We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harrah's New Orleans
Ranked #11 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Great location within walking distance to the French quarter. Valet is no option and they will bring your Vehicle to you if you need anything out of it. We had to do this once. But we're able to walk everywhere or catch the trolley so we didn't need to drive once we got to town. Our bellhop was wonderful and hung everything in our closet.

This place is pricey. But very cozy with a great view. We could see the bridge and cruise ships outside of our window. This is a huge complex. They own a lot of property. They had brick pavers and patio areas with Tables to sit outside.

We love canal street and the trolley for $3.00. Food was wonderful everywhere. We did not eat here. We checked out the casino but are not really gamblers so I can't really say much on how it was. Typical for a casino.

I left my toothbrush in our van and called for one and after and hour and my friends were all asleep I had to call again but they brought it right up then. This hotel has door bells! And a do not disturb light.

The bathroom was awesome. Huge with separate toilet area.

Did not stay long and would definitely come back and would stay here again. They insisted a bell hop bring a cart to our room upon check out but we had so many things ( 4 girls) we did not want to tie them up and they would not give us a cart without a bell hop so we ended up lugging it all down on our own. Then had to ask to unlock the van. And they still kept the key until we gave them a tip. I guess we are used to doing things on our own and all of the extra service was annoying to us.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CCnCC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TotalServiceHNO, Manager at Harrah's New Orleans, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear CCnCC123,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. I am happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of all the great sights and sounds New Orleans has to offer! We just love taking care of our guests and hope that everyone takes advantage of the extra services we offer.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Harrah's New Orleans
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,484
    1,086
    307
    119
    87
See reviews for
1,088
2,014
394
406
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,302)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago,il
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My boyfriend is a gambler so he received comp days at this hotel. It was good for him that the hotel allows smoking so he didn't have to worry about going outside to smoke. Our room was on the 6th floor and looked at an office building and a parking lot, I wish we had the nicer water views but oh well we really didn't spend a lot of time in the room. The room had a small refrigerator which was nice but no microwave. The TV was an older model flat screen with limited channels and it lost the signal frequently.There was a chair a couch and a desk in the room, it was a nice size. We had the king bed and it was really comfortable. The bathroom was great it had a separate water closet an amazing deep tub and a standalone shower. I loved the tub I only wish it was jetted, it was deep and big. We had fun in that tub ;-). The shower never really got hot, the water was just lukewarm which was kinda disappointing. Room service was 24 hours which was greatly appreciated. While room service is never economical he got a very good burger from them one night that came with a huge mound of tasty fries. The hotel was not far from from the french quarter action and bourbon street. I enjoyed my stay. If we were to travel to New Orleans again I probably wouldn't stay here again because I'm not a gambler and I would prefer to be closer to the action but if they give him more comp rooms I would definitely return.Oh yeah I almost forgot there were some big dust bunnies on the floor when we got that very gross and strange.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flygurlnhpchitown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TotalServiceHNO, Manager at Harrah's New Orleans, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Flygurlnhpchitown,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review, we sincerely appreciate your shared experience and value your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed the hotel. I love our garden tub! We will transition in to a non-smoking Hotel this summer and I hope this not a deciding factor in a return visit to our Hotel. If we do have the opportunity, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.


Sincerely,
Harrah's New Orleans
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, MI
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Room was clean, staff were very friendly. I like the small feel of each floor. There aren't never-ending corridors to walk down to get to your door.

Walking distance to just about everything. A block from access to Canal streetcar and Riverfront streetcar, which get you where you want to go.

Nice options for dining on-site, though we didn't utilize them except for a take-out dessert one evening. There's a cute little "alley" with night-life that is much more quiet and family-friendly than the FQ.

Get a view of the French Quarter and the river, ask for a room above the 9th floor to avoid see parking garage.

Parking can get costly for a stay that lasts several days, but gambling 30 minutes at the casino (accessible through a staffed underground walkway) using a player card will eliminate the need to pay when you leave.

Room Tip: Ask to be above the 9th floor, and for a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Now here is a place for a couple,children okay,but for couples, The serve is out standing. The rooms are to die for. The bathrooms,have a bathtub that is big enough for 2 people to lay down in,or 4 children. The bed? Go and see,(smile). I want to talk on and on about this place,but I do not want to spoil all of the fun. Rate this Hotel a10

Room Tip: All rooms are great,must see
See more room tips
Green Features: The serve is out of this world. The front desk. Make you feel like you are at home. Plus they have a special place across the street. Go see
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evangela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This hotel was perfect to stay at. Centrally located to EVERYTHING. Gorgeous view of the river and the cruise ship we had just got off of. Easily walkable to the french quarter and downtown riverfront. It could use a few more restaurants nearby but it isn't too bad. The casino isn't really right there at the hotel but they are connected by an underground tunnel. All staff at the hotel was super helpful. The housekeeping staff could be a bit quicker as we came back one day and our room hadn't been tidied up at about 330pm.

The bathroom is huge and amazing. I loved soaking in the separate enormous soaking tub. BY far the best bathroom in a hotel i have ever stayed in.

One thing we could majorly fix is being able to clearly hear the Natchez steamboat calliope through the window. Maybe get thicker windows?

Room Tip: River view rooms are great :-)
See more room tips
Green Features: They have a program to reuse your towels if you want or get fresh ones. Save Water!
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sblibra86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Another excellent stay at Harrah's New Orleans. We arrived early in the morning and weren't expecting our room to be ready. We left a cell number with the desk and they called about noon that our room was prepared. We didn't get a river view room, but a nice city view. The room was exceptionally clean as expected, and I always love the glassed in shower. The staff was outstanding and we were always greeted with a smile and hello when entering and exiting.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nteachey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hartland Wi
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The hotel was beautiful and very efficient,people to help everywhere. Clean,and had most amenities needed except a swimming pool! We were very disappointed to not be able to just relax at the pool with a Hurricane. We were told we could go over to the Hilton for a small fee and use there poolside, but we didn't. So if you want to swim don't go to Harrah's in N.O.!

Room Tip: Just very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#13 of 164 in New Orleans
2,515 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 164 in New Orleans
7,301 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#14 of 164 in New Orleans
4,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 164 in New Orleans
4,154 reviews
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#7 of 164 in New Orleans
1,660 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#22 of 164 in New Orleans
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's New Orleans

Property: Harrah's New Orleans
Address: 228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-1641
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Harrah's New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs New Orleans Hotel
Harrahs New Orleans Casino New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing