We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harrah's New Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harrah's New Orleans
Ranked #8 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
CT
Level Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

Stayed here for a conference, at first a little concerned being a casino and all. However, I was pleasantly surprised at the hotel. From the minute I walked in to the time I Ieft, there was always someone willing to help me or welcome me. Marvin was a true gentleman and ambassador to the hotel, always there to assist you if needed. I was worried that the casino would be noisy and dirty in the hotel. However, the rooms are separate from the casino. The casino is across the street and connected by a tunnel if the weather is bad. Thus, no noise from there. One never has to set foot in there if you do not want to. The rooms were very large and nice, bathrooms were great with a sitting tub and a shower area. Extra large sitting area to move around in. Very happy with the rooms, and they were very quiet. Ruth Chris is in the hotel. Concierge is right there also. Morning papers are not delivered but can pick up a USA today or local paper for free at the main desk. Riverwalk (shops) and the Hilton are right next door with Dragos in the Hilton. There is also a pub/brewery restaurant next door. Also, some restaurants in the casino. Thus, very good food is real close by. Bourbon street is a few blocks away about a good 10 minute walk. Canal street about 5 min away for tourist shops and fast food like McD. and Arbys. Draw backs - they charge you for wireless in the room like most major hotels and no pool. (can swim in pool next door) All in all a great hotel, great service and super friendly staff!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CtFamilyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,960
    959
    252
    97
    72
See reviews for
889
1,734
338
352
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,092)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Our Harrah's room was spacious and clean. The hotel is just a short walk to Canal Street or the French Quarter. The riverfront streetcar line is just across the street, as well, so it's easy to get to Jackson Square or the French Market. Close to the attractions, but not in the midst of what can be some craziness at night.

The front desk staff is super friendly. In fact, everyone at both the hotel and the adjacent casino really embodied the principles of southern hospitality.

This is a large, modern property, though. There's nothing about it that makes it "New Orleans" in design or mood. If you're OK with that, then this is a good choice. If, though, you're looking for a NOLA atmosphere, you might consider other hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeyH01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

We booked our one night stay at Harrah's that afternoon and they even allowed my family of four to check in early, great service at this point. Plenty to do within walking distance including the casino. The one big drawback we had is our youngest daughter is only 19 and you must be 21 to eat at the Harrahs Casino Buffet. I understand to gamble, but to eat? We've taken our kids to other casino buffets (three different states) and they've always been allowed to eat in the buffet casino. It's a poor design on Harrah's part in the logistics of getting to the buffet. We talked to everyone at the hotel, but no one could make a decision. It was very disappointing to all.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimeToTravel097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

I expected so much more from you Harrah's! Hair, dust, sticky stuff (with hair in it), food on the carpet in multiple places, beds made halfway, and the coffee mugs had old dry coffee in them from the last guests!!! Called the desk and yes they were polite but nothing changed. I left the room and immediately got a call saying that my complaints could not be verified because I wasn't in the room when someone came to check on it. But then I was told that the room had been cleaned. Lies. Came back to the same dirty room. Disgusting! My boss paid for this room, but I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KEVAN725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

The hotel is very nice and right in the heart of all the attractions. The hotel staff didn't handle our check in properly (gave us 2 room that were already occupied) and it took almost 24 hours and 3 trips to the front desk to get the TV fixed. Both the head concierge and the shift manager made attempts to rectify the problems, but it just felt like we were unimportant. They were telling us what they thought we wanted to hear just to pacify us, but getting a real resolution to their problems took a lot of effort.
I wish I would have checked the parking rates for New Orleans. Parking is a premium and even self parking was pricey. No validation for hotel guests.

Room Tip: Ask to have the hotel staff double check the room. We were given 2 different rooms that were already...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joangel418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

My father and I just recently completed a 2 night stay at Harrahs N.O. August 4-6. I've stayed here several times but have never completed a review. I figured that they have been so consistent, that I ought to give them some credit. From the time we checked-in to the time we checked-out, everyone that we encountered was professional and generally seemed genuinely caring.

The rooms are all very well appointed. They are classy but not stuffy. The hotel is very close proximity to just about anything you want to get too. The thing that makes this hotel what it is however, are the employees. Feel free to email me with specific questions.

Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank mikec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Our room was super nice and all of the staff was very friendly and courteous. The location is very good and is within walking distance of the French Quarter. The casino was very nice as well. Many places to eat and drink close by. We would stay at Harrah's again without hesitation. As far as paying for the wifi, we didn't. The desk gave us a code to use free of charge-just ask.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,203 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,246 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#25 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's New Orleans

Property: Harrah's New Orleans
Address: 228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-1641
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Harrah's New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs New Orleans Hotel
Harrahs New Orleans Casino New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing