We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Overall Pleasant Stay with a Few Caveats” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Five Continents Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Five Continents Inn
Ranked #62 of 138 New Orleans B&B and Inns
NYC
Level Contributor
136 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“An Overall Pleasant Stay with a Few Caveats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

We selected this B&B based solely on the reviews seen here: TripAdvisor members were raving, especially about its fabulous owner Jess, and we figured we couldn't go wrong. So naturally we were disappointed to learn upon checking in that, well, Jess was no longer the owner; Peter was, as of a week ago.

Say what?!

We felt blindsided; the whole reason we booked a room at Five Continents was because of Jess' fabulous reputation. We didn't understand why neither he nor Peter would contact us and other guests to let us know about the change in management. My boyfriend reasoned that, "Well, they wouldn't tell you about a GM change at a restaurant or hotel, so why here?" but I think B&Bs are different. You go to them because you want a more personalized, intimate experience. It just would have been nice if someone had reached out to us beforehand and—you know, introduced themselves, told us what was going on, etc.

In any case, we wanted to offer Peter the benefit of the doubt and were pleased to see that the house itself was GORGEOUS—way prettier than the photos you see on its website. Amazingly tall ceilings, decadent chandeliers, a staircase to die for... a lovely slice of old-world Southern style. The location, however, kinda sucks: It's a few blocks from an underpass and 24-hour grocery/liquor store that draws a really sketchy crowd, especially at night. This was frustrating: We wanted to be able to walk to the French Quarter and its surrounding attractions, leaving the car parked safely at the B&B, but couldn't really do that because we felt so unsafe returning after dark. It made for a lot of time wasted trying to find parking.

But anyway, back to the B&B: Peter was very nice. He seemed a bit nervous, being new to the whole B&B thing. Our room was beautiful, but it was missing towels, basic toiletries like soap and shampoo, and had some trash strewn about it (including a dirty tissue stuffed in a washcloth under the footstool); it was as if the housekeeper had skipped it by accident. When we raised the issues to Peter, he would say "That's strange" but was quick to rectify it. And though the B&B advertises free WiFi, the signal in our room (located on the second floor at the front of the house) was VERY poor. We had to do a little work while on vacation and could hardly get anything done. The signal improved only if you worked downstairs in the living room.

Peter did a fine job cooking up Jess' old recipes at breakfast, even though he said it was his first time making some of the dishes. The only other eventful thing that happened: When we went to check out, Peter was having trouble with his credit card machine. He swiped and swiped and swiped by boyfriend's card but said it never went through. We were running late for a tour so decided to just pay in cash. Later, my boyfriend checked his bank account online and saw that he had indeed been charged. Argh. We tried calling but couldn't get through so had to drive all the way back to the B&B to tell Peter about the double charge and get a cash refund.

To summarize: Peter was very nice, and certainly gets an A for effort; with time, he should get the hang of this whole B&B thing. The bed was made for a king and the sheets were divinely soft. The claw-foot tub/shower leaked every time we used it (we wasted two towels a day mopping up the flood), but we had the most amazing front porch all to ourselves. The semi-shady location and poor WiFi connection were the biggest trouble spots, but if you can get over those and the fact that Jess is gone, Five Continents is a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gadfly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    23
    5
    2
    6
See reviews for
21
105
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

I've always been a little skeptical of B&Bs because I like my privacy and anonymity when I travel, but this was a great experience, and I'd definitely recommend it to others - especially if you are coming to New Orleans for Jazz Fest or Voodoo Fest.

We stayed in the North America Suite which is a separate building behind the house. The decor was nice, bed comfortable, and bath spacious. Jes, the owner, included lots of special touches including a mini-fridge with juice, sodas, and water. He provided great coffee for the coffee maker and a small decanter of liqueur for nightcaps. The front porch was fantastic and relaxing, and we enjoyed our morning coffee there everyday. He also made great dinner and nightlife recommendations and had contacts at some that could get us a table even during the busiest times of the night.

The neighborhood is nice during the day, and it is in walking distance from the fairgrounds, the museum, Frenchman Street in the Marigny and the Quarter. At night, you probably want to take a taxi back to the house, but we felt perfectly safe during our four day stay.

My boyfriend booked the Five Continents for my first ever JazzFest experience. I travel to New Orleans two or three times a year on average and usually stay in the French Quarter or the CBD but am familiar with the Garden District also. This was a really nice change of pace and a great way to enjoy the city and the residents in a much more authentic way.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stasia3844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, FL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

The accomodations were beautiful, a real oasis in the chaos that is New Orleans. Jess is very knowledgable and more than eager to share that with his guests. His breakfasts are legendary. He knows all the shops, bars, restaurants, and hidden treasures of New Orleans. He loves this city and it shows. If you stay in the cottage, beware the low water pressure.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank just_do_it28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

Jess is a terrific host. Our room was lovely with a good separate seating area. The house is wonderfully maintained and filled with interesting antiques and artworks. Nothing was too much trouble for Jess. He offered many suggestions for restaurants tours and sightseeing. He also helped us complete online check-in and printed of boarding passes.His breakfasts were outstanding and he gave us a wonderful insights into some of the highlights of NOLA cuisine. Thank you Jess for your wonderful hospitality and generosity.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margoarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2011

This lovely owner-operated B&B is not located in the heart of the french quarter, and that's a good thing. it's about a 15 minute walk along Esplanade Avenue down to the main attractions, and owner Jess Beatty has oodles of recommendations for food/bars/music all over town. While it's a healthy trip back on foot you can always take a cab, plus it's a great way to walk off the rich breakfast he'll cook you! i can not say enough good things about this establishment: it's not a rockin' night spot, but a haven from the heat and noise.

Room Tip: all are lovely. rooms in back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erin3870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holladay, Utah
Level Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2011

We were guests for 6 nights from New Year's Eve thru Jan. 6th in the European & Asian suites. It was our 4th stay and not our last. Jess - the owner/innkeeper - knows how to run a B & B. The rooms are all suites and gloriously appointed. High-end amenities await in the bathroom. Mornings always begin with a fruit starter and then a hot, delicious entree (different each & every day ). The home itself is in excellent condition and clean enough to eat off the floor. Jess is a fabulous host who knows how to take care of his guests. Having lived in New Orleans, his recommendations re: tours, restaurants, shopping etc. are foolproof and appreciated for the newcomer to the city. New Orleans feels like a home away from home for our family because of the "5 Continents Bed & Breakfast". As long as Jess is in charge of this incredible B & B, we will only stay with him when visiting the crescent city.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnetteUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

We always stay at the 5 Continents when we go to New Orleans, and wouldn't think of going anywhere else. The location was even convenient for the conference just outside the city - it was easy to just hop on the expressway. This time we were in the European Suite. The tall doors to the balcony were wonderful, and the shutters let us enjoy the breeze while still having privacy. We loved the sitting room, and the claw foot tub is wonderful! What a beautiful restoration. The bed was very comfortable and the room was an oasis. Jess has a way of making all of his guests feel welcome, and the breakfasts are always spectacular.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Orleans
Treme
Degas House
Degas House
#58 of 138 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Uptown / Carrollton
Audubon Park House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Maison de Macarty
Maison de Macarty
#26 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Elysian Fields Inn
Elysian Fields Inn
#5 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
R&B Bed and Breakfast
R&B Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 138 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Continents Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Continents Inn

Property: Five Continents Inn
Address: 1731 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Five Continents Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Continents Guest House is a 5500 SF 1880's Greek Revival Mansion on beautiful live oak lined Esplanade Avenue 8 blocks from the historic French Quarter. It has a separate cottage in the back, off street gated parking, a balcony and front, back and side upstairs porch. Each room is themed for a different continent. Luxury on a budget. Either individual room rentals or the entire compound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Five Continents Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Five Continents b&b
5 Continents Bed And Breakfast
Five Continents Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing