We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Times & Celebration” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harrah's New Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harrah's New Orleans
Ranked #8 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Times & Celebration”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

Awesome good time in the Big Easy!!!
we stayed for almost a week and enjoyed the great food, great people, & fun atmosphere. The rooms are very comfortable, very attentive staff, wish the hotel had a pool or area to relax outdoors. They offered the indoor pool at a hotel next door with a $10 charge. Other than that, it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bamazed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,978
    966
    258
    97
    72
See reviews for
899
1,742
344
354
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

I travelled to New Orleans from Dallas by road on March 12th and stayed at J.W Marriott few blocks away from Harrah's, I like to gamble while i am on leisure travel so Harrah's was a great opportunity, after reading reviews from trip advisor which i use very frequently when i am travelling to different destination so i dont waste my time and go to the right place, but i made an exception and still went to Harrah's Casino despite so many negative reviews. Harrah's is a good casino, its well kept and it looks as good as casinos in Las Vegas, Dealers are very friendly and they truly have a great crowd that goes there.. its a mix of older and middle age people having drinks and having a good time. as soon as you walk in, they check your I.D and make sure you are legal to gamble, to some people it must be annoying but i love the fact that they have people on their payroll, making sure only right people enter their facility and yes they run your driver liscense into three different things to make sure its not a fake I.D as most of us know, how easy it is to get a fake I.D.
Everybody wears a name tag and a bage which says " did i provide you with A+ Service", looks like the things have started to change, they are trying their best to elevate service, But the drink service was really slow, i couldnt get a drink on a roulette table for good 30-45 min wait on three ocassions i was there. On their end, they have Iphones and guest service managers on the floor taking orders but it is not working for some reason, they need to change that system and just assign servers on certain areas of the casino.
Other than that, i had a great time at this casino, they have a poker room a really big one, a bar with poker machine, huge selection of slots, roulette table, black jack tables and anything you can think of. Over all my experience was really great because of the friendliness of the staff and genuine concern and care they provided even when i complained and they tried harder to fix the issue. I will be back at Harrah's when i come next time to New Orleans.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morvin147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Tahoe
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

We have stayed at Harrahs New Orleans 3 or 4 times in the last two years and absolutely love the hotel. We were fortunate enough to score one of the corner suites that others have referred to on our first visit and were really reluctant to return home. I actually look forward to the beds (which are available for purchase) and I keep threatening to order one .

The hotel is fairly small, with almost a boutique feeling---excellent service, no waits, beautiful, well stocked rooms, soft towels and robes. The things some may find lacking--no newsstand or gift shop, no coffee shop, for example, did not bother us at all. For a quick "grab" there is a Starbucks and gift shop in the casino (accessible through a tunnel) and all of New Orleans is just out the front door. The hotel is located on the edge of the Warehouse District, which has its own character and cultural appeal---much nicer in many respects than the craziness of the French Quarter---which is just a few blocks away. I left the "value" section blank because we have been comped, but I will be returning to New Orleans on business in September and I expect to pay for my stay...and be just as satisfied.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TahoeScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milwaukee
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2011

Let me qualify this review by noting our stay was comped. That's why the value rating is only average. I Don't think I would pay the $200+ a night they want through the website. That being said, It was a very nice hotel room. spacious bathroom, work desk and couch with coffee table perfect for room service. the view of the city and the sunset was awesome, unless your an early riser and enjoy sunrises, then ask for a river view. The room would proabaly be considered a "mini' suite in other hotels. The only drawback was the air seemed heavy/muggy but dry at the same time no matter where we put the t-stat. The staff was super friendly always saying "have a nice day" on your way out in the morning, and "welcome back "in the eve. Room service seemed steep even by room-service standards. Two cheeseburgers set us back about $45. I'm almost certain the food comes from the gordon biersch restaurant downstairs, as the $20 dollars "buffalo style wings" I ordered came in a asian sauce. the one and only kind they serve at the restaurant. If it's before midnight, your better of f calling in a take out order to the restaurant and running down yourself. I'll keep that in mind for next time, as we can't wait to return to the beautiful city of new orleans and Harrah's!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naturekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nashville
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

We stayed for a Mardi Gras weekend and there was no noise at all. The room was very nice, the beds were really comfortable and the staff was very helpful. The housekeeping was efficient, and extra towels were brought upon our request. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa3960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york city
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

we stayed at Harrahs for 5 days. The staff was great from the bellman to the front desk and concierge. Our room was ready when we got there early in the day and was nice sized , clean and airy. we had no complaints. the location was great near the casino and only a few blocks from The French Quarter. very one we met was friendly and helpful. we took Plantation Tour with Cajun Encounters, it was great.We ate at Brennans, Nola,, Commanders Palace and Domenica. all were top notch.
all in all a great trip and we look forward to returning in the future.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kreinmo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2011

Nice clean hotel with beautiful room and bathroom and grounds.

PROS: CLEAN, modern, spacious, quiet, large casino, lots of amenities.

CONS: Bell hop service disappointing, buffet was disappointing, far walk to french quarter (especially when it's cold).

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JACKPO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,208 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,248 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#26 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's New Orleans

Property: Harrah's New Orleans
Address: 228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-1641
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Harrah's New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs New Orleans Hotel
Harrahs New Orleans Casino New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing