We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Balcony Guest House
Ranked #39 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2012

It has charm but is a bit dated. It also has cockroaches and my wife found a clump of hair blocking up the kitchen sink. We stayed in the Owners Suite and it was a decent size, the common area was enjoyable, and the balcony was great. Oddly the only TV was in the bedroom, there was none in the living room. It needed a thorough cleaning, especially in the bathroom. That's the bad, the good is they have a wonderful, friendly staff who enjoy talking with the guests, especially Molly and Cheryl. Breakfast was good and my wife said the Lamb Curry was the best she's had. Overall enjoyable, I would go back but my wife won't, which means it's off our list for future visits.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raymlnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2012

We had the pleasure of discovering and spending 4 nights at this beautiful B & B with an amazing staff for our destination wedding. Reading the reviews I was sure it would be a good experience. A couple of the nights we had almost every room booked with family and friends staying as well. First of all the regular rooms are not very big, but I wasn't wanting a suite as we weren't spending most of our time in the rooms. We stayed in the room with the French doors and the semi private balcony that lead to the wrap around balcony which was our favorite part. We all met out on the balcony quite often to enjoy the surroundings. If you climb under the bed, its true.. They should dust a little better under there but I have severe allergies and did not have any issues with it. On our wedding night my best friend switched us rooms and we stayed in the owners suite which was so nice and roomy! They were filming a movie on the eve of our wedding and we had a great time looking down and listening to the scene being shot in the laundry mat below. Angry Little God is the title and I will be looking forward to seeing it since we had that unique experience. The breakfast served was soooo good! I think my favorite was on the weekend when they served brunch. It wasn't included but I had to try the shrimp and grits and it was worth every penny!! The staff was amazing, nice, helpful, and fun!! We only had a bad experience with another guest who apparently thought they owned the place, telling us at 11:30 to shut up when we were saying goodnight to my in laws and the night before told us we stole THEIR chairs on the balcony. There are a couple plastic chairs on the balcony with no room numbers on them-ahem. Then again the entire time she was talking to her husband like he was an idiot and 5 years old... Some people are just miserable. We didn't let that ruin our time, in fact.. We are planning on going back next year for our anniversary and my daughters 21st birthday! With just a 6 or 7 block walk to the French Quarter, we may rent out the entire B & B if I can get a big enough group!! Until next time...

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank baybay73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Balcony was suggested to us by a friend that used to live in the neighborhood, which was fantastic. We felt extremely safe walking all around the area that it's in, and also walking up to Frenchmen Street. The French Quarter is about a 15 minute walk, and the only part about that walk I didn't like was leaving the Quarter late at night. The staff at Balcony was incredibly friendly, and the girls downstairs were very helpful in suggesting local places around the neighborhood that weren't aiming to rob tourists of their money. I definitely suggest you spend some time at Mimi's just down the street. The food was phenomenal! Not your typical bar food. It is a bed and breakfast, so don't expect any maid service to come in and clean your room and make your bed for you everyday. We stayed for 4 nights, and I don't think anyone came in the room the whole time we were there, but I don't mind that. I'm a big girl, I can make my own bed! Brenda showed us to our room and how to get in and out of the secured building, and she was also incredibly sweet and helpful! She made our stay so very nice! The free breakfast only includes certain items off of the menu, but it's good and made pretty fast so you can get on your way. Overall, I'd return to Balcony anytime I visit New Orleans. The room was nice and comfy, and relaxing on the balcony after a long day of walking was a nice treat. We definitely enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: Our room didn't have direct access to the balcony like it was supposed to, so if that's a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I checked in, dropped my luggage and walked down to Frenchmen St. Got back around 11:00 looking forward to getting some sleep. However, the linen had not been changed from the previous guest. I slept on top of the comforter which was also a little dodgy and stained. Breakfast didn't start until 9:30 so the "free breakfast" was not something I got to enjoy. By 9:30 I'm long gone. I would come back during the day to shower or drop off my bags. Each time I was thinking maybe THIS time someone would have cleaned the room, at least emptied the garbage. But apparently you have to ask for any kind of cleaning to be done here. No cleaning whatsoever for 5 days. And not for at least a few weeks before hand, there were dust bunnies as big as my head under the bed. I know this is not a hotel but I gave this place the benefit of the doubt in regards to cleaning. So while I didn't get free breakfast, I didn't have to tip the cleaning staff because apparently there isn't one. The couple of times I spoke with the owner or restaurant staff they were friendly enough but I definitely wouldn't go back. I guess I was spoiled from the guesthouse I stayed at before coming to this one. That place had everything the Balcony didn't and more.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

After having great trouble finding accommodation in New Orleans and emailing over B&Bs it was lovely that the Balcony guest house sent us an e-mail to let us know they had a cancellation.

Both rooms were lovely and had all we needed. The owners and staff were really friendly and breakfast was a treat. It was a bonus that it only started at 9 and we didn't have to get up super early for it like in other hotels.

Great location - only a short walk from Frenchmen Street with lots of restaurants, bars and live music.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wetravel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

From the minute I arrived at the Balcony Guest House, I felt welcomed. Staying in the honeymoon suite was a pleasure as the room was comfortable, clean, spacious and tastefully decorated. The staff was fun and friendly while the food was delicious. I felt this guest house was an exceptional value and a totally positive experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Keep in mind that this is a guesthouse and not a 5 star hotel with 24 hour service. That being said, it's not bad. It's almost like going to stay at a friend's condo while they're out of town. You have use of the room and areas of the guesthouse, but also are somewhat left on your own. The cleaning standards of those of a friend's condo and not a hotel. The only real complaint I have is with regards to the bedroom linens. My friend booked the room so that we would have the suite with a bedroom and pull out couch. No issue there; however, there were no other linens or pillows provided for the pull out couch. At a hotel, you would call the front desk and receive the items you needed. At a guesthouse, you can call someone and receive what you need....assuming someone is there. By the time we realized there were no extra linens, we called the proprietor (I'm assuming that was who this person was as we were checked in by the restaurant cook I believe), and he said he wouldn't be able to help us because it was mother's day and he was going to spend the whole day with his wife and mom. Just keep these things in mind when considering a guesthouse.

There were many pluses to staying at this guesthouse. I felt the staff was very friendly (especially my man man rodrigo!), the balcony was nice (we did not have an adjoining balcony to the room but there is a common area you can go to), and it was a little walk to the french quarter, but it wasn't a big deal.

I enjoyed the stay, but just keep in mind this isn't going to be like a hotel stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanya_IN_STEREO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#41 of 142 in New Orleans
239 reviews
Garden District
Fairchild House Bed and Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lookout Inn of New Orleans
Lookout Inn of New Orleans
#19 of 142 in New Orleans
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
#42 of 142 in New Orleans
124 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balcony Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcony Guest House

Address: 2483 Royal St, Faubourg/Marigny, New Orleans, LA 70117-7845
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £85 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Balcony Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balcony Guest House, in the historic Faubourg-Marigny, is your New Orleans Bed and Breakfast above Silk Road NOLA restaurant (ground floor). Come and stay in our unique New Orleans Bed and Breakfast and see why everyone who stays here loves it. Only six blocks from the French Quarter, four blocks from Frenchmen street and three blocks from the Mississippi River. Historic, alluring and relaxed (Creole Caribe), with a New Orleans style wrap-around balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Balcony Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcony Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing