We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Balcony Guest House
Ranked #38 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loved the place”
Reviewed 23 October 2007

It was Mardigras and exiting to be there at this time of the year. We were delighted about the balcony! the breakfast keept us going until supper. The room and bed was OK. It was one of the cheapest room at Mardigras-time in New Orleans as all other places dubbled or trippled their charge.

  • Liked — Balcony
  • Stayed February 2005, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inthemiddleoflife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    91
    23
    16
    18
See reviews for
31
129
23
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2007

My husband and I booked 4 nights along with another couple at the guesthouse. We would say that the pictures were pretty accurate on their website except for the fact that the drapes were stained from rain dripping in through the floor-to-ceiling windows. We felt that they were lacking enough linens (washcloths to be exact). Lynn, who worked as waitress and cleaning lady, was excellent at providing extra towels although she had to do laundry in order to provide extra linens. We felt that they should have professionals come in and clean or either adopt a regular schedule for cleaning. There is no daily maid service. Decor was pretty characteristic of New Orleans theme (nice). The guesthouse was located farther than 6 blocks from French Quarters, so be prepared to catch a taxi at times. There were limited eating spots near the guesthouse. We would recommend Mi-Mi's tapas for late night dining, which was a block from the guesthouse. The free breakfast was pretty basic, but they dont have a set breakfast menu. Their croissants were delicious. Be sure to have Lynn prepare grits for you if you're a southerner. Be sure to ASK for your free welcome cocktail and complimentary beverages b/c they do not OFFER it. The beds are a bit squeaky, but we slept well. I would say that overall, the place was "ok". It has so much potential if some minor improvements were put into place. The price was definitely reasonable, but I think its because of the distance from Bourbon Street. The neighborhood looks a bit shabby, but the people were friendly and everyone seemed to look our for each other.

  • Liked — Croissants
  • Disliked — Dirty Drapes & Linens
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cutiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2007

Nice place to stay, located right in downtown New Orleans..... easy walk to anywhere including Bourbon Street. Good service and great free breakfast. Very friendly atmosphere and homy to the place.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sportsguy3423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raliegh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2007

This place was very amazing. The people were very kind and up to speed on things. The only problems I had with the place was trouble getting towels replaced. Other than that great place and wonderful location. The breakfast....man, absolutely amazing.

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LizSG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raleigh, nc
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2007

This place looks shady and a little bit sketch on the outside, but once you get inside and up the stairs, you will find a very "home away from home" feel to it. Its not your regular hotel/motel...it has its own decorative crazy statues to it, along with kind of...an exotic feel to it.

Get ready to enjoy a great relaxed kind of place...go out on the balcony and just lounge.

Really an excellent place, the pub downstairs serves EXCELLENT breakfast and pretty decent dinner.

Only complaint would have been that laundry/dirty towels weren't taken care of automatically. Just had to go downstairs and ask real quick.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
Thank Quinn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2007

This place is an outstanding place to stay at. it is in good walking distance from all of the major site in the French Quarter. In the morning the owner are friendly and will make one of the best breakfasts that you can find in the entire city. The service that you get is excellent and I would high recommend staying there to other that I know.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank go2rusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2007

Schiros is a really nice B&B. I took 11 people down there during Mardi Gras 2007, rented the whole place and had a blast! If you have never been to New Orleans before, This is the place to go. Forget the Days Inn, or some other cookie cutter place. This place is UNIQUE. First of all, It is a local place, not a touristy place. Second, get out and walk around! Every time I stepped out the front door, someone said hello and had a smile. The neighborhood looks a little shady at first, but as soon as I walked around, I saw that it is really a nice little community of people who know eachother and are very friendly. I had a lot of fun talking with the locals and even gave directions to a guy on a bicycle that was 10 feet tall from the balcony! Where else can you do that! Schiros is walking distance from Burbon street, uptown, and every Mardi Gras Parade. Not having to drive in nasty traffic and pay for parking makes this place a real gem. (trust me) Most of all my experience there will be something I will never forget. Come here with a positive attitude and a few friends and you will have an absolute blast, I guarantee it.

  • Liked — Great people and great location! NO DRIVING AND PARKING REQUIRED!!
  • Disliked — nothing really. It was really fun
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank qxcvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#35 of 138 in New Orleans
231 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
#41 of 138 in New Orleans
122 reviews
Rathbone Mansions
#50 of 138 in New Orleans
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Treme
Degas House
Degas House
#53 of 138 in New Orleans
146 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
B&W Courtyards
B&W Courtyards
#5 of 138 in New Orleans
566 reviews
Garden District
Fleur De Lis Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balcony Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcony Guest House

Property: Balcony Guest House
Address: 2483 Royal St, Faubourg/Marigny, New Orleans, LA 70117-7845
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Balcony Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balcony Guest House, in the historic Faubourg-Marigny, is your New Orleans Bed and Breakfast above Schiro's Grocery and Cafe(ground floor). Come and stay in our unique New Orleans Bed and Breakfast and see why everyone who stays here loves it. Only six blocks from the French Quarter, four blocks from Frenchmen street and three blocks from the river. Historic, alluring and relaxed(Creole Caribe), with a New Orleans style wrap-around balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Balcony Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcony Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing