We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harrah's New Orleans
Ranked #9 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tuscaloosa, Al
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service, great location”
Reviewed 22 July 2011

I've stayed at this hotel many times. It keeps on meeting and exceeding my expectations. Wonderful staff, great rooms, wonderful experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlbrownTuscaloosa_AL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amcconduit, Public Relations Manager at Harrah's New Orleans, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time out to tell us about your time at Harrah's. "Great service, great location!" Short & sweet!!!

We hope to see you again soon! Thanks for staying with Harrah's New Orleans....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,328
    1,034
    286
    107
    79
See reviews for
1,018
1,923
377
385
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wimauma, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Stayed at Harrahs, New Orleans and was very happy with such a clean, quiet hotel. The staff were all very helpful and went out of their way to help you. The Besh restaurant was very good with great service at Harrahs casino, A great surprise for our first time in New Orleans.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegamblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Parking was easy, and the elevator let out close to the check in desk. The hotel lobby is beautiful and elegant. We checked in with no line with an extremely friendly staff member. When we asked about locations in New Orleans, she gave us a map, and pinpointed a few hot spots for us. She even told us about specific things to order at the restaurants she suggested. I mentioned it was my wedding anniversary, and she upgraded us to an amazing suite! The room was really nice with a dining and living room area separated from the bedroom. The bathroom was spacious! I especially liked the 2 sinks and vanity. We loved this hotel. The staff was always available to help and greeted us when we left and returned with a smile. This hotel is located within walking distance of Bourbon street, the french quarter, or wherever you want to go. There is a street car stop right outside the hotel, and cabs everywhere if you don't want to walk. We didn't gamble too much, but it was nice to have it so close for somethingt to do. Also, playing just 30 minutes gave us 4 days of free parking. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kron5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarrahsNOLA, Public Relations Manager at Harrah's New Orleans, responded to this review, 5 August 2011
Thanks for taking the time out to tell us about your wonderful time here in New Orleans. First of all, CONGRATULATIONS on the wedding!! New Orleans is a great place to celebrate special occasions. It sounds like our staff was very helpful, something we consider to be very important. There is alot to do in this city and without help it may be a bit difficult to decide. We hope to see you soon, maybe for your anniversary?!?!

Either way thanks for spending your time with us at Harrrah's New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

I was offered comp rooms at Harrah's and took advantage of them. The hotel is nicely appointed. It's new and is close to the downtown activities. The beds were especially comfy. The bathroom was spacious and had a separate bath tub and shower as well as water closet. The staff were especially friendly and even remembered me although I didn't make many trips through the lobby. Parking is fine if you don't mind playing 30 minutes at the casino. I had two small, and minor issues. The beds had a metal frame that stuck out just where I would put my legs out when getting out of bed. I bumped my chins a couple of times. The other was that there was quite a bit of dust on the phones. Obviously, the phones aren't used that much, but it was just an observation. I got room service breakfast one morning. It was excellent with a great view of the river. The fact that wireless internet is quite expensive was not acceptable though; given the dependence many of us have on the internet. I will return again; a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kosomodc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Stayed for a convention. Location is outstanding as it is only steps away from the convention center. The riverwalk is also right across the street with all the shopping and sites right there. About a five minute walk to Bourbon Street. A word of advice, use the hotel lobby entrance and not the casino entrance after a long night on the French Quarter. Some negatives are the overall price and amenities like no pool or free Internet, but then again you're at a casino so they don't really want you anywhere but in the casino. Also, way too much authentic local food establishments so I never ate at the buffet. Recommend Mothers only a block away and Cafe Du Monde, a short walk up the Riverwalk on Decatur.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JayL76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarrahsNOLA, Public Relations Manager at Harrah's New Orleans, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your thoughts. We're glad that our location helped you enjoy your time in NOLA even more! The New Orleans downtown area is set up in such a way that everything you'd like is at your fingertips. We're happy to hear you visited the world famous Mothers & equally as famous Cafe Du Monde. Even with all that you did there is still more to see in New Orleans. We look forward to your next stay with us and thank you again for taking the time to leave us a comment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maysville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

My husband and I traveled alone on this trip and it was an actual vacation, not a conference where one or the other of us was tagging along! We stayed at Harrah's and we couldn't have been happier. Our room was comped at Harrah's but they treated us like we were paying top dollar. The room was clean and spacious,the bedding was wonderful and there was a great soaking tub in the bathroom. The hotel staff was accommodating, I asked for extra coffee packets in the room and it was taken care of each day after that.
This was our 4th visit to New Orleans and we had never really taken advantage of the trolley before but our hotel was near the trolley line so we learned the routes and it really came in handy. We also walked quite a bit, it is just a few blocks from Bourbon Street. We also walked the river walk to my husband's favorite morning destination, the Cafe Du Monde! Speaking of breakfast, one morning I just wanted to have the little diner experience so we asked the concierge. She told us about the cafe across the street but I had already checked out there menu and it wasn't what I was looking for. Then she told us about Mother's and it was exactly what I was looking for! A breakfast special for less than $6, grits, eggs, biscuits, sausage and coffee, no substitutions, and you stand in line to place your order. My husband got the stack of 3 pancakes and they were so big he couldn't finish them. It is worth the visit just for the experience.
We flew for two of our visits and we drove for two of our visits. I was really nervous about driving in this time because parking was such an issue when we came June 2010 with our family. Because we stayed at Harrah's this time we learned very quickly that parking wasn't an issue. As long as you play 30 minutes a day at the casino and swipe your Total Rewards card to validate it, there will be no charge to park and there are plenty of spaces. This was a real bonus.
We ate at Besh Steak one evening and it was enjoyable. Our salads were wonderful!
If there was a negative at all it would be that there is no pool and no free wireless. They do have a partner hotel right across the street that has a pool and Harrah's guests can use. I believe it is free for Total Reward card holders but be sure to confirm. As far as wireless, I am all about a hotspot in a hotel, it can be in the seating area of the lobby, I am not picky. I just want somewhere that I can connect my phone a couple of times a day to check email. That would be a great addition for Harrah's but not a deal breaker.
There was nothing about this trip we didn't enjoy. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tscurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Never again am I going to stay at this hotel. We didn't even get the room I reserved and paid for. We had to get a handicapped accessible room which had just a huge walk in shower. No tub. The description of the room I reserved when booking stated that all luxury rooms have a clock radio w/iPod dock. We didn't. And no one informed us of the $50/night service fee charge in case there was any damage to the room. The clerk took my husbands credit card and swiped it and didn't tell us anything and u don't get it back until u check out. On top of all of this, there is bottled water in the room, but it's $6/bottle which is charged to u if u open it. Totally insane, and I promise I will never go back. Horrible customer service.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeriaMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
7,113 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4,449 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#13 of 162 in New Orleans
2,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#7 of 162 in New Orleans
1,631 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 162 in New Orleans
4,037 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's New Orleans

Property: Harrah's New Orleans
Address: 228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-1641
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Harrah's New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs New Orleans Hotel
Harrahs New Orleans Casino New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing