We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and room but housekeeping a little off” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harrah's New Orleans

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harrah's New Orleans
Ranked #8 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location and room but housekeeping a little off”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

We visit the Big Easy often but for the Super Bowl we stayed for the first time at Harrah's Hotel. The hotel lobby was very nice. The rooms were nice sized with a beautiful, big bathroom with separate toilet area. It was Super Bowl weekend, so really busy, but I was surprised at the housekeeping. Friday night, we returned to our room, with the bed being sloppily made up, trash on the floor, the bed spread thrown on a chair....looked as if the housekeeper was called away in the middle of cleaning our room and forgot to come back! Another night, they did not service our room at all so we had no clean towels the next morning. But, the staff was all very nice. We never had trouble getting a cab. The bellman came immediately to help us at check out....All during an extrememly busy weekend, so they were well prepared. Ruth's Chris is in the hotel and we ate there before and after the game. Both meals were fabulous. Really was disappointed that the hotel did not have a spa, but I did hear that guests could go the Lowes across the street. The hotel had cool gifts waiting for us every evening in celebration of the Super Bowl. All in all, great time!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cartyco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,960
    959
    252
    97
    72
See reviews for
889
1,734
338
352
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,092)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duarte, CA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

A nice clean hotel close to the French Quarter. Check-in was easy and staff were friendly. There are sitting areas if you need to wait for your rooms. The decor was nice and there was always someone cleaning the tables, mirrors etc. The rooms were also very nice and clean and the elevators were quick.

Room Tip: ask for a river view if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank verda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

I visit New Orleans at least 3 times a year. Staying at Harra' s is an amazing experience the professalism of the staff from the bellman to the ffront desk staff, The hotel is beautiful and well maintained. The location is great your in walking distance of everything. The beds r comfortable and the rooms are spacious.

Room Tip: I like rooms away from the elevator and a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edie757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

I would rate this hotel with the top rating if I had been greeted warmly at the desk when I went to check in. However, that was not the case. The young woman never really looked up, did not welcome me or smile at me. I don't like that and think that she needs to be retrained. The men outside are so delightful, especially Michael. He remembers guests and greets them with such warmth. The bellmen were also very kind.
We stayed there a total of 2 nights a week apart. The first night we were on the 20th floor and the 2nd time we were on the 23rd floor. I loved the latter because we looked out at the river and the ships that were docked there. The rooms were both lovely: they were immaculate and well-appointed.
This is a beautiful hotel and just needs to have beautiful service to match.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qhdesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

The Casino is absolutely beautiful and the rooms as well! Our first time to NO and other than the weather really enjoyed our stay. The only bad thing was there is no parking for RV's so we were very disappointed in that area, it cost us a lot for a cab ($30)or we would have went to the casino more. Had an incredible steak dinner at Besh Steak House, soooooo delicious, we have to go back for another one. We were comp'd our room for 1 night, we booked more nights but cancelled when we found out there was no parking for our RV. Location is downtown with limited parking, no parking for rv;s.

Room Tip: the room was clean, we were up high on 21st floor and had a view of the city, it was really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyGalonNash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

The lobby area is beautiful. Rooms were very nice and spacious, very clean. Front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful. One thing missing in this property is a swimming pool. If you are a players club member parking is free - we didn't drive but this is what I was told.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
185 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

Convenient hotel to all bourbon street actvities, Mississippi River attractions,trolley stops and Convention Center. Easy hotel to get at from any place downtown and they have free parkingif you play for 1/2 hour daily. Rooms are exceptional.

Room Tip: Ruth's Chris is in hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,203 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,246 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#25 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's New Orleans

Property: Harrah's New Orleans
Address: 228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-1641
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Harrah's New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs New Orleans Hotel
Harrahs New Orleans Casino New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing