We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst trip EVER!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harrah's New Orleans
Ranked #6 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Ramon, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst trip EVER!”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I wish I could give a minus 5. I have frequented Harrah’s for many years in Vegas, and this would have been my first experience with Harrah’s in New Orleans for a work conference. To say that my experience at Harrah’s is the worst I have ever encountered at any hotel would be an understatement. I checked into Harrah’s at approximately 10:30am on 3/4/2013 before I attended a conference at the Ernest Morial convention center. I was told my room was not ready, so I checked my bag and left to attend my conference. Later in the evening when I returned to Harrah’s I was told they overcommitted the rooms and I did not have a room. I was told there were 14 other people that had booked incorrect dates that they accommodated, but unfortunately they did not have a room for me, even though I booked the CORRECT date and checked-in. They told me they wouldn’t charge me for the night I couldn’t stay in the hotel, but I needed to go to a hotel in the next town over. I would need to come back in the morning to try to check-in again! Then they put me in a cab and sent me on my way. Since I am here on business, I can’t leave, but I will not be frequenting New Orleans, Harrah’s or Caesar’s Entertainment establishment again!

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank EBTraveler_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,197
    991
    261
    103
    73
See reviews for
954
1,861
364
373
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed Three Nights at the Hotel for a Buddies 50th Birthday and had a ball. The Service was Outstanding ! You could see and tell that the Employees Enjoyed their jobs, and it was crazy busy. Staying over the weekend the place was mobbed with Hundreds of Cruise Ship Passengers. The Beds were very comfortable and the room was very clean. The only down side we had, was the water pressure in the shower was low and at times took a LONG time to get hot water to shower. Also it seemed most rooms were doubles, one couple in the group wasnt able to get a King bed. Location was perfect, only a short walk to the Trolley on Canal. Great Trip and wonderful memories for a 50th BDay !!! Would stay here again in a Heart Beat

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hope777las
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Harrahs Hotel in New Orleans is a little older than the one in Cherokee but the room was clean. They need to update to flat screen TV's. The buffet food was good but overpriced. Choose McAlisters or Fuddruckers instead inside the casino. We tried Besh steakhouse and the food was subpar. Really not wirth the money and the service was less than great. It seemed to take a really long time to get food. Husband had to send back his steak twice. It could have been this particular day tho so don't let this stop you from giving it a try. We did not try Ruths Chris.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamelasolarek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powhatan, VA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying at Harrah's New Orleans. From the moment we arrived until the time we left, there was always plenty of friendly staff to greet and assist us. Our room was spacious and clean. The bath was AMAZING!!! Location was perfect for walking to anywhere we wanted to go in the Arts District, CBD, or the Quarter. Lots of places to eat, things to do and things to see right outside the hotel door!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLT72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2013 while attending a convention. Rooms are very nice - plenty of space, the bathtub was very comfortable, clean. Meeting rooms were comfortable and well kept. The gym was too small for a hotel this size. Minutes walking distance from all the action and many restaurants. All in all great experience from start to finish.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay201146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
126 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Second time at this great place and want to say once again how nice it is. However, I'd like to point out that the police close the streets around this area for the "Parades" this time of year. We could not get to the garage on Convention St and had to park at the Hilton garage two blocks over. When we called the desk to ask how to get to the hotel to drop off our bags (and an 85 year old) they said we were just out of luck and should wait four hours until the "floats" had been removed from around the hotel. This area is the terminus for some of the parades I guess.
We just parked and walked with our bags and mom.

Just a heads up if you go around Mardi Gras time.

Room Tip: This time our room faced toward the super dome and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

I have stayed at the Harrahs Hotel in New Orleans many times before. The staff is excellent but the property is now not being kept up and repairs and cut backs are obvious.
How bad was it. The bed sheets were clean but had holes in them...yes holes!
The hutch in front of the television Haida huge piece of wood missing. The clock was missing from the room and the make up mirror had also disappeared. That was just the start. Carpets had stains and basically the room looked "old"
We were in a suite! I'm fearful of how a regular room would look
If you can stay else where for the same or less you are better off
We issued to love to stay here.
Too bad.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jerry U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,984 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#12 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,377 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#5 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,367 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's New Orleans

Property: Harrah's New Orleans
Address: 228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-1641
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harrah's New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs New Orleans Hotel
Harrahs New Orleans Casino New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing