We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced for average+ hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Ranked #14 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“overpriced for average+ hotel”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

great location, right next to Harrahs Casino which was a plus because this hotel charges $43 per night to park. we parked in the Casino parking area and avoided this charge. booked on ancillary site for 2 double beds, was told 2hrs prior to arrival the double beds were a go. received king bed on arrival due to lack of availability :( room and bathroom were small, typical shower/tub combo.. not 4star quality. the room was clean and the beds were comfortable, so with a rollaway provided the room situation didn't ruin the trip. would stay again, but not for full price per hotel site.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catmalways4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,588
    597
    190
    83
    54
See reviews for
509
591
95
939
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

My husband and I stayed here for his birthday! The hotel is right across the street from the casino and riverwalk! The guest services and bellsman will make you ferl like your in Beverly Hills! We were able to get couple massages, which of course we paid for. The staff in this area were good but didn't meet the hotel standard. The location is good, we walked to the best eating and shopping areas and was close and far enough from Bourbon Street, which is the area where all the clubs are! Our room was very very clean, with updated fufurniture. We enjoyed everything about our stay!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nholmes2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry R, Director of Rooms at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your feedback and are delighted that you enjoyed your experience at our property. Our team takes great pride in ensuring that each guests experience with us is memorable. I have shared your feedback with our spa partners to ensure the level of service is up to our standards as well as your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We just got back from a two night stay at Loews New Orleans hotel. We were traveling with a small dog. We arrived for check in at 4:30pm. Valet was efficient and right on Poydras St. The garage is actually the first few stories in the same building as the hotel. The hotel is in a good location right by Harrahs. There are a few nice restaurants a few hundred feet away (Manning's, Grand Isle etc..) so you will not go hungry. The walk to the French Quarter is not bad. I recommend a pedi cab so you can see the sights along the way.

Back to check in. I initially requested a river view Grand Double Queen room. Unfortunately, all pet rooms are on the 11th floor and there are no river view rooms there. Check in was quick and we went up to our room. We walked in and immediately noticed it smelled musty. After drawing back the curtains we noticed alot of dust in the room. The final straw came when there was some stains on the sheets. It appeared that the room was cleaned a while back and just sat there. I do not know how a stain that big went unoticed. We called the front desk and they quickly gave us a replacement room 1121. This room was not dusty but there was a stain on a pillowcase. My guess is the pet rooms get more beatings than the other rooms. The carpet was frayed in a few spots, probably from dogs scratching.

The Grand Queen room is big with nice 10' ceilings. The view is ok. The bathroom is nice with a separate tub and big shower. The charge for a pet is only $25 for the whole visit, alot cheaper than most hotels.

We also noticed that the carpet in the hallways was not that clean. Again, my guess is that the "dog" floor gets less attention than the rest of the hotel. The elevators are relatively old and creaked alot when moving.

The service of the hotel, from front desk, valets, doormen and room service was outstanding. The only negatives was the housekeeping I mentioned above.

We did not eat at the hotel restaurant but we ordered room service a few times. Breakfast and dinner were about average from a hotel in this class. We have stayed at the Hotel Monteleone, the Astor Crowne Plaza, Royal Sonesta, Sheraton, Hilton Riverside, Provincial and I would rate Loews ahead of all but the Monteleone, Royal Sonesta and Hilton Riverside (Riverside wins out because of river view).

However, if you are travelling with a pet, this hotel is pretty darn good. Overall we had a nice stay and other than the issues with the original dusty room and stains on beds, it was a very good stay. The only dog friendly hotel that we have stayed that was more "pet friendly" was Hotel Zaza in Houston. Loews does a good job maintaining a dog friendly atmosphere.

If I had to travel again with our dog, I think I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

This is the third time I have been at this hotel. All have been fro company national meetings. All three times, immaculately clean, great service and a great location outside the war zone of the French Quarter but a very short walk to get there. Any time I am in NO I am staying here. Not a big casino person but Harrah's is across hte street if you are into gambling and malls are down the block. Stay here, no where else.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank briandougherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry R, Director of Rooms at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience at our property. We take great pride in the product and services we provide and are very happy that we were able to have you with us on each of your visits to our city. We look forward to having you back for a 4th visit in the near future.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southlake, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

This hotel is near everything--French Quarter, Warehouse, casino, Garden District. The room I was in was huge--bigger than my first apartment! It overlooked the river and was very comfortable. The rug was in need of cleaning and repair but not a concern. The concierge was extremely helpful and really understood what I was wanting to do, he gave me great information. The conference staff was awesome as were the bellmen. The front desk staff were good and just okay. Too bad they were not consistent.

I would be happy to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up and over looking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry R, Director of Rooms at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your honest feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your experience in our city and at our property. We are perfectly located for both business and pleasure. We will address your concerns on the inconsistency of our front desk team as well as the cleanliness of our carpet with our leadership team. Again, we appreciate your honest feedback and look forward to having you with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wind Lake, WI
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

The taxi ride there was a horrifying experience but the hotel was beautiful, clean and the staff were VERY welcoming. I felt like I was special from the moment they opened my taxi door. The rooms were very clean and spacious and I had a great view of the river. Both the restaurant and the hotel bar had wonderful service and the bartenders managed to remember exactly what I wanted to order even though they always seemed fairly busy. There were many of us here for business so a group of us would always walk up to the French Quarter for some nightlife and dinner. Not sure if I would have made the walk alone but the hotel is not far from where people are so I am sure it would be fine. Should I return for pleasure, I would definitely consider staying at this hotel again!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry R, Director of Rooms at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience at our property. From our doormen to our restaurant team we all take great pride in ensuring each of our guests has a positively memorable experience while with us. I am sorry to hear that your experience began on not such a positive note. We will communicate this concern to our local taxi cab bureau. We look forward to having you visit our city and property again in the future.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We stayed here when we were at a convention. I really liked our room - it was large and had nice amenities like single cup Kerig coffee maker, refrigerator and large bathroom with separate shower & tub. They were even kind enough to bring up a microwave when we asked. The location was close to the convention center and the river and not too far away from the French Quarter.

The restaurant did not look too inviting and the doorman were not too friendly. Those were the only two negatives. The front waiting area was very nice and the check in staff were nice. This is a nice, quality hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iam_intrigued
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry R, Director of Rooms at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback. I am very happy that you enjoyed your experience at our property. It's always nice when you can work a bit of pleasure into a convention visit. We will work to address your concerns with our team in our restaurant and at our door. We look forward to having you back in our city and at our property in the future.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 164 in New Orleans
7,291 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 164 in New Orleans
4,621 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 164 in New Orleans
4,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#19 of 164 in New Orleans
1,423 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#7 of 164 in New Orleans
1,660 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews New Orleans Hotel

Property: Loews New Orleans Hotel
Address: 300 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130-3216
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Big Easy spirit at Loews New Orleans Hotel, where the plush accommodations of a fine luxury hotel are complemented by warm Loews hospitality, fabulous food and jazzy cocktails. Laissez Les Bon Temps Rouler (Let the Good Times Roll) at our New Orleans luxury hotel. Among Travel + Leisure's "World's Best Hotels, guests enjoy impeccable service and a vibrant environment. With 285 rooms including 12 suites, each of our guestrooms boasts views of the mighty Mississippi River, French Quarter or New Orleans skyline. Indulge in playful modern Creole cuisine at Cafe Adelaide or enjoy classic cocktails at The Swizzle Stick Bar, home to the country's first Bar Chef Table - both operated by the legendary Commander's Palace Family of Restaurants. Be pampered at Balance Spa and also enjoy complimentary access to the state-of-the-art fitness center and lap pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Loews New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews New Orleans
New Orleans Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing