We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay - quiet rooms and comfy beds!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harrah's New Orleans
Ranked #11 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 March 2011

We stayed for a Mardi Gras weekend and there was no noise at all. The room was very nice, the beds were really comfortable and the staff was very helpful. The housekeeping was efficient, and extra towels were brought upon our request. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa3960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5,453 - 5,459 of 5,633 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2011

we stayed at Harrahs for 5 days. The staff was great from the bellman to the front desk and concierge. Our room was ready when we got there early in the day and was nice sized , clean and airy. we had no complaints. the location was great near the casino and only a few blocks from The French Quarter. very one we met was friendly and helpful. we took Plantation Tour with Cajun Encounters, it was great.We ate at Brennans, Nola,, Commanders Palace and Domenica. all were top notch.
all in all a great trip and we look forward to returning in the future.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank kreinmo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

Nice clean hotel with beautiful room and bathroom and grounds.

PROS: CLEAN, modern, spacious, quiet, large casino, lots of amenities.

CONS: Bell hop service disappointing, buffet was disappointing, far walk to french quarter (especially when it's cold).

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JACKPO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

Went with my significant other for a weekend getaway of fun and chose Harrah's as I have status from gaming in their properties in Las Vegas. Check-in was a breeze at the hotel and we received a premium river view room on the 25th floor. The room had two double beds which were fantastically comfortable, a large bathroom with tub and a separate shower .The toilet is separate as well with a door. There was a fridge in which to store drinks and snacks and also a coffee maker. The hallway from the door to the room to the main body of the room was fairly long so as to minimize noise from the hallway. We never heard anything and slept like logs except for one night at 3am when a lady with a voice like a fog-horn shouted her goodnights to a friend going into another room. The hotel has no coffee shop or gift store and quite a small lobby area. It is however VERY nice. It does have Ruth Chris Steak House attached to it which we didn't try as we'd tried this Steakhouse chain before and had been underwhelmed.The casino is accessed either by crossing the street outside the hotel or through a tunnel from the hotel. It is a great feeling, first thing in the morning to leave the elevator and to go through a quiet and clean smelling lobby, instead of having to breathe in stale tobacco scented air or be aurally assaulted by the clang of slot machines like one does in most of the hotels in Las Vegas.
Once checked in we unpacked and went for a quick lunch at Bambu, the asian restaurant in the casino. The food was very good (the won ton soup is a delicious standout ) and as soon as we were done we went for a walk in the warm sunshine. There is also a Starbucks coffee counter in the casino from where to get coffee in the morning, though the hotel does have 24hr room service with the usual outrageous prices (20% service charge on the cost of the overpriced item you order plus $2.00 delivery fee. i.e a 5 minute walk there and back for two medium coffees for $5.00 or $12.00 for same amount of coffee delivered)
The hotel is literally five minutes away from the French Quarter and what a fun place it is to explore. It is filled with curio shops, art galleries and antique stores to explore. There is also a large outdoor market called the French Market that sells mostly very junky souvenir stuff (voodoo dolls, baseball hats, tea-shirts,beads...etc) which upon closer inspection is all unsurprisingly made in China. However if you have the patience to look carefully amongst all the bric-a-brac, you will find some genuine local artisans such as very talented young man who hand-makes exquisite carnival masks. One of the joys of New Orleans is the music and it is everywhere. We did a bar crawl on Bourbon St on the Saturday evening after a superb seafood dinner at a great restaurant called GW Finns. This street was hopping with people, with  bars competing with each other for their customers by offering 3 for 1 drink deals and some of the loudest and most diverse music you'll ever hear. Every time we returned to the hotel we were welcomed by the friendly door-person and reception staff which made it feel very homey. A great experience for anyone looking for a fun getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Canadianknowitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

I was pleasantly surprised by the upscale nature of this hotel. I generally find that "casino hotels" are a bit "tired" for all the wear. My deluxe room was very clean and quiet and had a comfy king bed w/heavy comforter. The bathroom had the deepest tub I've ever seen in addition to an appealing glass enclosed shower. I was very happy here, particularly for the convenience of walking back to my room after a late night at the casino. The lobby/check-in was well staffed and friendly, and eager to help on a moment's notice.
FYI - be sure to get a Harrah's card at the casino and have it validated at the front desk in order to get free parking.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingfun101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2011

My husband and I were able to get a great rate for a couple of days to celebrate our anniversary. This is our third time to stay here. The hotel is beautiful and the location is conveniant. I asked for and received a room with a river view, on the 18th floor, which was awesome. The room was very clean, nice.......with a desk, couch, chair, very comfortable bed. The bathroom is huge....nice makeup mirror, coffeemaker, separate shower, large tub, separate toilet room, with plenty of towels. Everyone at the desk and in the lobby is extremely friendly and helpful. It's a short walk to the Riverwalk Mall for beignets in the morning. It's very conveniant to catch the Canal Streetcar, short walk to the French Quarter. There is a free shuttle to Mardi Gras World and I found out later that same shuttle could have taken us to the World War II museum. But we enjoyed the ride on the St. Charles streetcar out there anyway. Harrah's parking garage is right around the corner with "free" 24-hour parking for 30 minutes play in the casino. My husband had a winning streak and I had a losing streak, but we both had fun.
Dislike: We each had 2 flat pillows to sleep on and the internet is not free. Another night and I would have asked for new pillows. Otherwise, another great stay at Harrah's in New Orleans.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TexasNana57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

This was our 6th time staying at Harrahs and we've never been disappointed. The rooms are immaculate and a nice size, the bed is so comfortable, and the bathroom is roomy with a nice soaking tub. We like that the hotel is small. The front desk staff is a pleasure to deal with as is the bell and valet staff. A-1 service all the time. Room service is prompt and while not inexpensive, the food is delicious and served hot or cold as appropriate. The location is ideal for walking to the riverfront, the Quarter, and the Convention Center, as well as shopping and many restaurants. We enjoy Besh Steak and Bambu in the casino - first rate food in a casual setting. The buffet is hit or miss but is handy for a late night meal. If available, do try one of the corner suites - they are "true" suites with two separate rooms and very spacious. But the regular rooms are also quite nice. The cleanliness of the hotel and the friendliness of the staff make up for the absence of a pool and spa. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
7,811 reviews
Central Business District
Loews New Orleans Hotel
Loews New Orleans Hotel
#14 of 166 in New Orleans
2,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
Hilton New Orleans Riverside
#75 of 166 in New Orleans
5,877 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
5,002 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
3,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's New Orleans

Address: 228 Poydras Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-1641
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#12 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £173 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrah's New Orleans 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Harrah's New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs Hotel New Orleans
Harrahs New Orleans Hotel
Harrahs New Orleans Casino New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing