We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you stay anywhere else in New Orleans, You're making one huge mistake.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Balcony Guest House
Ranked #39 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2010

A stay Schiro's Balcony Guest House is the perfect compliment to the unique, and cultured city of New Orleans. Very Clean. Balcony is great for relaxing and people watching. The breakfast was fantastic, and on top of that, Schiro's Balcony Guest House also has a bar, a restaurant (paired with the must-have food at Julie's Little India Kitchen), a convenience store, and a laundromat right under it. The service and management were very friendly and eager to help with any needs you might have. This bed and breakfast is five minutes away from the French Quarter, it is nice not to have to take a cab or rent a car and be so close to the heart of the city. I will definitely be back for more!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nadiarahman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2010

- about 10 min from frenchman street and 30 min from the FQ by walk, but is a nice pleasant walk
- excellent breakfast included with stay
- we had all the rooms to ourselves. that with the balcony and common area was just right for our group of 14

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ariz55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

The Balcony Guest House at Schiro's Cafe was exactly what we had hoped for! The building itself was beautiful and emanating with character at every corner. (If you are looking for a sterile hotel-type place, this is not for you.) Every inch of the place was decorated in paintings and murals. Very eclectic. The staff was EXTREMELY friendly and made us truly feel at home. They provided fantastic service and great tips on places to go and things to do in the area. The location is only a short walk to the French Quarter with Frenchman Street along the way. The quiet neighborhood let us get some much needed rest, and the private entrance allowed us to stay out late if we so desired. The 80 foot wrap around balcony was great for having a few beers and enjoying the breeze. We stayed for 5 nights and I think we ate downstairs at least once every day. The food is AWESOME! Best Indian cuisine I have ever had or will probably ever have. Burgers, salads, and po-boys are also great! The owner is an extremely nice gentleman who gave us a tour and chatted with us all week, making our stay truly amazing. We miss all the staff at N'awlin's best kept secret : Balcony Guest House/ Schiro's Cafe & Grocery, and hope we can come back real soon for another stay : )

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judaskitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

The accomodations are clean and adequate. The breakfast is very good. Located out of the main tourist area, but where the locals like to go. Balcony allows people watching. Price is right. I have been there twice and will go back.

John Case
jcase@ldcv.com

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johncase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

Great! Friendly staff, good location, and easily accessible. Prompt service.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donsy1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

WE LOVE IT!!!! Over stay is always evocative….This location has beautiful historical architecture and is a great place to watch the fascinating locals walking by going to or coming from the French Quarter on the balcony as we sipped our wine.

We enjoy staying at B&Bs especially this one, our room was comfortable and very clean. With their restaurant and a wine and more store downstairs. This is really is a Gem of a place! Short walk to Frenchmen Street where you can listen to some great music (lots of it for FREE) our favorite.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noel1040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

This was my first trip to New Orleans, my parents have stayed here before and they love it, I can see why. It was great. What a historic area and just a few blocks from the French Quarter. The room was great, the view is by far the most interesting. At night we sat out on the balcony and did some great people watching. The room was very clean and comfortable. I look forward to returning. Just a nice day trip from Shreveport.

Stayed: August 2010
Thank RyanProhaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
Lions Inn Bed & Breakfast
#45 of 142 in New Orleans
236 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
The Burgundy Bed and Breakfast
#44 of 142 in New Orleans
124 reviews
Garden District
Creole Gardens Guesthouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-City
1896 O'Malley House Bed and Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
1870 Banana Courtyard French Quarter / New Orleans B&B
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Auld Sweet Olive Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balcony Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcony Guest House

Address: 2483 Royal St, Faubourg/Marigny, New Orleans, LA 70117-7845
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £93 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Balcony Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balcony Guest House, in the historic Faubourg-Marigny, is your New Orleans Bed and Breakfast above Silk Road NOLA restaurant (ground floor). Come and stay in our unique New Orleans Bed and Breakfast and see why everyone who stays here loves it. Only six blocks from the French Quarter, four blocks from Frenchmen street and three blocks from the Mississippi River. Historic, alluring and relaxed (Creole Caribe), with a New Orleans style wrap-around balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Balcony Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balcony Guest House Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing