We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfy, contemporary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Ranked #13 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Waterloo, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Clean, comfy, contemporary”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a few days during a conference. The hotel was centrally located in the financial district, which is very close to the casino and convention center, and only a ten to twenty minute walk to the warehouse/arts district and French Quarter.

The hotel was clean and comfortable, with spacious rooms and contemporary bathrooms. The style of the room was pretty basic, but the bathrooms were nice.

The food at the hotel restaurant was wonderful. I enjoyed a post-travel dinner alone, away from the rowdiness of the Swizzle Stick bar on the opposite side of the corridor. The pork chop was delicious, and the service was excellent. All of the food we had during the conference was also wonderful.

My only negative would be the service. My concern about saying this is I think it may be a cultural difference. When I first arrived at the hotel, I thought the staff wasn't very friendly. They didn't really smile and seemed lacsidasical. There was also an issue with my reservation, and instead of being accomodating, it seemed like an annoyance to them (we had three rooms and I was the only person who came in on the day of the reservation because the other people's flights were rebooked due to bad weather). The attendant who had to unlock the reservation in the computer even gave me a rude look when I tried to explain the situation. What I realized is that this is the norm in New Orleans! The ebb and flow and service demeanor is just different than what I am used to. In general, service is slow, laid back and unenthusiastic, which is very different than what I am accustomed to. On the other hand, I should add that the phone agent who booked my trip (not from New Orleans) was absolutely fantastic.

My only other negative is probably something that hotel's do in general. I accidentally left my pajama's in the room when I checked out, realizing later that night. Luckily, I wasn't far away, and could return to retrieve them, but the hotel didn't make me aware that they had been forgotton. With all of the communications technology we have these days, why wouldn't they have notified me that there were items left in the room instead of just sending them to the lost and found?

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the water and on a higher floor if you want a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irispiral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry R, Manager at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We take great pride in providing a quality product and a high level of service. I am delighted you enjoyed our food and room accommodations. We are known for providing a uniquely high level of service. I apologize for us having fallen short of both our standards and your expectations as it relates to service. We will definitely share your feedback with our team members to ensure that this is addressed accordingly. We hope to have another opportunity to have you with us in the future so that we can demonstrate the service levels that we are known for and take great pride in.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,589
    597
    191
    83
    54
See reviews for
509
592
96
939
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrington, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Great location, near the French Quarter. The room were large, the staff was friendly and helpful. Banquet food very good. The bar was lively with attentive wait staff. Have stayed in New Orleans before but this was the best location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jokerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry R, Manager at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience. We appreciate your taking the time to do so. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. The Swizzle Stick Bar is the perfect place to visit after a day or meetings or sightseeing. During your next visit please be sure to visit Cafe Adelaide as well. We look forward to hosting your next visit to New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The hotel is beautiful, and the room was spacious and well-appointed. I was there for a mixture of business and pleasure - the conference facilities were nice, and the food was terrific. The service and front desk staff were all very helpful and could not have been more accommodating in terms of giving advice on things to see and do. I would definitely stay with Loews again.

Room Tip: Put in for an upgraded room. The upgrade charges are reasonable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry R, Manager at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We take great pride in being the perfect destination for both business and pleasure. We will be sure to share your feedback with our team members. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Pros: The double queen room was a large room with a big bathroom for a standard room. Three of us were more than comfortable. The beds were excellent. The concierge was very helpful. The room was quiet even next to the elevator and I'm fussy. They brought us extra coffee pods within minutes of requesting them.

Cons: They charged us for items that we should not have been. $300+ in charges. They did correct it without much fuss and handed me a new statement. Strange though, the front desk person upon check out asked me if I wanted to see our itemized statement. I'm a frequent business traveler and I've never been asked that. When there were extra charges, I felt like it was a little shady. Since it's a reputable hotel, I'll give them the benefit of it being several simple errors. I'm glad I looked. The amount on the credit card still isn't corrected.

It's a small walk to the FQ so if you want to be in the heart of it all, this is not the place but I liked it because it was a quiet area. They have a great restaurant and bar but they are lacking a coffee counter. Something that would be a quick trip downstairs in the a.m. for coffee and muffins. They do have coffee pods in the room.

All in all, nice people and classy clientele.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry R, Manager at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience as well as our central location. We take great pride in providing comfortable accommodations and efficient service. It is our standard to inquire about reviewing the bill in order to speed the checkout process as we email the bill to any email address on file the night prior to departure as one of our many green initiatives. We also make the review of the bill available via the television. I sincerely apologize for the discrepancy and am happy we were able to quickly correct the issue. We look forward to, hopefully, having another opportunity to ensure a flawless experience from start to finish during your next visit to New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed for a conference but would definitely return for personal as well. Hotel is in a great location, close to the casino, French Quarter, the river, shopping, great restaurants, etc. Staff were excellent and attentive. Hotel food, via the conference, was exceptional. Expensive bar, especially with happy hour just outside, but c'est la vie. Room very clean and quiet, bed comfortable. The only thing I would change is to have a printed invoice delivered under my door on the last night - bit surprised to have to go to the front desk to check out, been awhile since I've had to do that. But otherwise, absolutely no complaints!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry R, Manager at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your visit and also for taking the time to share your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. We provide email delivery of folios on the night prior to departure. This is one of many ways we work to reduce our carbon footprint. We will be sure to share your feedback with our team. We look forward to hosting your next visit to New Orleans.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This is a beautiful hotel in a fantastic location. It was an easy walk to the French Quarter. Cabs were easily accessible, too. The bell staff is especially attentive, anticipating your every request. The front desk staff was efficient and helpful. The concierge was also excellent.

My room was spacious and beautifully decorated. The bed was wonderfully comfortable. I could have easily spent more time in bed. A chaise, rather than an upholstered chair, was impractical. The bathroom was fabulous -- large, with granite countertops, a bathtub and separate tile shower. The sink faced a large window. The towels were thick.

I was attending a conference in the hotel. The food served for breakfasts, lunch, and breaks tasted good and looked great. Service in the hotel's bar, even in a larger group, was excellent.

Now for the negatives. I ordered a salad from the room service menu, confirming ingredients twice with the order taker. The salad I got was not what was described. The ingredients were different and I was disappointed.

The deadbolt on my door didn't work. I called the front desk and a worker was at my door within minutes. He got it to work for him, but it worked for me only after too much effort. I had trouble as the worker was leaving my room. He was convinced the lock worked and left. I struggled with it for the duration of my stay.

Green Features: I would have preferred that housekeeping not clean my room. The maid was conscientious, though, and was ready to totally clean my room until I interrupted her adn told her it wasn't necessary.
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marybogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry R, Manager at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We appreciate your taking the time to do so. It is our goal to provide a flawless experience from beginning to end. I apologize for the discrepancies with your room service order as well as the lock issue experienced. It is always our goal to make things right when opportunities occur. I would love to opportunity to speak to you in reference to these issues and personally apologize. Please contact us at neworleanscustomerservice@loewshotels.com with your contact info so we may ensure we rectify the matter. We hope to have another opportunity to make up for these unfortunate opportunities.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This is a very nice hotel, good location and with huge rooms. However, some more attention to small details would be appreciated. The hotel seems a bit "cold" at times. Breakfast is expensive and not very good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Javitxus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry R, Manager at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback. We will be sure to use your feedback to ensure our service levels and quality are up to our standards and your expectations. We hope to have another opportunity to have your with us. We look forward to having the opportunity to demonstrate the service and quality levels we are known for.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 164 in New Orleans
7,296 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 164 in New Orleans
4,624 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 164 in New Orleans
4,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#22 of 164 in New Orleans
1,423 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#7 of 164 in New Orleans
1,660 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews New Orleans Hotel

Property: Loews New Orleans Hotel
Address: 300 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130-3216
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Big Easy spirit at Loews New Orleans Hotel, where the plush accommodations of a fine luxury hotel are complemented by warm Loews hospitality, fabulous food and jazzy cocktails. Laissez Les Bon Temps Rouler (Let the Good Times Roll) at our New Orleans luxury hotel. Among Travel + Leisure's "World's Best Hotels, guests enjoy impeccable service and a vibrant environment. With 285 rooms including 12 suites, each of our guestrooms boasts views of the mighty Mississippi River, French Quarter or New Orleans skyline. Indulge in playful modern Creole cuisine at Cafe Adelaide or enjoy classic cocktails at The Swizzle Stick Bar, home to the country's first Bar Chef Table - both operated by the legendary Commander's Palace Family of Restaurants. Be pampered at Balance Spa and also enjoy complimentary access to the state-of-the-art fitness center and lap pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Loews New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews New Orleans
New Orleans Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing