We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HARRAHS IS LOSING IT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harrah's New Orleans
Ranked #11 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 August 2010

I booked a 3 night stay at Harrahs and was assigned Room 1120. Upon my entry to the room, I discovered that the carpet was filthy. There were dirty spots on the carpet between the beds and next to the window. The carpet was torn where the marble meets the carpet. I called downstairs to advise the front desk. I was told that there were no other rooms available and someone would be up to shampoo the carpet . I was asked to leave the room for an hour to allow the staff to shampoo the carpet. Thank God, it was only 4 in the afternoon. We left the room and upon our return about 3 hours later, nothing had been done to the carpet. I spoke with the front desk and they assured me it would be taken care the next day.

We decided to drive to Destin the next day and this would give the hotel staff time to make the necessary changes to the room. When we returned that night, NOTHING had been done. The carpet was still dirty AND there was a leak from the A/C and as a result of the leak, the room also smelled of mildew!! I immediately called downstairs and complained. Several technicians were sent to the room and confirmed that there was indeed a leak from the a/c. Our luggage which had remained in the room was wet from the a/c leak. I was told that because there was a convention in town they had no other rooms. I inquired about other properties in the area. Harrahs arranged from me to get a room at Loews. It was 10 p.m and WE were responsible for getting our luggage across the street to the Loews property.

Harrahs is a nice property but management needs to do more to maintain it. Otherwise, it will be just another dump!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,220)
There are newer reviews for Harrah's New Orleans
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5,076 - 5,082 of 5,220 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2010

Hotel is nice. Parking is a big time problem. Everytime you leave out the parking garage you have to play or pay . Hotel guest should have a one time fee for 24 hrs. Several employees inside casino are unsure about the parking rules. Just a warning have plenty of extra money to dish out for parking, its very costly.
Carpet in room is stained and torned in certain areas. Hotel is located in nice area. Machines could be a little more lose.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
2  Thank Wonderful220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

It was breath taking to walk into the hotel. The lobby was very exquisite. I'm a very ticky person and hotel bathrooms must meet my standards. This hotel exceeded beyond my expectations. Very well maintained. The mirrowed elevator area had no finger prints. The casino was great. I did not win any money, but I did not care because my stay there was flawless. I would definitely recommend this Harrahs Property to anyone that loves a clean and beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laDerrica1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

My husband and I stayed for one night (8/15/10) - lovely room -- fabulous, comfortable bed; large bathroom, etc. Wish that water pressure in the shower would have been more forceful, but the water was nice and hot.

Air conditioniong was so quiet....didn't even know it was running, but it was very comfortable in the room, so knew that it was!

Slots were rather tight yesterday/last night. We were at the Grand Casino Biloxi the day before (also a Harrah's property) and their slots are lots looser!!

Buffet was really good - lots of choices!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gailhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

beautiful immaculately kept hotel across from casino concierge staff gave flawless service so very welcoming

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank selma1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

A beautiful hotel with everything you need close by. The view was awesome, staff always helpful and available. We didn't lack for anything. I asked a question about the location of a restaurant and immediately the concierge was on the phone confirming their hours making a reservation. Certainly A+ service. Even if you don't plan on gambling, I'd say stay here and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlabamaTraveler33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

One of the nicest hotels my wife and I have ever stayed at. Rooms large and luxurious. Bathroom to good to be true; seperate shower and tub and of a very high quality! Toilet area in it's own room within the bathroom, plenty of space. The only downside of the hotel itself was the water................... no cold water! Yes, I know, usually people complain that they wait forever for hot shower water, not here. You can run the cold water for an hour and it remains bath tub warm. Not so great if you want a cold glass to wash down your meds, etc. The bottled water offered at $6 per made me sparingly drink the tap to wash down my meds. Other than that, an A++++++++++++ place. Great location near the Riverwalk and French 1/4.

On a side note, Ruth's Chris Steak House is located in the hotel. A great one time place to eat. Once you've paid 2x-3x for what you can get elsewhere, the charm wears off. A $100+ bill for two with one glass of wine each is way to much and certainly not worth it. We did a 30th Anniv. dinner so it was a one timer. I have no problem spending money, Harrah's wasn't cheap, but foolishly is another question.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AWisconsintravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#15 of 166 in New Orleans
2,549 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
7,427 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#16 of 166 in New Orleans
4,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Windsor Court Hotel
Windsor Court Hotel
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
1,679 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#28 of 166 in New Orleans
4,204 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's New Orleans

Address: 228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-1641
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#11 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £161 - £349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Harrah's New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs New Orleans Hotel
Harrahs New Orleans Casino New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing