We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Monteleone(New Orleans)
US$325
US$279
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni Riverfront Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$249
US$208
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$432
US$400
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
New Orleans Marriott(New Orleans)
US$285
US$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$182
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Whitney Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$269
US$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$359
US$290
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni Royal Orleans(New Orleans)
US$359
US$348
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,820)
Filter reviews
2,820 results
Traveller rating
1,801
652
208
96
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,801
652
208
96
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscafe adelaideswizzle stickfrench quarterharrah's casinomississippi riverconvention centerroom servicewarehouse districtbusiness tripwithin walking distancebeautiful hotelenjoyed my staywwii museumvalet parkingmardi grasfew blocksbourbon street
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,678 - 2,683 of 2,820 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2008

The housekeeping issues brought up by other reviewers need addressing. To be plain - the people who clean the room simply do not do it very well - they merely make the beds and change the towels. On several occasions dirty cups and glasses were left in the room, nothing was tidied, the coffee was not replenished and on several occasions on returning to the room at around 5pm after being out all day the room had STILL not been cleaned! On the positive side, I think that the staff are well used to complaints about housekeeping - I think the management do not have any intentions of insisting housekeeping staff improve as the latter are probably paid "peanuts" and it is clearly considered more cost effective to retain lazy staff and compensate guests who make a complaint! Hence we had free drinks, free meals, bathrobes to take home and a whole plethora of goodies! I would suggest that rather than "putting up" with the inconveniences of not having coffee replenished etc that guests do bring this to the management's attention. I think only when half the guests are having to have hundreds of dollars of credit at the bar and restaurant will the low standards of housekeeping be addressed on a more permanent basis.
Other than this I agree with all the positive reviews, very comfy and spacious rooms and bathrooms especially in grand deluxe, great location and a wonderful if slightly overpriced restaurant with an atmospheric bar.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smg23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2008

Nice upscale hotel with only a few small issues.If your looking for a hotel with class and a top notch spa look no futher.The location is great,it's right across the street from Harrahs and about 5 or 6 blocks from the La. Superdome.Also about 3 blocks to the French Quarter.Don't forget to hit Dragos for it's charbroiled oysters,at The Hilton Riverside(2 blocks).The small issues were the hot tub had a bit of mold,the bed was a bit too firm,and the ac didn't seem to put out too good..But believe me the hotel was still top notch.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harleybonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2008

We checked into a room with mold in the corner grout of the bathtub. The slip strips were discolored. 11 ring marks & a spill on the coffee table. As an "upscale" hotel, I expected more. So, I asked for a new room on speaker phone since the cordless phone was dead.

The second room had cookie crumbs in the wingback chair and a something elliptical resting on the top ledge of the thick baseboards. No mold, but still nasty looking slip strips. I called and asked for housekeeping to come while we went to dinner. When we returned two hours later, no one had been in the room. When I called and said we wanted to head to bed, two housekeepers arrived in minutes. The housekeeper who picked up the item of the baseboard said it was gum although my guess is still peanut.

We began a "check before use" policy that found dirty smudges on a wash cloth and a pillow sham. The washcloth was particularly gross because of proximity to the toilet. The next morning, I found the blow dryer inoperable - about 10 minutes for the replacement.

In addition to my housekeeping calls, we were "needy" guests: Early check-in; left the car in the valet stand while we checked in; late check-out; had to get back in the room after check-out; asked to borrow an umbrella after check-out; luggage storage. All of these requests were accommodated. No person, was ever short or rude (even the folks who cleaned the room while we looked on.)

Another couple in our party had to change rooms because of ants; however, more folks in our party had uneventful stays than had problems.

We noted no problem with the valet service as mentioned in a previous review. More often than not, there were several valets waiting out front.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Msshuffler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2008

We stayed for two nights right after they opened the city after Hurricane Gustav. The Loews Hotel is exceptional. The facilities are nicely decorated, the lobby is beautiful and air conditioned. The hotel is also pet friendly and in a great location, close to RiverWalk and the French Quarter.

The front desk staff are professional and very helpful.

Our room was clean, nicely decorated and so comfortable. Great flat screen tv. The bed was firm and the pillows were great. The bathroom had both a tub and separate shower. It also had lots of room to move around.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a great experience.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank faat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2008

We had tickets to see the Bucs play the Saints on Sunday, September 7th. We had airline tickets to fly Southwest on Thursday, September 4th and reservations for 4 nights at Harrah's (free rooms). Then Hurricane Gustav came up the Gulf and a mandatory evacuation was ordered for of all of New Orleans. On Tuesday night Harrah's called and said our reservations were cancelled and they didn't know when they would be ready to open. They were not at all helpful even though we were left with nowhere to stay.

I contacted Loews and got a room for 4 nights. Our flight was one of the first ones to arrive in New Orleans after Hurricane Gustav passed. We arrived at Loews about 3 p.m. to a skeleton staff of employees who were either back in the city after the evacuation or had not left. There was still a curfew in effect and very little open the first couple of nights that we were there, but Loews more than made up for any inconvenience. They put out a great (and very reasonable priced) buffet on Thursday night with what they had available since there had not been any deliveries in a few days.

It was the best experience we have ever had at a hotel! The restaurant manager, Daniel is a warm wonderful person could not have been more accomodating and efficient. Bartenders and wait staff Angela, Micheal, Michael, David, Lou, Talia are incredible. Nathan from the bell staff was terrific. By Friday we felt like part of the Loews family! We met people who lived locally and had no electricity when they returned home. We met family members of staff who were staying at Loews because they had no electricity at home. We had a great time (even though the Bucs did lose on Sunday). In spite of the adversities of hurricane evacuation the staff at this hotel were just amazing. What could have been a very miserable experience was turned into an outstanding trip for us. Thank you, thank you. You guys are the best! We will pay to stay at Loews the next time we come to New Orleans rather than stay at Harrah's. And, we will definitely be looking for Loews hotels when we travel.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RayPRoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews