We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staycation Destination”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Ranked #14 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ponchatoula, LA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Staycation Destination”
Reviewed 17 March 2009

I had the privledge to stay at the Loews this past weekend on a staycation. We were upgraded to one of the largest rooms I had the pleasure to enjoy - the seating area with two queens was perfect for my wife, three kids, and I. Great location for going to the aquarium, bug museum, and getting on the streetcar to go get some beignets. My kids loved the indoor pool. Love the bellstaff, they were very friendly, loved the breakfast buffet - the omelet man was great!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyPonchatoula_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,532
    581
    186
    77
    53
See reviews for
481
579
92
908
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WorldWideTraveler
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2009

First off, it was Mardi Gras in the middle of the 3 days I stayed but that should have no bearing on the concerns I have with Loews.
Internet costs $12.95 a day?!? Are you serious?!? This is not an inexpensive hotel and to have a cash grab such this, truly annoying.
More than one other person in the group I was with was improperly billed on the minibar in the room. I took nothing but got a bill which was reversed when I protested. Another money grab?
Finally, the coffee and paper cups for the morning beverage were not replenished once in 3 days. I suppose that being Mardi Gras the real mugs were locked up for safe keeping but they took the used paper cups and left me with nothing! I stayed for another week in New Orleans and was happy to be at another hotel that was infinitely more accomodating with free internet, resupplied amenities and infinitely friendlier service at less than half the cost and only a short distance away.
The lounge and restaurants were overpriced and service was poor, yes I mentioned it was Mardi Gras but people were not even particularly friendly, more exhasperated or annoyed at working and not partying perhaps?
I really have nothing positive to say, I was happy to be out of there.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GoesFar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLORIDA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2009

Stay here only for the location, it has a nice view of New Orleans and isn't far from the French Quarter. Parking is $30 for valet which basically you have to use and you have to unload and load up on busy Poydras street. The staff AREN'T friendly or helpful at all!!! The tub was dirty, and be prepared if you take a shower to have it fluctuate on you. The room is nothing to write home about...it's small and it has no amenities but a single cup coffee or tea maker. We got in late and were tired so we ordered room service...be prepared to spend $$$ for cold food. If you want to spend ALOT of money for BAD SERVICE and NOTHING EXTRA (surprised they don't charge for ice) then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GRAVITON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Level Contributor
125 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2009

Got assigned here by my company during a meeting (one of the few times they don't let me pick my own place). No way did they get their money's worth. This is a place that thinks it's all that, but really isn't. There's a fancy bathroom (though, luckily, I had mouthwash from a Holiday Inn Exp, since Loews doesn't provide) and a comfortable bed (though the pillows are all mush), the TV has a good selection and it is a big room. But are you spending so much time there that you need all the space? Didn't pay for Internet, which a colleague says runs around $14/day.

Got put in a riverview room. About a block away there are freight tracks. Trainspotters will love it, though no one else will be thrilled as the trains honk at a crossing at the bottom of Poydras St. This goes on at all hours.

Also, had some drunks in the hallway a couple of nights. Suppose it comes with being in New Orleans at Mardi Gras.

Clerk at check-in was bored by the whole thing. Better on check-out, but they had never slipped a bill under the door and the "check folio" option on the TV never worked the entire time I was there. This meant spending more time on the way out to review the bill.

Another colleague was also surprised to find a place like this is pet-friendly. She isn't, and wasn't amused.

If this is your cup of tea, I'm sure you'll be pleased. But if you're seeking value on your own dime, keep looking.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HonestReviewForU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
216 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2009

Can't comment on value, as the tab for my one-night stay was picked up by others. The hotel was beautiful (with the exception of a very ordinary bathtub), but the staffing was poor. They asked me upon arrival if I wanted the Wall St. Journal delivered. I did, I replied. It never came. I put out the hang-tab for breakfast at 10PM; at 6AM the next morning, when breakfast didn't come, I opened my door and the hang-tab was still there. And only after I emerged from the shower did I discover that my room lacked a hair dryer -- when I phoned to inquire, they doubted me and had me look in four places (with wet hair) before they brought one up. Unacceptable in a super elite hotel, don't you think?

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthPotomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2009

I love the location of this hotel and usually like staying here, but I guess they were having an off day this time. When I arrived the staff seemed irritated that I was not going to park my car there. The room was big and seemed clean, but had carpet stains. The room service has changed menus. I recall getting it before and the food was very good, now it is just standard and many items can't be ordered after midnight. Internet access is around $15. I asked for and was given a late checkout, but staff banged on my door twice to see when I was leaving ( I still had an hour before checkout!) I stay often in New Orleans and usually try to stay here, but may go somewhere else next time. If the rates are good I'll give it another try, but there are several good hotels in the area that aren't quite so pricey. I do like the Swizzle Stick Bar in the lobby, the drinks are quite good (as they should be at $10 or more each) Cafe Adelade is a very good restaurant as well.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank alyson003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahamas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2009

Stayed at this hotel with my husband and 5 year old January 16 to 18 2009. Our experience was wonderful, the room was great, every staff we dealt with was very helpful and professional. The hotel was very clean, the spa was fantastic, and the overall experience was one we would not mind repeating, I have already recommended this hotel to my friend and would stay here again if or when I return to New Orleans. Well worth the price.

Travelor from The Bahamas

  • Liked — comfortable and safe
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 00bunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
7,118 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4,459 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
1,348 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
1,630 reviews
Central Business District
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews New Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews New Orleans Hotel

Property: Loews New Orleans Hotel
Address: 300 Poydras St, New Orleans, LA 70130-3216
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Loews New Orleans Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Big Easy spirit at Loews New Orleans Hotel, where the plush accommodations of a fine luxury hotel are complemented by warm Loews hospitality, fabulous food and jazzy cocktails. Laissez Les Bon Temps Rouler (Let the Good Times Roll) at our New Orleans luxury hotel. Among Travel + Leisure's "World's Best Hotels, guests enjoy impeccable service and a vibrant environment. With 285 rooms including 12 suites, each of our guestrooms boasts views of the mighty Mississippi River, French Quarter or New Orleans skyline. Indulge in playful modern Creole cuisine at Cafe Adelaide or enjoy classic cocktails at The Swizzle Stick Bar, home to the country's first Bar Chef Table - both operated by the legendary Commander's Palace Family of Restaurants. Be pampered at Balance Spa and also enjoy complimentary access to the state-of-the-art fitness center and lap pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Loews New Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loews New Orleans
New Orleans Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing