We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Hotel ... BUT .....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Ranked #12 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
north of england
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A great Hotel ... BUT .....”
Reviewed 11 November 2008

The housekeeping issues brought up by other reviewers need addressing. To be plain - the people who clean the room simply do not do it very well - they merely make the beds and change the towels. On several occasions dirty cups and glasses were left in the room, nothing was tidied, the coffee was not replenished and on several occasions on returning to the room at around 5pm after being out all day the room had STILL not been cleaned! On the positive side, I think that the staff are well used to complaints about housekeeping - I think the management do not have any intentions of insisting housekeeping staff improve as the latter are probably paid "peanuts" and it is clearly considered more cost effective to retain lazy staff and compensate guests who make a complaint! Hence we had free drinks, free meals, bathrobes to take home and a whole plethora of goodies! I would suggest that rather than "putting up" with the inconveniences of not having coffee replenished etc that guests do bring this to the management's attention. I think only when half the guests are having to have hundreds of dollars of credit at the bar and restaurant will the low standards of housekeeping be addressed on a more permanent basis.
Other than this I agree with all the positive reviews, very comfy and spacious rooms and bathrooms especially in grand deluxe, great location and a wonderful if slightly overpriced restaurant with an atmospheric bar.

  • Liked — location and spacious rooms
  • Disliked — low standards of housekeeping
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smg23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,501
    569
    182
    77
    52
See reviews for
472
569
90
883
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2008

Nice upscale hotel with only a few small issues.If your looking for a hotel with class and a top notch spa look no futher.The location is great,it's right across the street from Harrahs and about 5 or 6 blocks from the La. Superdome.Also about 3 blocks to the French Quarter.Don't forget to hit Dragos for it's charbroiled oysters,at The Hilton Riverside(2 blocks).The small issues were the hot tub had a bit of mold,the bed was a bit too firm,and the ac didn't seem to put out too good..But believe me the hotel was still top notch.

  • Liked — nice river view
  • Disliked — weak a.c.,firm bed
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harleybonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2008

We checked into a room with mold in the corner grout of the bathtub. The slip strips were discolored. 11 ring marks & a spill on the coffee table. As an "upscale" hotel, I expected more. So, I asked for a new room on speaker phone since the cordless phone was dead.

The second room had cookie crumbs in the wingback chair and a something elliptical resting on the top ledge of the thick baseboards. No mold, but still nasty looking slip strips. I called and asked for housekeeping to come while we went to dinner. When we returned two hours later, no one had been in the room. When I called and said we wanted to head to bed, two housekeepers arrived in minutes. The housekeeper who picked up the item of the baseboard said it was gum although my guess is still peanut.

We began a "check before use" policy that found dirty smudges on a wash cloth and a pillow sham. The washcloth was particularly gross because of proximity to the toilet. The next morning, I found the blow dryer inoperable - about 10 minutes for the replacement.

In addition to my housekeeping calls, we were "needy" guests: Early check-in; left the car in the valet stand while we checked in; late check-out; had to get back in the room after check-out; asked to borrow an umbrella after check-out; luggage storage. All of these requests were accommodated. No person, was ever short or rude (even the folks who cleaned the room while we looked on.)

Another couple in our party had to change rooms because of ants; however, more folks in our party had uneventful stays than had problems.

We noted no problem with the valet service as mentioned in a previous review. More often than not, there were several valets waiting out front.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Msshuffler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2008

We stayed for two nights right after they opened the city after Hurricane Gustav. The Loews Hotel is exceptional. The facilities are nicely decorated, the lobby is beautiful and air conditioned. The hotel is also pet friendly and in a great location, close to RiverWalk and the French Quarter.

The front desk staff are professional and very helpful.

Our room was clean, nicely decorated and so comfortable. Great flat screen tv. The bed was firm and the pillows were great. The bathroom had both a tub and separate shower. It also had lots of room to move around.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a great experience.

  • Liked — Great location and facilities.
  • Disliked — Sofa in the room was stained and old.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank faat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AOL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2008

We had tickets to see the Bucs play the Saints on Sunday, September 7th. We had airline tickets to fly Southwest on Thursday, September 4th and reservations for 4 nights at Harrah's (free rooms). Then Hurricane Gustav came up the Gulf and a mandatory evacuation was ordered for of all of New Orleans. On Tuesday night Harrah's called and said our reservations were cancelled and they didn't know when they would be ready to open. They were not at all helpful even though we were left with nowhere to stay.

I contacted Loews and got a room for 4 nights. Our flight was one of the first ones to arrive in New Orleans after Hurricane Gustav passed. We arrived at Loews about 3 p.m. to a skeleton staff of employees who were either back in the city after the evacuation or had not left. There was still a curfew in effect and very little open the first couple of nights that we were there, but Loews more than made up for any inconvenience. They put out a great (and very reasonable priced) buffet on Thursday night with what they had available since there had not been any deliveries in a few days.

It was the best experience we have ever had at a hotel! The restaurant manager, Daniel is a warm wonderful person could not have been more accomodating and efficient. Bartenders and wait staff Angela, Micheal, Michael, David, Lou, Talia are incredible. Nathan from the bell staff was terrific. By Friday we felt like part of the Loews family! We met people who lived locally and had no electricity when they returned home. We met family members of staff who were staying at Loews because they had no electricity at home. We had a great time (even though the Bucs did lose on Sunday). In spite of the adversities of hurricane evacuation the staff at this hotel were just amazing. What could have been a very miserable experience was turned into an outstanding trip for us. Thank you, thank you. You guys are the best! We will pay to stay at Loews the next time we come to New Orleans rather than stay at Harrah's. And, we will definitely be looking for Loews hotels when we travel.

  • Liked — Staff and it's Pet Friendly
  • Disliked — Absolutely Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RayPRoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2008

Our weekend in New Orleans was made so much better by our decision to stay at the Loews Hotel. The staff was amazing, all the guys down in the lobby helped our group of 10 get unloaded and up to our rooms and then were equally helpful in getting us back in the cars for the trip home on Sunday. The restaurant has an excellent breakfast buffet that we enjoyed on Sunday morning.....just what we needed after two nights at Bourbon Street. The rooms were big and clean and the King bed was amazing......best ever. Our view of the river from the 19th floor was beautiful too. Room service at 2am was very prompt, very professional. I would highly recommend this Hotel to anyone staying in New Orleans. The casino was right across the street, so was Mothers restaurant and Bourbon street was an easy walk. We'll be back.

  • Liked — Very good service, very large and clean rooms and a great location.
  • Disliked — The bartenders were a bit grumpy at 1 am in the bar.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travman62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2008

Once again after doing my research on Tripadvisor, I settled on the Loews. I will describe the positive things first. The room was very spacious. I became a member of the Loews "You First" program before going on my trip and I was able to get a room upgrade and all the benefits associated with the program. I recommend you look into it. The front desk staff was professional and had an overall good attitude. The doormen and bellmen were the absolute best ever! Especially Doug, he is the nicest hotel employee we encountered. I will agree with the description of the bathroom in the previous review. The hotel is in a good neighborhood, but the streets are isolated late at night. I recommend Mother's restaurant across the street. It is a New Orleans establishment in every sense of the word. The experience in this hotel was good overall, except... The not so good. Our room was not cleaned at all on Saturday. The housekeeper eventually came at 8:00 p.m. Which was of course too late really.I have a bit of a problem with that, I guess it's b/c I'm a wife and mom and like to be a bit pampered on vacation. I did get the turn down service offered the first night. The other thing that I found is that the hotel is kind of far from the Quarter. It's within walking distance, but kind of far and like I said the streets are isolated at night.

  • Liked — It is a very nice hotel.
  • Disliked — Distance from Quarter and housekeeping attention.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luv2travelMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,392 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,006 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews New Orleans Hotel

Property: Loews New Orleans Hotel
Address: 300 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130-3216
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Big Easy spirit at Loews New Orleans Hotel, where the plush accommodations of a fine luxury hotel are complemented by warm Loews hospitality, fabulous food and jazzy cocktails. Laissez Les Bon Temps Rouler (Let the Good Times Roll) at our New Orleans luxury hotel. Among Travel + Leisure's "World's Best Hotels, guests enjoy impeccable service and a vibrant environment. With 285 rooms including 12 suites, each of our guestrooms boasts views of the mighty Mississippi River, French Quarter or New Orleans skyline. Indulge in playful modern Creole cuisine at Cafe Adelaide or enjoy classic cocktails at The Swizzle Stick Bar, home to the country's first Bar Chef Table - both operated by the legendary Commander's Palace Family of Restaurants. Be pampered at Balance Spa and also enjoy complimentary access to the state-of-the-art fitness center and lap pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews New Orleans
New Orleans Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing