We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Andrew Jackson Hotel
Ranked #50 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2013

rude front desk
room not ready and they did not care (at 3 pm?)
dirty, filthy, moisture ridden, unclean - put towels on the ground to walk

only reason we stayed here was that it was mardi gras and super bowl weekend last year and it was the only available place left..

do not stay here, not one good thing to say about this place..

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 632 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights, and it was a very quaint, rustic atmosphere. Excellent staff, with a great little French style breakfast each morning. I will say that we were creeped out by occasional voices on the phone line while dialing the office... could have been a crossed line or something, but it definitely sounded unnatural. Also my husband swears up and down that he woke to find me fully clothed, sitting on the end of the bed, staring at him. I have no memory of this, but it seemed to unsettle him a little.

All around I will say this is a great place to say if you have an appreciation for history and culture. If you are looking for sprawling marble ballrooms, cashmere bath towels and perfumed pillows, not only is this not the place for you, but neither is New Orleans!

Room Tip: No pool. No fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LittleLyn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The Andrew Jackson hotel in the heart of the New Orleans French Quarter is a jewel. The location is central to sight seeing in the Quarter and close to some of the best dining in the city. The building has a long and colorful history that enhances its charm. The rooms and lobby are clean and well maintained, the staff is friendly and courteous and does their utmost to make your stay pleasant. The morning breakfast delivery is a special treat.
i would highly recommend it to anyone wishing to stay in the Quarter when visiting New Orleans.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My friend and I called from the road to see about getting a room, on the recommendation of the ghost tour agent. We were able to get a room for one night, and were very pleased with our room, we wanted to stay one more night, and as our luck would have it, we were able to stay an extra night. Perfect place to stay, valet parking takes the worry of where to park away. Easy walking to any location we wanted to visit, great choices of restaurants, coffee house, art studios, antiques stores, tour meeting places and of course the bars. Location is just one block from Bourbon Street. The hotel is supposedly haunted and we were excited to hear that, although we didn't experience anything. Breakfast was served to us in the courtyard, rooms are very nice, and I will stay with Katherine and her staff again..

Room Tip: Room 107 is very small, Room 105 is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LovesVenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

In terms of location and price, you can't beat the Andrew Jackson Hotel. Its location on Royal Street is right in the middle of the French Quarter within walking distance to all the great restaraunts and bars. The staff are very nice and they bring you croissants and coffee in the morning which is really nice after a night out. The hotel is historic, so don't expect much in the way of modern luxury hotel ammenities. But if you're in town to go out and see the sights, this hotel is perfect!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slowloris87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Not chair and table in the room. After reclamations There give us a chair.
The breakfast was very good,
We have had it at the nice court yard. The service was really nice.
The hotel is in Royal Street near Bourbon Street and near the river and Streetcar.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My wife and I wanted a nice romantic weekend in New Orleans and the Andrew Jackson hotel exceeded all of our expectations! The hotel is located in the heart of the French Quarter on Royal Street, which is loaded with many quaint antique shops that we visited after a short walk to Cafe Du Monde. This hotel is right out of the romantic 1800's with all of the conveniences of a modern hotel. The staff was excellent and went out of their way to make sure we had a great experience. The complimentary continental breakfast was even delivered to our room on a silver tray with white jacket service...incredible! The hotel is also just one block over from Bourbon street, which was perfect because we had all of the convenience without any of the noise. We would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be staying here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vickie P, General Manager at Andrew Jackson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us here at the Andrew Jackson and for taking the time to post your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#62 of 166 in New Orleans
1,727 reviews
French Quarter
Cornstalk Hotel
Cornstalk Hotel
#39 of 166 in New Orleans
610 reviews
French Quarter
Chateau Hotel
Chateau Hotel
#111 of 166 in New Orleans
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#31 of 166 in New Orleans
2,336 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#54 of 166 in New Orleans
472 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on St. Peter
Inn on St. Peter
#40 of 166 in New Orleans
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrew Jackson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrew Jackson Hotel

Address: 919 Royal St, New Orleans, LA 70116-2792
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £90 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Andrew Jackson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the French Quarter on Royal Street, the Andrew Jackson Hotel features fine Southern Hospitality and charming French Quarter accommodations. The Andrew Jackson Hotel is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and features 21 quaint guest rooms and suites. Our distinctly decorated guestrooms offer Old World charm and modern conveniences. Enjoy one of our spacious guestrooms or suites overlooking the lush tropical courtyard and French Quarter fountain. Our Royal Balcony Suites feature expansive views of Royal Street and the French Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Andrew Jackson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrew Jackson New Orleans
Hotel Andrew Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing