We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable but Housekeeping Lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Ranked #15 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My wife and I just returned from five nights at the Loews New Orleans. Overall, we had an enjoyable time but we felt they could have done a better job on the housekeeping side. When we arrived, we were happy to have been offered an upgrade as our original room wasn't ready as yet. The room was very nice. Quite large, with a large bathroom with separate tub and shower. The bathroom even had a window - which was a nice touch. The bed was very comfortable. The furniture was, overall, in good shape except for some scuffs on the bench at the end of the bed. The room had nice large windows which brought in the sunshine. The location is good. A block or so from the River and a couple of blocks from the convention centre. The French Quarter and Casino were only a block away. There was no complimentary coffee in the lobby in the morning which was somewhat disappointing as I like to have a coffee and read the papers in the morning - but the room did had a coffee maker. Staff in the lobby area were very friendly and helpful. The exercise area was very nice with good equipment. The only compliant we had was with the housekeeping on the 15th floor. For instance, there was a tray of breakfast scraps sitting outside the room next to ours for almost 24 hours. It was only removed when I brought it up with the folks at the front desk. As well, there was quite a bit of white particles (it almost looked like drywall bits) lying on the floor next to one of the elevators for about 3 days before it was cleaned up. The Loews was such a nice hotel that I was completely surprised these issues were not immediately dealt with. The two compliants aside, we did enjoy our visit and we will be back in the future.

Room Tip: Its worthwhile to pay a bit more for a river view room.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheOakvillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry R, Manager at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your honest feedback. At the Loews New Orleans we take great pride in providing a product and service that is up to both your expectations and our standards. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your visit with us. Our housekeeping team will be sure to address the areas of deficiency you've expressed. We will be sure to share your comments with our team members as well. We are delighted you enjoyed your overall experience with us and hope to host your next visit to our city.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,549)
There are newer reviews for Loews New Orleans Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,907 - 1,913 of 2,549 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

Great location for visiting the French Quarter as well as access to the Convention Center.
We had a corner room which was spacious and beautifully appointed. Staff all friendly and helpful. The parking is pricey at $39/night but this seems to be the norm for New Orleans.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, they are apparently a bit bigger.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry R, Manager at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your experience at our property. We appreciate your taking the time to share your feedback. Be sure to visit Cafe Adelaide during your next visit to our property. We are confident you will enjoy your experience there as well. As you mentioned, our location is convenient to the French Quarter as well as many of the other great attractions New Orleans has to offer. We look forward to hosting your next visit to our city.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Loews after attending an event my company sponsored in March. We were impressed with the quick and smooth check-in and check-out, valet, and bellhops. They were all first class. The room was very nice for the price. You could see that it had small signs of high occupancy, and the bathroom was not as nice as others, but overall I think it is my favorite hotel in NOLA for the price. I also love the Ritz and the Roosevelt, but I am usually able to get better prices at the Loews! I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LafayetteTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry R, Manager at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your experience. We appreciate your taking the time to do so. We will be sure to pass along your comments to our door staff. We look forward to your next visit to our property.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is one of my favorite hotels in New Orleans. I enjoy the wonderful service, great location, and size. Doesn't seem too big or too small. Ask for a corner room overlooking the river if you can get it. Restaurant is great and bar is lively most times I have been there. Consistent on all levels. Try it out. You won't be sorry. Pricing is consistent with other hotels in area.

Room Tip: King bed, corner room overlooking the river
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Virginia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry R, Manager at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience. We appreciate your continued business. Cafe Adelaide and the Swizzle Stick bar are just two of many great amenities we have to offer. We will be sure to share your comments with our team members. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My family and I flew into New Orleans for a business/pleasure trip. The hotel was very nicely accomodated and perfect location within walking distance to almost everything in New Orleans. Bell staff and front desk staff was extremely helpful and courteous the entire visit. There should have been at least two conciege on duty nearly all the time because I was never able to talk to one, but the front desk and bellman covered for them terrifically and got us everywhere we needed to be. Room service was great with large selection and exceptional breakfast. Housekeeping lacked a little bit, but was more-than-willing to remedy any issues immediately. Parking was easy because of valet, but a little pricy at $39 per night, which adds up for a week-long stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Decent view from all rooms, but ask for a river view if desired. Higher floor rooms will also take...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry R, Manager at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your experience with us. We appreciate your taking the time to do so. We are happy that you enjoyed your experience in our city and at our property. We will be sure to share your comments with our housekeeping team to ensure we are providing service that is up to our standards and your expectations. We look forward to hosting your next visit to our city.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

While you will of course want to visit the French Quarter, you definitely don't want to stay there - or eat anything there but beignets or muffalettas. Loews is a very good compromise. Just a few blocks off Canal St, it's close enough for a morning stroll to Café Du Monde or Café Beignet, and on the edge of the Warehouse District which is a much better choice for finding some excellent meals. It's also a couple of blocks from the WWII museum and just a short walk to the St Charles Street Car line - which you can take out to the Garden District for a great choice of restaurants along Magazine Street.

Loews rooms are on the high end of ordinary, but very clean and comfortable. The guys at the front door (bellmen, valets, doormen) were friendly at all hours and always helpful. Don't think we could have found a better property for under $200 per nite.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Wag109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry R, Manager at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. As you mentioned, we are in the perfect location. Whether you are in town for work or play we can provide you with the perfect service levels and accommodations for a memorable New Orleans experience. We look forward to hosting your next visit to our city.

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Bright suite, jacuzzi tub, lovely views and tip top service from front desk made a business trip extra special. They upgraded my room, directed me to a midnight snack and were eager to serve. Perfect bed, pillows and towels.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salvanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry R, Manager at Loews New Orleans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to our city. See you soon!

Sincerely,

Loews New Orleans Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
7,418 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 166 in New Orleans
4,199 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 166 in New Orleans
4,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 166 in New Orleans
1,460 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews New Orleans Hotel

Address: 300 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130-3216
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £124 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Big Easy spirit at Loews New Orleans Hotel, where the plush accommodations of a fine luxury hotel are complemented by warm Loews hospitality, fabulous food and jazzy cocktails. Laissez Les Bon Temps Rouler (Let the Good Times Roll) at our New Orleans luxury hotel. Among Travel + Leisure's "World's Best Hotels, guests enjoy impeccable service and a vibrant environment. With 285 rooms including 12 suites, each of our guestrooms boasts views of the mighty Mississippi River, French Quarter or New Orleans skyline. Indulge in playful modern Creole cuisine at Cafe Adelaide or enjoy classic cocktails at The Swizzle Stick Bar, home to the country's first Bar Chef Table - both operated by the legendary Commander's Palace Family of Restaurants. Be pampered at Balance Spa and also enjoy complimentary access to the state-of-the-art fitness center and lap pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews New Orleans
New Orleans Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing