We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Quite Harrah's Lake Tahoe, but Very Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harrah's New Orleans
Ranked #11 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 December 2012

This is a fine new hotel for a visitor that has come to New Orleans with purpose. The location is convenient to the convention center and a short tunnel walk from the Harrah's casino. The great restaurants in the French Quarter are a short cab ride away. The rooms are fresh, cheerful and have an excellent bath, but they fall just short of luxurious. Every convenience is provided including complimentary coffee made one cup at a time, an ironing board and iron, a quite functional fridge (not filled with hair-trigger overpriced beverages and snacks) and a flat screen TV with sufficient offerings. The beds are new and comfortable. Were it not for the exceptional courtesy or the staff and the availability of smoking rooms, the hotel would feel like one of those new Marriott's that are interchangeable and completely oblivious to their environment. There is not much about the hotel that says "New Orleans". Still, all considered, it is a first rate operation.

Unless one is sick, no sane person would visit New Orleans and order room service, though we were in a rush one day and did have lunch at an adjacent beer/sports corporate awful place. It was good-looking enough in a Friday's sort-of-way, but the food was mediocre and over-priced for what it was. $16 for a crab cake sandwich. We had far better food at the Swamp in the Audubon Zoo at a much better price. The fried shrimp po boy sandwich was overflowing with big tasty fresh fried shrimp and the gumbo made by the ancient ladies was better than any of the fantastic Brennen restaurants. We didn't even consider eating at the Ruth's Chris Steakhouse in the hotel which are an outrage to to the most generous expense account and available in any city's upscale mall. Saving the worst for last, before leaving for the airport we had or were had at the Harrah's casino buffet. We received pitiful credit for our gaming play, it was not inexpensive and the food was awful. It featured little more than what one would expect at a free breakfast buffet at the Hampton Inn. The one wild and crazy attempt at something interesting to eat was their version of eggs Florentine. It had the consistency of plastic and the English muffin was so rock hard it literally could not be cut with a knife.

So, for friendly helpful service, comfortable accommodations, ease of access to the places one should visit while in New Orleans, Harrah's was terrific, just don't eat there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gari52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5,059 - 5,065 of 5,517 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2012

A recent stay at this hotel was somewhat disappointing. In particular, the attention to detail regarding cleaning the rooms seems to be lacking. All of the wood furniture in my room had a considerable layer of dust on it and the carpet needed a good cleaning.

On the positive side, the front desk staff was very friendly throughout my stay and the bathrooms in the hotel are very large with both a tub and seperate shower.

One other policy at this hotel that should be pointed out is that it charges $30+ for a check in before 4 pm. This kind of nickel and dime approach is very annoying. Even more frustrating is the fact that if you opt not to pay the fee, the hotel will not guarantee that a room will be ready at 4 pm.

Overall, this hotel is not at the level it was a couple of years ago. However, if you can get a discounted rate through the casino, it is still an good value.

Room Tip: There are some excellent views from the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CopanoJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

This was a repeat visit for us. We stayed here for 4 nights. We love this hotel. We like to do a little gambling here and there, but smoky casino usually equals smoky hotel, so that's always a consideration when staying at a casino hotel. But this Harrahs is completely separate from the casino (actually the casino piece of things is across the street, accessible also by an underground walkway). Anyway, having the casino separate makes for a nice clean hotel!

The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms are huge. As other reviewers have stated, the baths have a separate glass shower plus large bathtub. The toilet is in a separate "room" with door. Only complaint about the room is the beds were too hard, but others may find that a plus. There were adequate television channels and reception was good.

A unique thing about this hotel ... there is a gadget at the door where you turn on an exterior light for either housekeeping service or do not disturb. Loved this! We never requested housekeeping. Instead, we would see the very friendly staff in the hall making up other rooms and we would just request fresh towels. This works for us... we don't need daily maid service and enjoy this option.

The French Quarter is a nice easy walk, but there are also dining choices adjacent to Harrahs as well. We find this a very convenient place to stay and we parked for free thanks to 30+ minutes of gambling at Harrahs casino.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunDiego123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

This Harrah's is located very conveniently to the French Quarter without all the noise. The room is spacious and clean with only minor issues. The bed comfort was excellent. There is a separate shower area from the tub, plenty of bathroom counter space and a separate room area for the toilet. The hotel has a casino across the street but an underground walkway so you do not have to actually walk across the street. There are plenty of restaurants but I'd recommend others in town, although the bar in Manning's is a must do if you want a drink. My complaints are: 1- The check in was at 4:00, I arrived at 2:45 and they wanted an extra $30 to get into the room then. I came back later and although I had reserved a King bed I was put into a room with a queen bed. 2- When I got out of the elevator to get to my room there were a lot of crumbs on the floor. The problem was the crumbs were still there the next day at 10:00am. The staff was at all times very friendly and helpful. All in all I would recommend this hotel if you are coming to New Orleans.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AtomicReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012 via mobile

Positives: Great location, very clean, big room, awesome bathroom. Brewery next door has great drinks!
Negatives: outrageous parking fee! Water pressure in shower is almost nothing....had to rinse my hair in bathtub to get conditioner out.

Great hotel, will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

The minute my girlfriend and I walked into the hotel we were warmly greeted by the friendly staff. Each and every time we passed by the front desk they would greet us making us feel welcomed, and that displays excellent customer service. The room itself was nice, the bathroom had a walk in shower and bath tub that fits 2 people comfortably, and a view of the Mississippi River. The casino also offered a reasonably priced buffet that had a variety of food, we ate there for breakfast and dinner. The hotel is located right off of canal street; which is blocks away from bourbon street, the french quarter, and other well known sites throughout New Orleans. The next time we come back to New Orleans we will definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: River view rooms are much nicer and provide a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1lexie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

I have stayed in a ton of hotels in New Orleans, and Harrah's was one of the best I have stayed in. Great service, big rooms, great toiletries and towels, luxurious bathrooms and amenities, safe, fridge, flat screen TV (no lag on the remote) and the fastest elevators I have ever seen!! Great proximity to restaurants, shopping and the quarter. Only problem I had was the softness of the bed and pillows, water pressure and the cost of parking and the rules behind gambling and parking. Other then that, I would totally stay here again in a moments notice!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darrender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 166 in New Orleans
2,641 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
7,693 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#21 of 166 in New Orleans
4,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 166 in New Orleans
4,363 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#23 of 166 in New Orleans
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's New Orleans

Address: 228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-1641
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £161 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harrah's New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs New Orleans Hotel
Harrahs New Orleans Casino New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing