We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harrah's New Orleans
Ranked #5 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This hotel was perfect to stay at. Centrally located to EVERYTHING. Gorgeous view of the river and the cruise ship we had just got off of. Easily walkable to the french quarter and downtown riverfront. It could use a few more restaurants nearby but it isn't too bad. The casino isn't really right there at the hotel but they are connected by an underground tunnel. All staff at the hotel was super helpful. The housekeeping staff could be a bit quicker as we came back one day and our room hadn't been tidied up at about 330pm.

The bathroom is huge and amazing. I loved soaking in the separate enormous soaking tub. BY far the best bathroom in a hotel i have ever stayed in.

One thing we could majorly fix is being able to clearly hear the Natchez steamboat calliope through the window. Maybe get thicker windows?

Room Tip: River view rooms are great :-)
See more room tips
Green Features: They have a program to reuse your towels if you want or get fresh ones. Save Water!
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sblibra86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,100
    966
    250
    93
    70
See reviews for
922
1,796
352
359
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Another excellent stay at Harrah's New Orleans. We arrived early in the morning and weren't expecting our room to be ready. We left a cell number with the desk and they called about noon that our room was prepared. We didn't get a river view room, but a nice city view. The room was exceptionally clean as expected, and I always love the glassed in shower. The staff was outstanding and we were always greeted with a smile and hello when entering and exiting.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nteachey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hartland Wi
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The hotel was beautiful and very efficient,people to help everywhere. Clean,and had most amenities needed except a swimming pool! We were very disappointed to not be able to just relax at the pool with a Hurricane. We were told we could go over to the Hilton for a small fee and use there poolside, but we didn't. So if you want to swim don't go to Harrah's in N.O.!

Room Tip: Just very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
213 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Very nice hotel. Comfortable bed. Bathroom includes a tub and shower. Staff was always waiting to help you in any way. Let us check in several hours early,as we arrived off of our cruise ship in the AM.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houma, Louisiana
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Very clean and spacious rooms. Stayed here for a girls trip, very convenient, and we didn't feel too terrible for making a ruckus since it's in the heart of New Orleans...NOT a place you stay if you want peace and quiet! Overall, I recommend it to out of towners who are looking to gamble and party the night away, but maybe not for those looking for a "romantic" New Orleans experience.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank houmalagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I had a complimentary stay at Harrah's from my Total Rewards casino points. With one major qualifier, it is an excellent hotel.

Staff and concierge are friendly and super attentive. Rooms are nice and beds are comfortable. It is near the river walk, near a trolley stop, a 10 minute walk or so from the French Quarter, and across the street from a large casino with multiple restaurants.

Why does it only get 4 stars from me? No pool or hot tub. You have "access" (paid) to one at another hotel, several blocks away, very inconvenient. Other than Ruth's Chris Steak House, there are no restaurants on property so you have to walk somewhere for breakfast if you don't want room service.

Nevertheless, it is clean, comfortable, and well- situated for most attractions and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice, good size, clean rooms. We walked to the WWII museum (a must see), Jackson Park, Bourbon St., Mother's restaurant, Emerils, Gordon Biersch and Café du Monde. Didn't win at the casino but had a lot of fun trying.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 161 in New Orleans
6,904 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4,302 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#6 of 161 in New Orleans
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#13 of 161 in New Orleans
2,317 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#14 of 161 in New Orleans
1,240 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#26 of 161 in New Orleans
3,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's New Orleans

Property: Harrah's New Orleans
Address: 228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-1641
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Harrah's New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs New Orleans Hotel
Harrahs New Orleans Casino New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing