status. The hotel was beautiful, the staff was both cordial and professional, but the room was too small and the management declined to offer us anything more suitable. Considering the location (too far from the French Quarter for us), the too small suites, and their decision not to offer us a better alternative, we will not plan to stay there again.
The following morning, we moved to Loews New Orleans Hotel (300 Poydras St). We asked the Bellman at the Hyatt to get us a taxi that would hold all of us and our luggage – not a problem – so we used regular taxi transportation, mostly vans or on occasion, a larger SUV from that point on. The facility was wonderful, our suite was much more spacious, just as well furnished and the amenities were just as nice. The staff was just a cordial and professional, and the rates about the same. We were much happier at Loews and would highly recommend it as a good travel value in New Orleans. We’ll stay there again if we have that choice. One of the areas we had been researching was where to eat Thanksgiving Dinner. Before leaving home, we had settled on the Hyatt Regency, but we had left there and were not going back. We did a little additional research and made reservations at the Café Adelaide right there in the Loews. Great choice! They offered a very well prepared and presented traditional thanksgiving meal we all four enjoyed. The meal was an exceptional value at around $25.00 each and we couldn’t finish anything. The service was exceptional and we would highly recommend the Café Adelaide as a great place to eat whether you are a guest at the Loews or not. I would estimate that between 25 and 50% of the patrons were locals rather than hotel guests during the time we were there so this restaurant must have a pretty good reputation in the community.
Most of our time in New Orleans is spent sight-seeing and eating. The Café Du Monde at the French Market, Jackson Square and the area surrounding are always favorite attractions for us. We tried some new restaurants, as well as some of our regular stops this trip. Our best breakfast was on Thanksgiving morning when we walked into The Desire Oyster Bar, Royal Sonesta Hotel, 300 Bourbon Street. The food was superb, and Ruth, our server, took wonderful care of all four of us. It was a pricy breakfast, but very well done – the Mimosas were excellent and probably the reason our bill was a little higher than usual. We had a very nice dinner at Broussard’s, Vieux Carre – good service and value (we used a Groupon coupon there). Our most fun lunch was at Rita’s Tequila House, 417/419 Bourbon St where the food was good and the server, Bernice, was as good as they come! We also sampled some seafood at Sammy’s, 627 Bourbon St where we also received good value, tasty food, and good service using a Groupon coupon. For us, no trip to the Big Easy would be complete without a stop at a good oyster house. I really like Acme Oyster House on Iberville, but, as usual, there were several people in a line waiting to be seated. Felix’s Restaurant is right across the street at 739 Iberville St. We have been there before, and found the food and service to be excellent. We decided to do so again. My favorite dish at Acme is the grilled oysters on the half-shell. Felix’s has a similar dish that very favorably compares. Their raw oysters and oyster shooters were great! I think I’ll give Felix’s the edge and recommend this restaurant as the best in the area for oysters. Their food and service is excellent and their prices are very reasonable. At first, our server, John told us that they no longer offered oyster shooters (a raw oyster poured into a glass, garnished with horseradish and hot sauce, then completed with a nice shot or so of vodka) – he soon had them to us though and provided excellent service during the rest of our meal.
Our boys loved their time in the city as much as we did. The real plus for us is the time we can spend together. Our five-year old, Prezy, was really looking forward to the Beignets at Café Du Monde and the sights and sounds of the French Quarter. It was a little chilly, and he wanted to know why those ladies were standing in doorways in their underwear in some of the establishments we walked by. Our two-year old, Bash, was really fascinated by the sights and sounds – he had a ball. This was his second visit and Prezy’s fourth visit – we will be back again, hopefully, this year! My biggest regret is that our schedule didn’t allow us to make the Classic – I would have loved the game and especially the bands!
The bottom line up front: We highly recommend New Orleans as a good family vacation stop. Yes, there are sights, sounds, and even events that are not totally suitable for youngsters. I don’t think anything we saw or heard was more offensive that what one could see on broadcast TV, but you may need to be ready with some reasonable explanations. We have never encountered any issues with criminals or crime that directly impacted on us, although I will admit that there is evidence of crime and criminals around you on occasion when you are in the Quarter. The people are wonderful, the food and accommodations are great, the scenery is superb, and it is a very exciting place to be!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jerry_Tinovia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monson, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

My husband, daughter and I just returned from a stay at Loews, New Orleans. The location of the hotel is just a short walk to the French Quarter, Riverfront and convenient to all the trolley cars, but not in the middle of the French Quarter chaos. The staff were friendly and helpful from the moment we checked in right up until our departure. Loews is a clean, comfortable, hotel with a great pool and whirlpool spa. The lobby lounge is comfortable for morning coffee or an afternoon drink and has free wi-fi. This hotel is not at all stuffy but is top notch and a great find!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry R, Director of Rooms at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
We are happy that you enjoyed your experience at the Loews New Orleans. Our location is perfect for all occassions. We are within walking distance of several New Orleans attractions. I am delighted that you were able to enjoy New Orleans and the Loews New Orleans Hotel. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,396 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,012 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews New Orleans Hotel

Property: Loews New Orleans Hotel
Address: 300 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130-3216
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Big Easy spirit at Loews New Orleans Hotel, where the plush accommodations of a fine luxury hotel are complemented by warm Loews hospitality, fabulous food and jazzy cocktails. Laissez Les Bon Temps Rouler (Let the Good Times Roll) at our New Orleans luxury hotel. Among Travel + Leisure's "World's Best Hotels, guests enjoy impeccable service and a vibrant environment. With 285 rooms including 12 suites, each of our guestrooms boasts views of the mighty Mississippi River, French Quarter or New Orleans skyline. Indulge in playful modern Creole cuisine at Cafe Adelaide or enjoy classic cocktails at The Swizzle Stick Bar, home to the country's first Bar Chef Table - both operated by the legendary Commander's Palace Family of Restaurants. Be pampered at Balance Spa and also enjoy complimentary access to the state-of-the-art fitness center and lap pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews New Orleans
New Orleans Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing