We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre customer service at check in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harrah's New Orleans
Ranked #11 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We recently stayed at Harrah's in New Orleans. We arrived early understanding that the likelihood of being able to get into our room was slim. We checked back with the front desk at 3:56pm...4pm was check in time....we were told our room was still not available. We needed to wait another 1/2 hour to get our room. Our room was on 4th floor facing the parking garage. The room was very nice but are you kidding me! We will not stay at Harrah's again on a return trip.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tr1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4,944 - 4,950 of 5,622 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

People are friendly, beds are very comfortable. Short walk to the Casino but good restaurants are attached. Besh Steakhouse and Mannings are both a lot of fun. Gordon Biersch had great local cuisine as well, recommend the Jambalaya.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sschlump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My parents and I stayed here awhile ago because my family's house was too crowded. It is expensive however the stay is so comforting. Very clean, big rooms for 4 people. Bathroom is nice and big also. Location is downtown and walking distance to places to eat. I highly recommend staying here. The staff is very friendly and helpful. If you are a gambler it is convenient too. I am not too much into gambling but i will go and walk around and play a small amount. Overall hotel is nice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 469paulinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed for two nights and the hotel is beautiful. The location is ideal being at Canal St. and the river. French Quarter across the street. Parked and walked everywhere. Felt very safe staying at Harrah's because they have an underground tunnel from the hotel to the casino. You don't have to go out on the street at all. While gambling you can order your beverages right from your slot machine. What an improvement from having to keep looking for a waitress. Easy and fast. I would and will go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Very nice upscale hotel with lots of amenities. Large, clean room. The service staff was especially friendly and helpful. Very close to the waterfront and across the street from their casino. Very close to riverfront trolley line to various tourist sites up and down the river. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. We were treated great by all employees and they were sometimes entertaining! Room was very clean and view was magnificent of river. We walked everywhere easily including french market, 2 different tour starting points, a great grocery store (Rouse), ferry, Central Grocery (mufalatta), river walks, Jackson Square. They were nice enough to print our boarding pass.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelsdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TotalServiceHNO, Manager at Harrah's New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Angelsdeb,

Thank you for sharing your Harrah's New Orleans experience with us on Trip Advisor, we sincerely value your feedback. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit and the city. We love to entertain our guests and ensure a memorable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Harrah's New Orleans
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This casino resort on the southern edge of the French Quarter goes out of their way to meet your needs for comfort, great food, accomodations and service. Although I have been going to :"The BIg Easy" for years, I've never stayed at this hotel until recently. That was my mistake. This is now my "go to" hotel for service, convenience to the area, fun & great food. The rooms are comfortable & updated. The staff is very attentive to the needs of their guests. Everything is within walking distance of the hotel including the train to the famed Garden District. This hotel is the best deal in New Orleans.

Room Tip: There's not any really good views unless you want to look out over the Mississippi River. If so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kentoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TotalServiceHNO, Manager at Harrah's New Orleans, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Kentoos,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review and sharing your wonderful experience! We sincerely appreciate and value your feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the service and the city during your visit!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Harrah's New Orleans!

Sincerely,
Harrah's New Orleans
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
7,805 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#13 of 166 in New Orleans
2,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
#74 of 166 in New Orleans
5,873 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#19 of 166 in New Orleans
4,996 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
3,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's New Orleans

Address: 228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-1641
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £168 - £317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Harrah's New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs New Orleans Hotel
Harrahs New Orleans Casino New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing