We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quarter House Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quarter House Resort
Ranked #42 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Elida, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

My husband and i loved our stay at Quarter House. The staff were all very nice and always helpful, the room was charming with exposed brick walls. Altho we really only were in our room to sleep, since isnt that what a hotel room is for? The pool is tiny, good for kids only, but we never intended on swimming anyway. Theres a great bar next door if you just want want a place to sit and have a drink without crowds of people, it was The Back Space. We highly recommend eating at the Royal House as well, the crawfish etouffe was the best thing i have ever eaten. Our room also had a jacuzzi tub which was a must with how much walking we did, i started every morning with the jets on high to soothe my very sore legs! I would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C-RFerguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    196
    46
    27
    25
See reviews for
126
250
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We can't say enough about the Quarter House. We checked in on a Saturday, after a twelve hour drive, and the staff had us up in our suite in no time. We had a two bedroom unit (both king sized beds), with full kitchen. The decor is wonderful, with exposed brick throughout and fantastic old world furnishings. It is located on the edge of the French Quarter and is a short walk from Bourbon Street and also Canal Street, where all the public transportation can be accessed. (New Orleans has GREAT street cars going all over the city.) Even though our room was directly above Rue Chartres, it was extremely quiet

We highly recommend the Quarter House to anyone wanting a fantastic location in the heart of New Orleans.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WildBill87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Traveling with my party of seven, we arrived on a Saturday. We were promptly greeted by the bell person who loaded our bags on the sidewalk. The registration staff was pleasant and had us checked in in a few minutes. We went to out two bedroom suite on the fifth floor. With two bedrooms on a second tier and a kitchen/dining room and living room on the first, the suite was perfect for our contingent that included two nine year olds. The suite also featured three bathrooms, which came in handy after eating creole and cajun foods all week. There were three flatscreen tvs. The two pullout coaches were comfortable.The suite was clean and well-maintained. When we noticed our dryer was not working, we simply called the front office and they had it fixed the next day. In the meantime, we used the dryers on the first floor, located right off of the courtyard, until Max from maintenance worked his magic. The courtyard features a small pool and hot tub, and it provides a place for those to satisfy their nicotine urges. Although it is not big by any means, the courtyard is a comfortable place to chill out and have your kids play in the small pool.
The location of the Quarter House is perfect for those who want to hang out in the French Quarter. It is just a few blocks from Bourbon St, but just far enough to be away from the noise. If you like your gentleman's clubs with unattractive, skanky, or over-the hill babes, then The Harem is just twenty feet away and Dixie Divas is right around the corner. If you want a foot massage, then just take a walk around the corner on Canal St. and you will have your choice of Asian Foot Massage joints. For a quick six pack, you can also go right to Canal. I recommend going to the CVS as it is $3 cheaper and only a block away. For a quick bite to eat, Daisy Dukes is just steps away. The Quarter House is also a few blocks away from the St. Charles trolley, which can take you to the World War II Museum and the Audobon Zoo. So, as you can see, this place is located in a convenient place.
If I happen to travel to The Big Easy again, I will definitely be staying at The Quarter House.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BobWDW2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisville ,ky.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a suite with another couple and it was an amazing room.Andrea at the front desk is really nice and helpful.nice people that work there. Everything you need is in walking distance. It was a great place to stay for a week.we will always try to stay here when ever in New Orleans.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank stoney473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Came with gal pals for vacation. This place is 3 old buildings connected rather ingeniously and extensively renovated. Good location in FQ.
Our 2BR suite: Master BR and juniorBR were windowless. I had the junior, with a mushy soft bed without nightstands or a shelf/mantle/hutch. One lamp did not work. LR was large, well furnished, nice sofas. Slide-out drawer for TV was broken. LR windows were screwed shut, street below occasionally noisy. Thermostat worked. Kitchen clean and nicely stocked with dishes, glasses, etc. Bathroom clean, washer and dryer worked. WiFi ok, could be a little stronger. Our key cards were mis-programed and required replacement 24 hours before we checked out(we'd paid a coupe of months in advance). Housekeeping was also misinformed so we had to seek service a couple of times during a 4 night stay. The hot tub and pool were very nice, the area well-gardened, we enjoyed one night's champagne hour.
Overall nice but with a bunch of small gaffs.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

I stayed here with 3 others in June. We had a wonderful 2BR, 2BA luxury suite on the 2nd floor that overlooked the courtyard. The staff were wonderful and wanted to see that everyone was satisfied. There was a free brunch, free light dinner, and a free wine and cheese party, all with live jazz during the week.
The suite was beautifully decorated, in a classic New Orleans style. Our suite had a full kitchen, sans oven, and a washer and dryer. Everything was in good working order.
Each bath had a jacuzzi tub. There was even a stereo system so you could play music throughout the suite. The rooms were spacious and the bedrooms private.
We did use the pool to cool off, it was small but lovely. The courtyard is lovely too.
It was hot during our week long stay, so we would go out and about in the French Quarter and then come back to our luxury suite to cool off and rest.
The location is perfect-inside the French Quarter and close to get the streetcars.
New Orleans is my favorite travel destination and I've come here frequently. The Quarter House is the best place I've stayed and I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8157travelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
525 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 456 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Our unit was small compared to other places we've stayed, but, hey, it's an old building in a great location, and they had to use the space they had. Also, we traded a lockout in Maui for a one bedroom unit so we certainly have no complaints about the size. Our unit was located on the 4th floor (top) so we had ceilings that matched the roof line, which I loved. The building itself is built in square with a courtyard in the middle. The courtyard has some metal tables and chairs and a "pool" that is small and almost decorative, but there were people in it often as we passed. There are two elevators that we saw. One for the front of the building and the one we used for our unit which was in the back. The tall ceiling in our main room (kitchen/living room) made the place seem larger. There was a full size fridge, large stove and the kitchen was well stocked. There were a few things that were odd - the eating table was in the bedroom, the TV in the living room sat at the end of the sofa so you had to look at it sideways (but there was also a TV in the bedroom). The small bathroom had 2 doors at right angles to each other. One from the front room and the other from the bedroom. If either door were open, you couldn't open the other. The unit had only one small window that was in a narrow, short hall that was to the side of the bedroom and looked out on to a street that several buildings backed onto - not a great view. It was a great place to store suitcases. The bed was very comfortable. The location was quiet. The staff was great. There was no bathtub, just a shower, but that suited us just fine. I haven't taken a bath for years. They offer daily maid service, but we can make our own bed and prefer not to have people coming in all the time, so had someone only once in mid-week. They have a few things scheduled for their guests during the week, but we weren't aware of them ahead of time, so had already scheduled things. On Sunday from 9 to 10:30 AM they have a Continental Breakfast. They "opened" it as we walked by on our way to church and it looked very nice. There was fruit, bagels, sweet rolls, and I think I saw a pot of oatmeal, maybe not. The hand-out says it's accompanied by jazz music. We didn't see/hear that. They also offer a free tour of the French Quarter on Sunday morning. Monday they had a free lunch. We had a swamp tour. Tuesday from 5 - 6 PM they had a Mardi Gras Party in the courtyard with live jazz music and, I think, wine and cheese. We spent Tuesday at Chalmette battlefield and then went up to see 2 plantations and got back late, after we had stopped to have dinner, and the party was over. They have coffee near the lobby all the time, and a computer for use by the guests. It sits on a table so you have to stand to use it. They are happy to help with the printing of boarding passes for your airline. This is in a nice area. It's right around the corner from the Marriott, just about 2/3 of a block from Canal St. It's just a short walk to Bourbon St. one way, and the River is just a short walk the other way. We would stay here again if in the area. The location can't be beat.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there are any "bad" rooms. This is a quiet area. You may want a room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saxeygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#73 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,245 reviews
Treme
French Quarter Suites Hotel
French Quarter Suites Hotel
#95 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
W New Orleans - French Quarter
W New Orleans - French Quarter
#75 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
French Quarter
Bienville House
Bienville House
#48 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
Central Business District
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quarter House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quarter House Resort

Property: Quarter House Resort
Address: 129 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2311
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quarter House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Quarter House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quarter House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing