We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An outstanding property with an amazing innkeeper” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
“An outstanding property with an amazing innkeeper”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We spent a night in the courtyard suite at the Auld Sweet Olive. The room was huge and had everything we needed. Including a fabulous jet tub! The innkeeper, Nancy, was outstanding in every way. So personable and able to offer suggestions for things to see in the area. The breakfast was very good and we felt at home. If you go, you must talk to Nancy about her former career as a television producer and see her wall of fame! I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    22
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
163
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Firstly let me begin by saying that neither my girlfriend nor myself had ever been to New Orleans before our recent stay at the Sweet Olive Bed & Breakfast.

To be succinct for those readers looking for an endorsement: This was quite possibly the best introduction to New Orleans we could have asked for.

Now for those readers desiring more details…

Location: Nestled in the heart of the city everything was within walking distance. The walks are not to be understated, however, as you pass beautiful houses in every shade of possible color reflecting the eclectic and artistic spirit of the city. Not once, during our stay, did I have to move our car; I’ll tell you this is a definite plus as parking is typical of an urban sprawl – tight and rare. Frenchmen Street (honestly one of the best spots), Bourbon Street, the French Market, and the Mighty Mississippi are all within your grasp, and walking distance, when you stay at the Sweet Olive.

Amenities: This charming home is beautifully appointed and deceptively large. I’d hate to spoil the experience of walking into this home so suffice to say, I was literally awestruck with the use of space. Walking into the home is walking into the past. Oh, and make no mistake this is a home and while you have touches of a hotel (always welcome to weary travelers) the house feels like a home. If you have the pleasure of meeting Nancy’s charming young daughter you can see the space truly light up.

We stayed in the Courtyard Suite and it was gorgeous – opening onto the back courtyard with its’ fragrant jasmine and winding wrought iron staircase. I won’t go into the details of the suite as those are amply covered on the website but the room was very comfortable and lacked for nothing. Had we been to New Orleans on a longer stay, I’d have been happy to just sit in the adjacent reading room and bathe in sunlight with my morning cup of coffee and my girl as the aforementioned jasmine wafted to our nostrils day after day.

The Innkeeper: No review of this charming bed & breakfast would be complete without mentioning the innkeeper, Nancy. She is a genuine, positive person who exudes warmth and compassion. Her breakfasts were divine, and though I typically only enjoy coffee in the morning, I did partake of some bread pudding that was scrumptious. My girlfriend, however, ate breakfast each morning with a verve I rarely see when I am the chef. Her breakfast is also very accommodating to the varied appetites and dietary requirements each of us has, with gluten free options at every breakfast.

Our overall experience at the Sweet Olive was five stars, superb, & tres excellente!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohamed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Sweet Olive is amazing. A classy New Orleans B&B in a beautifully renovated house. Nancy is sweet as sin and very accomodating. A bit of a walk to the quarter if walking is crucial to you, but being in the Marigny is not so bad. Vegetarian breakfast options a super plus for us!!!

Room Tip: Sweet Olive Room has it's own private entrance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnetonka, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Very nice bed & breakfast, Nancy the innkeeper is personable and helpful and made our stay enjoyable. Also she is a wonderful cook and we enjoyed the gourmet breakfasts. Since we were there about a week before Mardi Gras we liked staying a few blocks from all the excitement but it was an easy walk to get anywhere. Nancy had good ideas of places to go in our short stay there. We'll definitely go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 567Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Bend, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Sweet Olive was a beautiful find. The hostess Nancy was most gracious with her insights on places to go and see and the best routes to get there. Her breakfasts were always a treat. There was a print out of menu each day. Her house had many interesting pictures and furniture that complimented her period home. Our room the Palmetto has beautiful tall palm trees painted on the wall. Nice and cosy and was kept clean and tidy as well. We felt so much at home! The specially made soap also added a special touch.

Green Features: Uses energy saving lights, suggests using towels more than once.
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

My husband and I spent 6 nights at Sweet Olive in February. We found our room to be clean and comfortable. Nancy, the Innkeeper was sweet and helpful with ideas for restaurants and fun entertainment. She is also an awesome baker so breakfast was a delicious surprise every morning.

The location was decent; About a mile from Jackson Square and Bourbon st. fun and craziness, and several blocks from Frenchmans St., another good area for great food and music. And, right across the street from a cool little theater called Cafe Istanbul where we got lucky and were able to watch a live showing of one of my favorite radio shows "The Moth".

This place was a great find for us we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Our family stayed in the Oak and Magnolia adjoining suites. The rooms were very comfortable and clean with great decor, but the best part of the stay was the owner, Nancy herself. From finding music to delicious food Nancy was very helpful and had great recommendations. The B&B itself is a bit out of the way of the main goings on (still within walking distance), but that worked well for our family to come back to someplace a little quieter after enjoying the city's fun. We really had an excellent time and will return to Auld Sweet Olive.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ejaxel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,197 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,868 reviews
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,062 reviews
Treme
La Belle Esplanade
La Belle Esplanade
#2 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast

Property: Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2460 N Rampart St, New Orleans, LA 70117-7850
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auld Sweet Olive Bed & Breakfast is a charming 1850s Creole home nestled in New Orleans' Faubourg Marigny - right next to the French Quarter. Our guest bedrooms and suites, each with their own private bath, have been lovingly hand-painted by a local artist. Enjoy the gardens, the private courtyard, and our complimentary breakfast featuring coffee, juice, fresh fruit, yogurt, fresh-baked goodies and more! Think of us as your pied-a-terre in New Orleans ... a peaceful and romantic hideaway right by all the fantastic music, dining, and fun of the Quarter and Frenchmen Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auld Sweet Olive b&b
Auld Sweet Olive Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing