We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why does anyone EVER stay in a hotel when you could stay here??”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Five Continents Inn
Ranked #68 of 141 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My husband and I were so very pleased with our stay at the Five Continents! Peter was a wonderful host, the breakfast was consistently delicious, and the bed in our "European Suite" was the most comfortable I've slept on in years... It's central location provided us quick and easy access to both City Park and Frenchman Street (the places we spent most of our time). We won't stay anywhere else when we are fortunate enough to be able to get away to "The Big Easy" once again...

Room Tip: The European Suite was HUGE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bethany34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter N, Owner at Five Continents Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Thanks for writing. I'm so glad you all enjoyed your stay here in New Orleans and at the Five Continents. We are indeed convenient to many interesting attactions here in the city. Staying in a B&B is certainly a richer experience of the local culture than staying at an impersonal hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

Charming B&B at a great price. A couple of miles from the Quarter, but a quick drive or cab to the east end. We actually had 2 bedrooms with adjoining bath. Peter was a helpful host and breakfasts offered good local choices and delicious taste. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter N, Owner at Five Continents Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Thanks for writing. We are indeed close to many attractions, 7 blocks from the edge of the French Quarter, less than a mile to either the Frenchman Street Jazz scene or the Fairgrounds for Jazz Fest. Many of our guests walk to these places and then walk or take a cab back in the evening. We hope to see you again soon at the Five Continents.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the start of our road trip of the Deep South and it truly was a wonderful start to our holiday. We arrived very late on the first evening but Peter stayed up to greet us. Our room was the Asian suite which was beautifully decorated and very spacious. Breakfast was absolutely incredible - I highly recommend the omelette with alligator sausage, shrimp and crawfish it was very tasty and a great start to the day!
The Five Continents is located in a really convenient location - only 10-15mins walk to the French Quarter. Overall the B&B was perfect, and we will definitely stay here again when we go back to New Orleans.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter N, Owner at Five Continents Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

It was great having you here at the Five Continents, and thank you for your kind remarks. Breakfast is always a great time here and it is fun to cook interesting local items which people don't get in other places. It is also great fun to hear about everyone's adventures from the previous day, or the plans fo the upcoming day. Hope to see you again in New Orleans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I only wish I had more time to stay in New Orleans at the Five Continents Bed and Breakfast on Esplanade. A friend had recommended it, and thought it would be "normal",... but it was so much more than I expected. The public rooms downstairs, the parlors were decorated so that it felt as if I had truely stepped back in time. My suite, (not room... but suit) was the Asia Suite, decorated in an Asian motif. I had two rooms and a full bath, a balcony, and ample parking opportunities on the wide boulevard in front of the house. The host, from Austria, is a great chef, producing a breakfast menu of my choosing that ranged from Russian Eggs, to French toast New Orleans style and more. I chose the New Orleans crawfish tail omelette. It was delicious. The dining room where breakfast is served is elegant and spacious. One big table means that you might have the chance other world travelers, instead of being seperated off in little tables like so many B&Bs. I found the whole experience wonderful, and will definitely stay there again next time I am in New Orleans.

Room Tip: It is not in the densely loud French Quarter, but on a lovely boulevard 5 minutes from all the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FatherKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter N, Owner at Five Continents Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thanks for staying with us and taking time to write these kind words. The Five Continents is indeed and exceptional B&B with its spacious suits, home-cooked breakfasts, and ample parking both in the courtyard and on the newly rebuilt Esplanade Avenue. Of course many people stay here without a car, and they can easily walk or take public transport to the many wonderful destination in the area and in our wonderful city. Hope to see you soon again at the Five Continents.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This is an excellent place to stay if visiting New Orleans. Located in a leafy, safe area within walking distance to the Treme and the French Quarter. The host was friendly and affable, and always seemed to pop up when you needed him, but never more. The rooms were clean, large and unique. The breakfasts were...generous...but hard to resist!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter N, Owner at Five Continents Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thanks for writing. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Five Continents! New Orleans is indeed one of the few truly walkable cities in the United States, and Esplanade Avenue is a great place to walk. Many of our guests love the walk to and from the French Quarter. Glad you enjoyed our breakfasts. Hope to see you again here in New Orleans and here at the Five Continents.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights at the Five Continents Bed and Breakfast, and we are so glad we did! This gorgeous B&B is tucked away in a residential area *technically* within walking distance to the heart of the French Quarter, but I wouldn't, just because it's so hot right now (June). A taxi was less than $10 (including tip), and there is a bus stop right across the street.

About the B&B: we had the Eurasian suite, and it was by far more beautiful in person than any of the pictures you will see of it. They've thought of *everything,* right down (up?) to the beautiful ceilings. The fabrics of the bedspreads and throw pillows are incredibly beautiful, as are the window treatments. The sheets and pillow cases (for the down pillows!) are luxe, and very comfortable, and the bath towels are substantial, thick, heavy and smell gorgeous - nice and soft, and again, very luxurious. And most importantly, the place was SPOTLESS! Very clean - not even dust. Not even under the bed! Seriously, the upkeep shows that the proprietors really care about the property, and about their guests. Clearly, they take running a B&B seriously, and have taken great care to make sure that guests have a top-notch experience.

Excellent and effective window air conditioners kept us nice and cool (there are also ceiling fans!), and we had a small fridge in one of the rooms, so we were able to keep soda and bottled water in there -- very, very nice.

If you like beauty, comfort and a respite from the "maddening crowd," this is the only place to stay. There are incredible coffee table books in not one but TWO sitting parlors, each decorated in different styles, but both extremely beautiful and interesting. The wall papers, paint colors and art work are beyond description - a feast for the eyes. And while you're feasting your eyes, you're filling your belly, too; fresh, cooked-to-order breakfast is served from 8-10 am in the beautiful dining room, where we appreciated the embroidered linen napkins and sumptuous jazz music playing ever so lightly from a small mantle-top stereo. There's a great selection of choices, and everything we were served was really delicious.

Peter and Walter, the hosts, are wonderfully welcoming and great to talk to (I'm chatty...). We met Peter first, upon our "check in," and he couldn't have been more helpful with directions, information about public transportation, great area dining establishments - even the location of the local grocery store! We rented a car (believe me - it's the ONLY way to go!), and Five Continents even offers FREE parking (an astonishing rarity in New Orleans - seriously!) behind its gates. Fabulous!

The car rental choice is the best way to go, if you're doing to arrive late afternoon-evening, and not feel like going into the city for dinner. That is, unless you want to pay through the nose for a taxi! We were thrilled to have the freedom the rental car afforded to explore the beautiful neighborhood surrounding the Five Continents, and we enjoyed the variety of people walking and riding bikes in the area, plus its close proximity to a gorgeous park, and the New Orleans Art Museum (at the end of the street).

I will end now, but truly, there's so much more I could say about our experience - least of all, we will definitely return, and will highly recommend Five Continents Bed and Breakfast to our friends and family. It's the best of both worlds: close to the partying craziness, but far enough away that you can sleep peacefully and quietly without the noise of the city. Superb!

Room Tip: The Eurasian Suite is TWO rooms, one bathroom. An unspeakably fabulous value; both rooms are stunni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter N, Owner at Five Continents Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thanks so much for your kind words. It was indeed a pleasure to have you all staying with us. New Orleans is truly a remarkable city and thus there are many things to talk about. Glad you liked the house and its appointments. We're always sprucing up and adding little things. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, it was a very nice house to stay, clean, great vibe, comfortable and parking space was included. The House is close to the French Quarter to do things justs 15 mins walk and felt save. The kind host Peter made us an amazing breakfast in the morning en the next day rebecca took care of our breakfast and she was also a very kind and engauging. If New Orleans is on the menu again we will be back to stay here! Cheers, Nico and Marie

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank NRoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter N, Owner at Five Continents Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thanks for your kind remarks. It was great to have you here, and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and the breakfasts. I hope the rest of your trip was pleasant. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 141 in New Orleans
775 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#10 of 166 in New Orleans
7,820 reviews
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#30 of 166 in New Orleans
4,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#7 of 166 in New Orleans
6,533 reviews
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#73 of 166 in New Orleans
3,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Continents Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Continents Inn

Address: 1731 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £90 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Five Continents Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Continents Guest House is a 5500 SF 1880's Greek Revival Mansion on beautiful live oak lined Esplanade Avenue 8 blocks from the historic French Quarter. It has a separate cottage in the back, off street gated parking, a balcony and front, back and side upstairs porch. Each room is themed for a different continent. Luxury on a budget. Either individual room rentals or the entire compound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Five Continents Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Continents Bed And Breakfast
Five Continents b&b
Five Continents Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing